Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Cup Final, who do ya want to win ?

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Which is exactly why I wish our three european spaces that effect co-efficent would goto any three from Shels, Bohs, Cork and Drogs. Unfortunately, one of these two finalists will be in Europe next year and I can't see either of them getting us any points. It may take away from the spectacle of the cup final, but I'd really rather see the cup winners get the inter toto spot and have the UEFA spots goto 2nd and 3rd in the league. That way the winner can play in Europe but wont effect our co-efficent, as our FAI cup winners are generally the least able of our four european qualifyers to go on and do something in Europe.
    I fear you're digging a hole here. What happened if you won the Cup and got the InterToto? Ollie would be off to the High Court!! No you cannot predict the future and if Longford win it I think they would look to improve on this years embarrassment. I have faith in Alan Reynolds doing well as he has played in a winning European side.

Short memories down tolka way. Only a few years ago you got humbled by Akranes home and away.You did great this year but still only won 1 out of 8 games and you didnt progress 4 rounds. If you want to get down to brass tacks you're still way behind us in European results.

Nobody has the right to dictate who should or shouldnt compete in Europe. Unless its dublin ****y!

I don't want to peanlise anyone, I just want to see us getting the best co-efficent points possible, and it seems a shame that runs like Corks, Rovers and Pats have been wasted when they could be playing in the UEFA cup, our co-efficent would nearly be doubled if they were and got similar results.
    But that just assumes that the clubs could and would repeat that in the UEFA Cup. That isn't necessarily the case, and doesn't take into account the stature of the toto in most european leagues. And besides Pats and Rovers aren't/weren't full time anyway, so by your reckoning they wouldn't be capable of getting results in the UEFA.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    But that just assumes that the clubs could and would repeat that in the UEFA Cup. That isn't necessarily the case, and doesn't take into account the stature of the toto in most european leagues. And besides Pats and Rovers aren't/weren't full time anyway, so by your reckoning they wouldn't be capable of getting results in the UEFA.
    On your first point, yes that's very true. But the teams in the competition took it seriously, they had to apply to get into the competition, why would they do that if they didn't want to take it seriously? Believe me, Malmo and the Dutch crowd wanted to beat Cork they just couldn't on the day. You're right that there's no gaurentee they'd repeat the erformances in the UEFA cup of course, but even doing half as well would have helped our co-efficent a hell of a lot.

And I never once said you had to be full time to get results in Europe.

True, but the fact is any three from Cork, Bohs, Shels or Drogheda would do alot better in europe
    Getting a bit off topic from who you WANT to win the final, but i wouldnt say that these four teams will be the top four yet, both Bohs and Cork have to come to the RSC before the cup final and with a full blues squad all playing for a place in the final it wont be easy, they could be pipped !!!
    of course, everything looks bad if you remember it.- Homer Simpson
    www.sliceco.com

Quote Originally Posted by blutil
    Getting a bit off topic from who you WANT to win the final
    Yeah, and for me I think I'll go with Waterford, purley because they haven't won it in so long, but I'm not too bothered either way once it's a good game.

lads, both waterford and longford are in the final because they were unbeaten (to state the obvious)! Yer teams had the opportunity to put them out, some of the teams had the opportunity Twice and with extra time and didnt do it!
    Either way one of these teams are going to europe!!
    and For Obvious reasons i hope its Longford!!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Not sure who i want to win ( I was actually hoping Drogheda would get through). The one thing i want is a good game. Ill go for Waterford as Longford disgraced the whole country in Europe and we cant have that again.

1,104 Posts
    I've argued on these boards before that our European defeat although not brilliant was not the disgrace some people make it out, laugh all you like about Liechtenstein but remember this international team of which nine squad members play for FC Vaduz lost 2-0 to England recently and 3-0 to Holland, would Rovers do that or Shels or Drogs/Bohs..no..we got caught at a particularly low ebb in our season and were beaten by a team more experienced than ours..fair enough we didn't do any favours for the league but why let the facts get in the way of a good story..

Two seasons ago when they (Vaduz) first started putting real money in, Livingston beat them on away goals with a Vaduz goal disallowed with the last kick of the game in Scotland..They have a budget of €2.4m a year, their secretary told us that, that's twice Bohs or Cork or Drogs budget, internationals all over why should we think they're a soft touch..Our performances were disappointing yes, a disgrace I don't believe so..you didnt see Vaduz so don't assume you know how good they are..Why should we be denied a European spot because some of the fans from other clubs decide "Ye were a disgrace"..No chance we might learn with a bit of experience then, no?..Anyway rant over, just hope we show ye what we can do in Europe next year.

Longford definetely, wouldnt like to see alan reynolds winning he doesnt deserve it
    Come On You Saints!!!

Longford as the brilliant Daragh Sheridan deserves it after all that he has given the club!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    Longford as the brilliant Daragh Sheridan deserves it after all that he has given the club!!!!
    We Wish

Longford, of course ...... sure doesn't Alan Kirby play for them?
    Allez les Bleus

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    Ah Darragh's a good lad, he's picked up a serious injury too so don't be havin a pop at him.

Whats the f*ckin story we ye Cork and Shels lads? A good run each in Europe and all of a sudden yis are best placed to judge who is and isnt up to standard to play in Europe!!!. Talk about swollen heads!!!. All youse are doing is setting yerselves up for big falls - I'm tellin ye now that neither of you will repeat this years performances. I hope that whoever wins the cup this year has a great run in Europe and that both Cork(if they get there) and Shels get thoroughly tanked in Europe!!!

Also with regards, this whole thing of Longford being an "embarassment" last season - something said by a Rovers fan (how a supporter of a team that couldnt even get into Europe last season - and had they, would probably have been a damn side more embarassing) , I agree with some of the Longford comments. They were, if I'm not mistaken, second bottom in the league going into their European matches and just weren't at the races. Vaduz were lucky and got Longford at the right time.

Which ever team gets there, Longford or Waterford, they deserve it.

LTFC and Portugal were disgraced by teams from Lietchenstein, so we can safely assume that neither will ever perform well and win a match again in the competition.

Portugal are in a league competition. Longford Town were in a knock out competition. Different formats.

alright so, but how many knock out competitions are longford left in and how many are cork left in ???
    www.sliceco.com

Longford are left in one competition. City are left in no competitions.

Do us Cork people have to tell you lot everything?

fan tan, glad we got that cleared up )
    www.sliceco.com

hard to call, after dessie bakers actions at united park though would have to go for waterford but wouldn'tbe unhappy to see digger win a medal

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast