Thread: the magic of the cup ~ drogs at home

860 Posts
    One thing that keeps niggling at me about last night is the fact we let Drogs back into the game through a Feckin set piece! When are we going to learn! What are we at in training do we not work on the mistakes we make in matches every week? This all goes back to Coffey leaving the set up (he's been at the last 2 games btw)

what I saw in the second half that Mulhall lad was a revelation for us .Ebbe had a great game for us as well. what was cousins doin puttin on Chris Deans-he had a stinker! Derek O'Brien also had a good game also.. our defendin was cat in second half. how good were we in first half lads?

49 Posts
    Derek O Brien was awful apart from his lucky goal, his end product is crap, I believe he is the worst player De Town have, he should be dropped, he will quite happily let the ball go out for a throw instead of chasing it, his free kicks and corners very rarely go to 1 of Longfords players, he dives a lot and I think he is very lazy,
    I don't like giving out about players, but if he plays we will win nothing, total liability in my opinion, for whatever that's worth

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Darklordsbane View Post
    Derek O Brien was awful apart from his lucky goal, his end product is crap, I believe he is the worst player De Town have, he should be dropped, he will quite happily let the ball go out for a throw instead of chasing it, his free kicks and corners very rarely go to 1 of Longfords players, he dives a lot and I think he is very lazy,
    I don't like giving out about players, but if he plays we will win nothing, total liability in my opinion, for whatever that's worth
    Totally agree I hope he's dropped next week he's awful and his attitude is worse.

Martinho, deans went on as hope picked up an injury, I think he was our only defender on the bench.

We were excellent first half should have been further ahead.

205 Posts
    One of you say O'Brien was rubbish, the other say he played well. I'm afraid outspoken I'm going to have to disregard your posts these days, as your negativity is clouding your judgement and opinion.
    Sporting F*ck All!

49 Posts
    If Outspoken is being negative it's because I don't know the person but I'm sure he/she is like most of us and is their biggest fan and worst critic,
    Doesn't matter who agrees or disagrees about Derek O Brien
    my grandad told me years ago that if you want to know what a player is like watch the player not the ball, players get up to all sorts to appear to have a good game,
    take a corner, throw, free kick or appear that you want to take it with your hand on the ball then walk away and let someone else do it,
    run around clapping and shouting for the first few minutes then again just before half time, and repeat for the 2nd half,
    come in off the wing about 5 yards, the ball goes just over your head, blame the passer (but if you had stayed where you were you would have got the ball),
    Don't run for the ball wait to see where it's going then move, ball goes out for a throw/goal kick shake your head and hand gestures ( if you had have run when the ball way kicked you would be on side and would have got the ball)
    people think you have been on the ball all day and had a great game,
    is it just me or does this sound like anybody we know

49 Posts
    Jasus lads you must have very little to do I am not Outspoken I just happen to agree with him/her on occasion, I don't like bashing anyone I have given Bennion plenty of stick on here but credit where it's due, I have to say he wasn't bad the other night, but I thought against Salthill he was far bette,r when he throws the ball out quickly the town play football and score goals, look at the results.
    Also I think the performances and general play since the Mervue game have been getting better, credit to Cousins and the backroom staff it's seems he might just get De Town back into it
    I am sure myself and Outspoken will disagree on some issues over the next few games as I'm sure I will agree with others on here from time to time as well, I travel from Mayo to Dublin regularly this season that is why I picked De Town to support this year, I almost picked Athlone but I'm still glad I didn't, a couple of years ago I supported Cork as I was mostly down that way, the way work is it could be someone else next season but I hope not as I believe De Town will reach the promised land

521 Posts
    Accusatory posts deleted. We have a support forum, post reporting facility, and mods and admins for a reason. Any more accusations will result in suspensions.

46 Posts
    I suppose you could move this thread to the Finn Harps forum now.
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

44 Posts
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒