Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: El Clasico - make or break

Quote Originally Posted by peterc1992 View Post
    I'm not sure we have that much spent this year? Roddy has assembled a good squad and worked hard getting players in.

I have no real clue about the wages but I know Gorman is the top earner on 250 a week and I am not sure there are many close to him.

Surely thats not over the top?
    I've no idea either way, hence the remains to be seen comment. Hopefully ye are being safe and sustainable, and maintain that next season regardless of whether ye go up or not. Mons managed to survive for years, low support base or not.

860 Posts
    tell me more outspoken to those not in the know what did keith quinn do??
    He had a bit of a shouting match with TC before storming down the tunnel, think thats the 3rd time this season.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    City Calling Stadium looked well in the highlights! The loud music in the highlights package really, truly p!ss me off as I wanted to hear the atmosphere.
    Ye plus the fact MNS did nothing but run the game and the league down. No mention that it was the biggest crowd of the season, no images of the great fans, horrible highlights.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Ye plus the fact MNS did nothing but run the game and the league down. No mention that it was the biggest crowd of the season, no images of the great fans, horrible highlights.
    Not sure what was so horrible about them...apart from seeing Shaw's miss again. It was the exact same highlights package they give most premier league games, they gave it a bit of a build up before hand, you could clearly see the large crowd in the background and a hear a bit of atmosphere. Rico's comments were a bit condescending as usual but all in all probably right. Some people just love giving out. We spend all year giving out they show no First Division and then they do and we give out.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    You must be hard to please! I thought it was decent stuff for once. Better than the usual minute round up of results, table and fixtures.

In fairness most of what they said was true. For once they gave the First Division a decent shout, as mentioned already no worse than any of the highlights of the Premier Division games.

I thought CCS looked very impressive on TV, looks very fresh and clean. A ground fit for Premier football, remains to be seen whether the team is yet.

622 Posts
    Ah the team probably is, it's the manager that isn't.

860 Posts
    All I'm saying is how someone can call a game poor quality from watching maybe 3 minutes of clips is beyond me. Athlones football in the first half was the best I've seen this season and we should have scored 5 in the 2nd. No mention of that or the attendance that's all I'm saying.

49 Posts
    Yeah can't believe Corry Tracey's brilliant tackle wasn't shown either, or some of our build up play for the chances that were created, it wasn't all about crosses and a headers, but hey it was better than nothing

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    Rico's comments were a bit condescending as usual but all in all probably right.
    A bit? He's full of sh1t. At some stage over the years I've heard him use the same bs argument to propose an 8 team premier, defend a 10 team premier and now defend a 12 team league. In the meantime the pfai are sending teams to the fifapro tournament because of the number of premier players who can't get a decent contract.

His comments about us and athlone needing to go down to come back stronger shows how little he knows about the first - life in the first nearly killed both of us, and has killed established clubs like Kilkenny. The chance to go down and come back stronger may be an argument if it was 3 down 3 up, or 2 down and 2 up and a playoff, but not under the current system where its so hard to get out of and so little real turnover of clubs (bar clubs dying). Its something that does damage not helps clubs.

And yes, I do love a give out

I've no real complaints about the coverage - Peter Collins did his best, only for Rico to undo any positive sentiment, and highlights were grand (if flattering to us in the 1st half)

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    A bit? He's full of sh1t. At some stage over the years I've heard him use the same bs argument to propose an 8 team premier, defend a 10 team premier and now defend a 12 team league. In the meantime the pfai are sending teams to the fifapro tournament because of the number of premier players who can't get a decent contract.

His comments about us and athlone needing to go down to come back stronger shows how little he knows about the first - life in the first nearly killed both of us, and has killed established clubs like Kilkenny. The chance to go down and come back stronger may be an argument if it was 3 down 3 up, or 2 down and 2 up and a playoff, but not under the current system where its so hard to get out of and so little real turnover of clubs (bar clubs dying). Its something that does damage not helps clubs.

And yes, I do love a give out

I've no real complaints about the coverage - Peter Collins did his best, only for Rico to undo any positive sentiment, and highlights were grand (if flattering to us in the 1st half)
    Not standing up for Rico at all, he's never ever had anything good to say about us but i've heard him say a lot worse. He made two vague enough points, that there is a big difference in quality between the two divisions, which is true and the comment about clubs using it to "take a step back". In fairness I don't think the second point was completely off the mark in relation to us considering we've finally paid off the majority of our debts this year. Fair enough, being in the first division may have hindered us but who is to say if we'd stayed in the premier and continued spending above our means that we would have ever paid them off. Thought the comment seemed strange in relation to Athlone considering the length of time they've been out of the Premier.

Regardless my point wasn't about Rico and it wasn't specifically about Town fans giving out either. I saw another Loi fan having it out with the MNS twitter that they never show his team, the same fella who had been ranting about how they never show the First Divison and when they do, he complains that it wasn't his team, they have to start somewhere. I just don't think MNS necessarily deserve the amount of stick they get on a weekly basis. It's a reasonably well put together show considering i'd imagine, it is run on a relatively small budget and receives relatively small viewing figures. Compare it to Eircom League weekly for instance...
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234