Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Irish international prospects - not looking good?

207 Posts
    He's quite the comedian actually. Some entertaining stuff on his twitter machine, as far as these things go.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    Worth mentioning that in the Fans' Preview in the Guardian today, Noe Baba, Jack Grealish and Rory Donnelly are all mentioned as being players to watch.
    Link here. And to Part 2, at the top of Part 1!
    http://www.theguardian.com/football/...-fans-part-one

156 Posts
    I think it is fair to say that Ryan McLaughlin of Liverpool wants to play for us and that him removing himself from consideration for the North is his first step in doing this. Michael O'Neill has been a bit lousy in how he mentioned us though. The North have picked up a few players from us, so it works both ways.

Having said that, I do have sympathy for the North, even though I think that it is imperative that Nationalist youngsters (Catholic or Protestant) have the right to play for the Republic.

156 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Supreme feet View Post
    Lets not jinx them! We have quite a poor record in terms of 'boy wonders', though. Most of our players seem to emerge through promotions and transfers to the EPL from the lower leagues.

Andrews and Whelan were not the most talented midfielders in their underage groups - Andrews, in particular, was behind McPhail, Barry and Alan Quinn, Healy and probably one or two others when he was U-21. Whelan was rated behind Shaun Thornton and Darren Potter. Who would have thought they'd be our primary central midfield options for two whole campaigns? Given that trend, players like Owen Garvan, Chris McCann and Stephen Quinn could all have something to offer in the near future.
    Really thought that Owen Garvan was going to be something really special. I was living in Norwich when he broke into the Ipswich team at about 17, and the Ipswich lads I was working with were raving about him. If I remember, Ipswich were a decent Championship team too...ah well!!

Agreed about the "boy wonder" bit. Football is a tough industry and I truly believe that sometimes the less heralded players (whether it be an Andrews, Whelan, Kevin Philips, Rickie Lambert) learn the skills to make themselves very good pros without the horrible weight of expectation that guys like Noe Baba, Grealish or Alex o'Hanlon (could be great young pros but using them as examples of our current boy wonders) have on their shoulders, while the "boy wonder" gets caught up with agents and all the more negative things in the game.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    If a random (presumably) English Fulham fan fancies him to feature then he must be pretty close. He seems to be developing at a fair rate of knots to be fair to him. Hopefully that continues and he sticks with us.
    No need to worry. He's not eligible for any other nation, as far as I know. He's an Irish national and, despite him having been born in Cameroon, Cameroon doesn't permit dual citizenship.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bungle View Post
    I think it is fair to say that Ryan McLaughlin of Liverpool wants to play for us and that him removing himself from consideration for the North is his first step in doing this. Michael O'Neill has been a bit lousy in how he mentioned us though. The North have picked up a few players from us, so it works both ways.
    Indeed, it is petty and mopish of O'Neill to mention possible FAI "targetting" of McLaughlin, but the lad stated in no uncertain terms to O'Neill that he had no intention whatsoever of switching to the FAI, so I'm not sure why you think it's fair to assume he wants to play for us: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23655967

Quote Originally Posted by BBC
    "Ryan has decided that he just doesn't want to make himself available to play for Northern Ireland," O'Neill added in his interview with the Sunday Life.

"We had notification from Liverpool that he wanted to stay and concentrate on his club career at this minute in time and he wouldn't be available for the Under-21 team or the senior squad."

O'Neill attempted to change McLaughlin's mind on the issue by holding face-to-face discussions with the defender but these proved to no avail.

"I met him face-to-face and also with Brendan (Rodgers) there. Stephen Robinson (Northern Ireland Under-21 coach) met him in the summer while he was at home in Belfast.

"(But) Ryan feels at this moment in time that coming away on international duty will be detrimental to his progress at Liverpool.

"I don't really understand that and I told Ryan that when I met him.

"Liverpool have encouraged him to come away with us. I've had conversations with Brendan (Rodgers) and Barry Hunter (coach) about it. They both want him to play for us and have told him that."

Darron Gibson and James McClean are among a number of Northern Ireland-born players who have switched allegiance to the Republic of Ireland in recent years but McLaughlin has told O'Neill that he will not be following that path.

"The player has assured me that is not in his thinking or an issue," added the Northern Ireland manager.

"I would not be surprised if he has been targeted in some way by the Republic of Ireland but when a player sits down and tells me face-to-face that it isn't an eligibility issue, I have to believe him."
    Having said that, I do have sympathy for the North, even though I think that it is imperative that Nationalist youngsters (Catholic or Protestant) have the right to play for the Republic.
    Hmm, why the sympathy then exactly? They could take responsibility for their own affairs perfectly well if only they'd take the initiative instead of continually whining about being victims of unfair loopholes, sectarian agenda and other such nonsense.

156 Posts
    I'm going on the fact that he is clearly a big fan of the Republic, if you judge his twitter. International football improves players, whether you are playing for Germany, the Republic of Ireland or the North. He is not yet a top player, right now he is only one of the best young players at Liverpool. If I was his agent and I'm guessing an extremely talented lad like Ryan has one, I would be encouraging him to play international football. He is a young lad of 18 or 19 and it is only my opinion (might be wrong) that he has been involved with the North for many years and finds the whole process of moving to play for us difficult, especially if he has developed friendships with other players/coaches. He is not an average young player and there have been people talking about him since he is 15. I know from being a father to young lads of a similar age that the truth is often told in a very roundabout manner, so I wouldn't read too much into what O'Neill is saying about him not being interested in playing for us.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bungle View Post
    I think it is fair to say that Ryan McLaughlin of Liverpool wants to play for us and that him removing himself from consideration for the North is his first step in doing this.
    I'm inclined to agree. Isn't this the lad who all but kept a running Twitter commentary on Ireland's 'performances' during Euro 2012? I also suspect his insistance to Michael O'Neill that his decision isn't an 'eligibility issue' is an effort to avoid becoming the subject of a contentious headline and to leave certain bridges undamaged by fire, should they need to be crossed again at some point in the future.

All circumstantial speculation on my behalf of course. It could be that he just doesn't appreciate the way the current NI kit accentuates his elbows. Players have retired for less.

85 Posts
    If he is thinking of playing for us he's probably trying to avoid the rubbish that McCarthy had to deal with until he was properly capped and tied down. At this stage of his career he's right not to make a public declaration until it's likely he'll be named in the senior squad and capped within a short period.

2,284 Posts
    Perhaps yous are right. I suppose I'm basing my judgment on O'Neill's possibly over-enthusiastic or hopeful interpretation of what McLaughlin told him. We don't know how McLaughlin phrased his reasoning exactly. I could envisage NI fans being pretty livid tough if he does eventually switch after what O'Neill has claimed. O'Neill going public like that can only add pressure for McLaughlin to stick with the IFA.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123