Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Cup Final, who do ya want to win ?

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    The part time team made up of postmen, tradesmen etc was ours, not theirs.
    Which is exactly why I wish our three european spaces that effect co-efficent would goto any three from Shels, Bohs, Cork and Drogs. Unfortunately, one of these two finalists will be in Europe next year and I can't see either of them getting us any points. It may take away from the spectacle of the cup final, but I'd really rather see the cup winners get the inter toto spot and have the UEFA spots goto 2nd and 3rd in the league. That way the winner can play in Europe but wont effect our co-efficent, as our FAI cup winners are generally the least able of our four european qualifyers to go on and do something in Europe.

Waterford

I'm fairly neutral on the issue, but leaning towards Waterford. Nothing against Longford, I'm glad they won the cup and got into Europe, but I'd like to see Wateford have their chance too.

Also, with the winner also getting a place in the Setanta Cup, it means that one or two teams from the north will have to venture into the deep south and not just a quick trip or two up and down the M1 to Dublin.

The Cup is between W' & L' ford, the champions are Shelbourne, that leaves the runners up spot as a race between Drogs, Bohs and Cork.

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    What our club has achieved both on & off the field is incredible and i thought that RTE would have been much better off showing a doc. on that or some other EL club to raise the profile instead of that muppet Roddy Collins & the Rod Squad.If you accuse us of disgracing the EL then of course we're gonna jump down your throat but Macy was correct with the facts.I just think it's a bit rich for a Rovers fan to be making remarks about another team considering the crap you are in.
    Agree about documentary but unfortunately most of the idiots who think they know about the game here, i.e. barstoolers, would watch Carlisle before Longford. Sad I know but RTE know well what brings in the ratings.

I was also correct with the facts. Even with all the crap we're in we still progressed in Europe last season

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Which is exactly why I wish our three european spaces that effect co-efficent would goto any three from Shels, Bohs, Cork and Drogs. Unfortunately, one of these two finalists will be in Europe next year and I can't see either of them getting us any points. It may take away from the spectacle of the cup final, but I'd really rather see the cup winners get the inter toto spot and have the UEFA spots goto 2nd and 3rd in the league. That way the winner can play in Europe but wont effect our co-efficent, as our FAI cup winners are generally the least able of our four european qualifyers to go on and do something in Europe.
    eh why ?? second in the league says nothing, we have beatin that team 2 in recent weeks and bohs haven't got too many points off us either this season. we are there on merit, losing 1 in the last 22 cup gmaes . if you don't like it tough. we were there this season because we won the right to be just as you did and if we makeit next season we have a right to play the same way, like it or not.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by blutil
    Rite lads havent been on here for a while, just wondering who do the neutrals WANT to win the cup final, if anyone, i know most people just wanna see a good game, although it seems the cork fans seem to have a soft spot for the blues
    I'll go for Longford only cause i know Pip Keogh very well

So having gone through beating the full time teams the cup winners should make way for a full time team? In fairness, it wasn't just the part time team that went out first round, and Shels have hardly set the world alight in previous seasons. Short fookin memory if you ask me.

Having no UEFA spot would make the FAI Cup the league cup mark two and seriously undermine the competition.

That's before you take into account the fact that the UEFA spot for the Cup is the old Cup Winners Cup place (a more important competition than the UEFA was pre the merger).

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    eh why ?? second in the league says nothing, we have beatin that team 2 in recent weeks and bohs haven't got too many points off us either this season. we are there on merit, losing 1 in the last 22 cup gmaes . if you don't like it tough. we were there this season because we won the right to be just as you did and if we makeit next season we have a right to play the same way, like it or not.
    True, but the fact is any three from Cork, Bohs, Shels or Drogheda would do alot better in europe than Longford. Lets face it, you got one of the best draws you could possibley have gotten in Vaduz and you couldn't get by them so what are you hopeing to do this year? I know you're there on merit, but it would really help the co-efficent of the league if the two uefa cup spots went to second and third and the inter toto went to the cup winners. If that happend this year, Longfords poor results wouldn't have counted for anything and Corks run would have got it alot more co-efficent points, the year before it was the same story just put Derry in for Longford and Shamrock Rovers in for Cork. Anyway, you'd still be in Europe if you won, just a competition with a different name.

True, but the fact is any three from Cork, Bohs, Shels or Drogheda would do alot better in europe than Longford.
    True. Full time Bohs did much better than us this year. They hammered the opposition away from home nil all, before cleaning up the coefficient points at home....

So having gone through beating the full time teams the cup winners should make way for a full time team? In fairness, it wasn't just the part time team that went out first round, and Shels have hardly set the world alight in previous seasons. Short fookin memory if you ask me.

Having no UEFA spot would make the FAI Cup the league cup mark two and seriously undermine the competition.

That's before you take into account the fact that the UEFA spot for the Cup is the old Cup Winners Cup place (a more important competition than the UEFA was pre the merger).
    No it wouldn't be the League cup mark two because the winners would get the inter toto cup spot. That means you'd still be one of four sides in Europe and for teams like yourself, it'd still be the only way to get into Europe for the time being. The only difference is your in a competition where you can't effect our co-efficent and being realistic, that's where the side that will more than likely be the weakest of the four should be for the good of the league.

And Shels have done far better, and will do far better, in Europe than Longford and there's no disputing that. Before this season we were the first side to win an away match in something like ten years and drew away to Rosenborg after it ffs.

True. Full time Bohs did much better than us this year. They hammered the opposition away from home nil all, before cleaning up the coefficient points at home....
    You're being sarcastic yet you're actually right. They did do far better than you. They drew away from home and got us co-efficent points, which is far more than Longford did.

And Shels have done far better, and will do far better, in Europe than Longford and there's no disputing that. Before this season we were the first side to win an away match in something like ten years and drew away to Rosenborg after it ffs.
    Yes but you have, and will, fook up as well. Part time teams don't have the monopoly on poor european performances. I was there when the European Giants Shels attempted to hold out for a nil all home draw against hibs of malta to go through on away goals. You really should join the G14.

Yes but you have, and will, fook up as well. Part time teams don't have the monopoly on poor european performances. I was there when the European Giants Shels attempted to hold out for a nil all home draw against hibs to go through on away goals. You really should join the G14.
    We're you there when we set a record for the furtherest an Irish team has progressed in the new format of the champions league?

I didn't say Bohs, Shels, Cork or Drogheda wont get bad results in Europe but they're FAR more likely to help our co-efficent than either of the finalists and wouldn't lose to Vaduz. Twice.

You're being sarcastic yet you're actually right. They did do far better than you. They drew away from home and got us co-efficent points, which is far more than Longford did.
    Not exactly the proof that full time footballers are the only one's that deserve european football though is it? We lost 4-2 over 2 legs, they lost 3-1 over two legs.

one thing that must be understood is that we were at a really realy low point at the time of the european games, do you honestly believe that if we went out next week to a european team that the result would be the same....

as macy said the cup ufea place is the old cup winners cup spot and we were there on merit.

how else are we to become a bigger club and closer to full time if people want our best chance of european football removed and all the eggs in one basket in the form of the league. the cup would be a thing of the past and it might only be 3 live game a year but they do promote the game in this country. if the european place was removed no one would bother with it as what would be the point, it would have the same importance as the league cup to most clubs.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Not exactly the proof that full time footballers are the only one's that deserve european football though is it? We lost 4-2 over 2 legs, they lost 3-1 over two legs.
    I never said they were. I said the four sides I mentioned are more likely to help our co-efficent than Longford or Waterford, that's beyond dispute. The winners would be getting european football anyway in the inter toto cup, which standard wise isn't far off the UEFA anyway. In fact, Cork met a bigger side in the first round than either UEFA cup contender this season.

We're you there when we set a record for the furtherest an Irish team has progressed in the new format of the champions league?

I didn't say Bohs, Shels, Cork or Drogheda wont get bad results in Europe but they're FAR more likely to help our co-efficent than either of the finalists and wouldn't lose to Vaduz. Twice.
    Yes I was actually and fair play, however one season doesn't make you the be all and end all. The only way teams will improve is with experience, how many times have shels qualified to get that experience.

They would be a simple way of full time teams actually taking the Cup Winners place, and that would be to actually win the bloody thing. You want to penalise the cup winners, rather than penalise the full time teams that need europe yet seem incapable of winning a domestic trophy.

one thing that must be understood is that we were at a really realy low point at the time of the european games, do you honestly believe that if we went out next week to a european team that the result would be the same....

as macy said the cup ufea place is the old cup winners cup spot and we were there on merit.

how else are we to become a bigger club and closer to full time if people want our best chance of european football removed and all the eggs in one basket in the form of the league. the cup would be a thing of the past and it might only be 3 live game a year but they do promote the game in this country. if the european place was removed no one would bother with it as what would be the point, it would have the same importance as the league cup to most clubs.
    You're chance of European football wouldn't be removed, I said put the winners into the Inter Toto cup. It's essentially the same standard as I said, Cork actually got a harder draw than either UEFA cup side in their first round, it's just it doesn't effect the co-efficent points. So the cup would lose nothing, it'd still be your best chance of European football and I don't see why anyone would put less effort into it.

Yes I was actually and fair play, however one season doesn't make you the be all and end all. The only way teams will improve is with experience, how many times have shels qualified to get that experience.

They would be a simple way of full time teams actually taking the Cup Winners place, and that would be to actually win the bloody thing. You want to penalise the cup winners, rather than penalise the full time teams that need europe yet seem incapable of winning a domestic trophy.
    I never said Shels were the be all and end all, in fact Bohs have a far better European pedigree and I'd be the first to admit that. Hopefully we'll repeat or better this run next year and that will no longer be the case. You'd still get the experience, just in a competition with a different name. Ffs, there's not much between the inter toto and the UEFA cup anyway, look at what the competition did for the profile of Cork!

I don't want to peanlise anyone, I just want to see us getting the best co-efficent points possible, and it seems a shame that runs like Corks, Rovers and Pats have been wasted when they could be playing in the UEFA cup, our co-efficent would nearly be doubled if they were and got similar results.

You're chance of European football wouldn't be removed, I said put the winners into the Inter Toto cup. It's essentially the same standard as I said, Cork actually got a harder draw than either UEFA cup side in their first round, it's just it doesn't effect the co-efficent points. So the cup would lose nothing, it'd still be your best chance of European football and I don't see why anyone would put less effort into it.
    but the inter toto is to be removed and places added to ufea cup, i am open to correction on that mind you. what then, no place in european at all. i just feel we need to work together to bring the level of all teams up insted of focusing on just the full time teams and the league with every thing in one basket.

Ahh, well when that is the case then yeah, the cup winners should get a UEFA cup spot. But before it's scraped, I'd like to see the second UEFA cup spot goto the league and the cup winners get the inter toto. After that though, you're right, you can't have the cup winners getting nothing so they'd need to get a European spot. What happens after the inter toto goes, do we just get three european spots?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast