Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Under 16s

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Treaty Gooner View Post
    Do you know where the players come from BWA? 90% of the u19s are from the Emerging Talent, they haven't been developed by LFC but that's ok, they're ambitous enough to play at a high level. The LFC coaches and Emerging Talent coaches are the same people. The problem with the 16s and later the 17s is that they won't be, they'll just be LDSL or LDMC teams, the LOI u17 players will come from the Emerging Talent again. These current 16s aren't Emerging Talent players, they have being poached, spoofed that they'll play LOI and won't be developed by the novice coaches Limerick have in there. Dutchie makes a good point, for a club with poor performances and dwindling attendances they're doing themselves no favours.
    There is noting to say that these players if good enough wont go on to LOI. All this talk that they have been spoofed about this and that id believe it when i see it for myself.

Daydreamer has given example sof other clubs in Limerick that have taken players. It happens in every league and ive never seen people get so upset about it.

420 Posts
    It was a sweeping statement alright but this sham of 'producing our own players for the 17s and 19s' is ridiculous. They'll come from the Emerging Talent and nowhere else.
    There is nothing to say this will be the case. There is 100% no chance they will be developed by Limerick if they dont even have 15s and 16s teams at least now there is a chance for them to be developed and brought through.

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrard1 View Post
    How would Limerick FC feel if other League of Ireland Clubs came in and poached the best of the Limerick FC players ?
    It happens. The year Limerick reached the First Division playoffs most of our first team was picked off by other clubs (two to Cork, two to Galway, one each to Sligo and Waterford). Limerick got on with things, it's not pretty but it's life. People are entitled to move onto what they feel are better situations.

Nobody wants to see LFC do badly.
    LOTS and LOTS of people (not you) want LFC to crash and burn, let's not delude ourselves here.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post

LOTS and LOTS of people (not you) want LFC to crash and burn, let's not delude ourselves here.
    Quote Originally Posted by hightackle View Post
    Maybe because limerick think they are the top dogs I for one hope they go bust for the how many time.they don't even have a place to call there own always going around with cap in hand.p.s. jp won't bail them out forever.
    Case in point.

This hysteria over trying to sign the best players of the age group - trying to, not forcing - is bizarre to me. The idea that youngsters should be forced to stay at the very first club they play for is moronic. This isn't GAA lads.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

It was a sweeping statement alright but this sham of 'producing our own players for the 17s and 19s' is ridiculous. They'll come from the Emerging Talent and nowhere else.
    Over the last numbe of years the club has gotten players from the emerging talent in Ennis but this year a lot of under 19's are only 16 and 17 and have come from clubs in Limerick. Declan Farmer was only looking at the emerging talent at one stage but that has changed.

In limerick you are dammed if you do and dammed if you don't.

As mentioned no one batted an eyelid when the limerick fc schoolboy teams were struggling but now they are doing well its considered a disgrace.

Who are any of us to tell kids whether they are or aren't good enough to progress to LOI. If the youngfella wants to test himself and try make strides that's up to himself.

Lads have been heading to the UK for years only to be sent packing a few years later and a lot give up football. I haven't seen anyone giving out about that. Why not try keep them here for longer and let them progress up the ranks?
    Last edited by Jofspring; 12/09/2013 at 4:52 PM.

[QUOTE=Treaty Gooner;1709350]Do you know where the players come from BWA? 90% of the u19s are from the Emerging Talent, they haven't been developed by LFC but that's ok, they're ambitous enough to play at a high level. The LFC coaches and Emerging Talent coaches are the same people.

I dont think that you are correct there treaty.My experience of the emerging talent
    programme is that the coaches are from the FAI not LFC.I do agree with you and
    dutchie that the club is doing untold damage to its fanbase,which is the main point being
    made here but obviously some people have their head buried in the sand and will keep coming
    onto this thread repeating the same points over and over again.I think we all ultimately want the best for Limerick fc
    but some people need to see the broader picture which is we should be forging links and allies
    within the county and city not alienating them.This to me is the crux of the matter...

420 Posts
    [QUOTE=jaorta;1709420]
    Do you know where the players come from BWA? 90% of the u19s are from the Emerging Talent, they haven't been developed by LFC but that's ok, they're ambitous enough to play at a high level. The LFC coaches and Emerging Talent coaches are the same people.

I dont think that you are correct there treaty.My experience of the emerging talent
    programme is that the coaches are from the FAI not LFC.I do agree with you and
    dutchie that the club is doing untold damage to its fanbase,which is the main point being
    made here but obviously some people have their head buried in the sand and will keep coming
    onto this thread repeating the same points over and over again.I think we all ultimately want the best for Limerick fc
    but some people need to see the broader picture which is we should be forging links and allies
    within the county and city not alienating them.This to me is the crux of the matter...

So Limerick should not aim to have strong teams in case people dont go to games over it? If people are stupid enough to not go to games because Limerick have signed a player from a club they are involved with then that is their own problem. It will make no difference to Limerick really in the long run if they are doing well then the bandwagon will get going and they will have good crowds if they are not they will have the usual few hundred that have been around for years.

You can't please everyone at the end of the day and the day the club try to please everyone is the day it will fold again.

Scrap the underage and don't try bring in the best players then the current fans stop coming.

Bring in the best young players and then the angry schoolboy teams stop coming.

Sign lads from outside of Limerick then people complain we have a team of Dubs or LOI journeymen.

A few years back we had all junior lads pretty much and people complained we were useless and going nowhere.

Sign lads from the UK and people claim the club are spending thousands and thousands and their is no connection between the senior team and the city.

For every thing Limerick FC do there is always someone upset, aggrieved, ****ed off etc…

It's basically a lose lose at the moment with a lot of people hoping the club fail so they can say "I told you so".
    Last edited by Jofspring; 12/09/2013 at 5:08 PM.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    If Limerick don't make the effort to promote their youth teams, then the senior side won't be as good in the long run, which means the results won't be good in the long run, so the attendances will suffer.

Or maybe we can just spend loads of cash on the senior side to get success. No problems with that approach, no sir.

That we should try to "make friends" by deliberately aiming to have mediocre youth sides is a terrible approach. I don't want supporters to show up if it is concurrent with crippling our youth sides. If young lads want to play with Limerick, its their and their parents call. If you're unhappy, bitch to them.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

420 Posts
    Also how many will actually stop coming because we have signed a few schoolboys, not many id imagine.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Also how many will actually stop coming because we have signed a few schoolboys, not many id imagine.
    I'd say the same amount as there are people looking for an excuse not to go, if they're only there because Limerick U16's didn't upset them yet then good luck to them, I'm sick of people and their feeble excuses to give out about Limerick Fc, I was under the impression the LFC had built bridges with a lot of junior clubs but now we're expected to tell young fellas 'ah we don't want you cause you're too good and we might upset some clubs and some Limerick FC ''fans'' might stop supporting us! ! !
    As jofspring said you can't please everyone. Typical Irish self serving attitudes is what's wrong here, fair play to Limerick FC for trying to do things right from the bottom up, if someone has a problem with that TOUGH we'll move on anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by hightackle View Post
    Maybe because limerick think they are the top dogs I for one hope they go bust for the how many time.they don't even have a place to call there own always going around with cap in hand.p.s. jp won't bail them out forever.
    Ya we'll stay the same just to please the likes of you, I don't know who you support but Limerick FC will try progress so we won't have to rely on other clubs players isn't that what you want or or not? It's called forward planning, it might work or it might not but just because some people get jealous or whatever that's Life, Some people really need to be dragged into the 21st century.

Quote Originally Posted by blueblood View Post
    Ya we'll stay the same just to please the likes of you, I don't know who you support but Limerick FC will try progress so we won't have to rely on other clubs players isn't that what you want or or not? It's called forward planning, it might work or it might not but just because some people get jealous or whatever that's Life, Some people really need to be dragged into the 21st century.
    Yeah, lets go out and try and beat our record and destroy another group of kids 22-0
    that will really make everyone stand up and take note of us.If you call this progress
    may God help us all...

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jaorta View Post
    Yeah, lets go out and try and beat our record and destroy another group of kids 22-0
    that will really make everyone stand up and take note of us.If you call this progress
    may God help us all...
    Well we are top dogs after all

Its 16 year olds we are taking about btw not 9 or 10 .

may God help us all...
    Who has said beating anyone 22-0 is progress?

People have just said you can't tell lads not to try their hardest or stop entering schoolboy teams to keep a few happy.

Its amazing how the negative threads always get the most replies.

Barely a chat on this about a great performance the other night.

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Well we are top dogs after all

Its 16 year olds we are taking about btw not 9 or 10 .

So you are saying they are over_age as well,my God what next??

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Who has said beating anyone 22-0 is progress?

People have just said you can't tell lads not to try their hardest or stop entering schoolboy teams to keep a few happy.

Its amazing how the negative threads always get the most replies.

Barely a chat on this about a great performance the other night.

And coming in top with the most replies???yourself with nine.Its amazing all right

To be fair to Jof it's good that somebody has the patience to make counterpoints to the hand-wringing, hysterical drivel that is popping up sporadically in this thread.

It is unfortunate of course that such gulfs in class are evident in the games we're talking about. But none of teams will be playing Limerick every week. If an U16 at any club quits the game because of ONE heavy defeat they're not growing into much of a person anyway. I worry for what will happen to them when real difficulties arise in their life going forward.

It could be an awkward season for everybody in the division (Limerick included) but hopefully by next year it will resolve itself.

I also have loads of replies in many other threads about games and other things. My point is the threads where people can try get a dig at the club are usual the ones that become the most active.

Nice one!!!!
    Last edited by dutchie; 13/09/2013 at 9:42 AM.
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

25. Thanks From:

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast