Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Premier Division- The Run In

398 Posts
    Disappointing performance from both sides, Dundalk just came up short. Very disappointed with the behaviour of Killian Brennan, I know he has a bad rep, but he went out to damage players in a way that makes his ability non-existent. He should have been red carded for a terrible tackle and his acting when he got clipped right after was revolting. Sadly his lack of character is what has prevented him from ever reaching his potential.

Well done to Pats for taking both goals well, happy for Bucko, but with the continuing growth of support in the town (if the scum who threw objects on the pitch can be educated or gotten rid of) Dundalk are going to be Euro finishers for a few years to come.

555 Posts
    Dundalk can take a lot from last night's game (though no points unfortunately).

They tried to played football but didn't have the possess the cynical gamesmanship of some of the Pats players. Pats seemed to be more intent on stopping football being played, by whatever means. It's not a new approach, Drogheda play against us that way all the time. In the end, this proved a successful approach.

However, Dundalk fans can look at each and every one of their players with pride. Thankfully, we do not have the likes of Brennan and Flood disgracing our shirt. Apart from the result, the other disappointment from last night were the hundreds of empty seats. Pats showed their small club mentality in refusing away fans tickets and allowing seats to remain empty. Some way to promote the league.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Jaysus you post some ****e
    Why, thank you Hibs, I would be seriously worried if you or the likes of Dodge agreed with me.

But you never know, perhaps I was way off the mark in saying,
    a. that it was unquestionably a well deserved win for Pats?
    or
    b. that Pats had 2 very well taken goals?
    or
    c. that it was a hectic game?
    or
    d. that Flood deserved admonition?

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

They tried to played football but didn't have the possess the cynical gamesmanship of some of the Pats players. Pats seemed to be more intent on stopping football being played, by whatever means. It's not a new approach, Drogheda play against us that way all the time. In the end, this proved a successful approach.

However, Dundalk fans can look at each and every one of their players with pride. Thankfully, we do not have the likes of Brennan and Flood disgracing our shirt. Apart from the result, the other disappointment from last night were the hundreds of empty seats. Pats showed their small club mentality in refusing away fans tickets and allowing seats to remain empty. Some way to promote the league.
    My favourite post of the year. Brilliantly bitter. Fair play

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Ha Dodge me and you on the exact same lines here.

POTY by a mile, bitterness at it's best.
    Here on a technicality.

958 Posts
    Now Now Dodge! WH is being quite tempered in his post compared to post match reaction after your loss in Oriel - is he being bitter? Absoluteley, but not quite the frenzied frothing at the mouth displayed by your good self previously! Stones in glass houses...

420 Posts

Pats played some lovely football far more then Dundalk did tbh, and if you are talking about the tackling from the Pats lads most of it was fair just tough and Dundalk had just as many poor tackles as Pats it seemed on the night that Connolly was far more reluctant to book Dundalk players then he was Pats until the red.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Now Now Dodge! WH is being quite tempered in his post compared to post match reaction after your loss in Oriel - is he being bitter? Absoluteley, but not quite the frenzied frothing at the mouth displayed by your good self previously! Stones in glass houses...
    I didn't comment at all about the game in Dundalk. And yes, he is extremely bitter. Hilariously so.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    He couldn't not give the guy a red though. That was just moronic behavior with the referee literally right next to him.

Thought Pats played far the better football last night, looked far more composed on the ball. Build-up for both goals was brilliant, though I think anyone could have headed in that first one given the position and lack of defenders! So many times Dundalk broke on the counter, went up the right, and stalled. They made a few chances, but just wasted them all in a really surprising manner. Once the second went in, Dundalk were completely sunk and looked it.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

958 Posts
    I didn't comment at all about the game in Dundalk. And yes, he is extremely bitter. Hilariously so.
    Never said you did!

No-one dislikes Pats more than me, but that's a bit over the top...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

No doubt Pats deserved the win last night,we weren't at the races at all. I though that while the sending off was harsh O'Donnell was stupid to get involved when he wasn't even part of the initial challenge. He has a habit of picking up stupid cards. It had no bearing on the result anyway because the game was over by then.
    While I felt the ref was poor the defeat wasn't due to that. I watched back a bit of the game this morning and Pats should have had 2 bookings in the first two minutes for late challenges on Towell and that would have set a different tone for the game.
    It's still not over now but realistically we will have to win our last 5 games and because of the goal difference Pats will have to drop points in 2 games so it will be tough for us from here.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Sadly his lack of character is what has prevented him from ever reaching his potential.
    Hardly. Most of the top players in the world are arrogant, petulant morons. Brennan never reached his potential because he's too slow to play wide and too one-footed to play in the middle (at a high professional level).
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Hardly. Most of the top players in the world are arrogant, petulant morons. Brennan never reached his potential because he's too slow to play wide and too one-footed to play in the middle (at a high professional level).
    That's exactly it. Terrific LOI player but never had the pace to play at a higher level.

Jesus, Dundalk clearly outnumbering Pat's. Main stand and new stand both about 60% full. :/
    Your off your head.

1,928 Posts
    What was the attendance at Richmond last night?

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    What was the attendance at Richmond last night?
    I think 3,331?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

398 Posts

While I agree many players who reach the top can be noobs, Killian was not slow when he was younger, he was fast enough to match his peers, but something in his character is flawed when he steps on the pitch. Lack of pace and having one foot is on an obstacle in football, poor mentality is.

144 Posts
    That's exactly it. Terrific LOI player but never had the pace to play at a higher level.
    or balance, especially in the penalty area.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

23. Thanks From:

246 Posts

Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast