Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: El Clasico - make or break

860 Posts
    First off I have to say the lads gave their hearts and souls to try and win that match in the 2nd half and all of the supporters were extremely proud of them for it. However, that first half performance was simply inexcusable and it's the same mistakes week after week and the same players out of position time after time, Cousins has to go before our next game.

I hate to say that because Ive just been listening to his post match interview and he said everything you could ask a losing manager to say after a game and I'd love to see him come back stronger and win us the league but that clearly isn't going to happen. We need that fresh voice in the dressing room to give us something to boost us until the end of the season because at this rate we will not make the play offs.

Fans were amazing both sides of the ground last night and its just a shame all the new faces weren't treated to a win. Hopefully we will have encouraged a few to come back with the atmosphere that was created.

49 Posts
    Just read 2 match reports on the game last night, cant believe neither gave any credit to Connelly and Gorman for the 2nd half maybe I was watching a different match but to my eyes they bossed the midfield for almost all the 2nd half

1,101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Darklordsbane View Post
    Just read 2 match reports on the game last night, cant believe neither gave any credit to Connelly and Gorman for the 2nd half maybe I was watching a different match but to my eyes they bossed the midfield for almost all the 2nd half
    Yeah they ran the game from the minute Gorman came on really, Gillespie getting injured was a blessing in disguise. They need to be our starting midfield.

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Yeah they ran the game from the minute Gorman came on really, Gillespie getting injured was a blessing in disguise. They need to be our starting midfield.
    Will this finally open people's eyes that Gillespie is finished! He was nothing short of disgraceful last night. Rhys was superb when he came on and as Connolly wasn't having to do 2 men's work he was able to play higher up and allow Rhys do what he enjoys, sitting deep and defending. Connolly is a superb player and he should have started in the whole behind sully. So many tactical mistakes in cousins lay out!

Speaking of playmakers where has Quinn gone too? Cousins finally lose it with him or was he injured?

Athlone much the better side first half, but I think our set up made them look good - we were set up to narrow and they simply played around us.

2nd half we were much better. I thought Shaw played very well, except for his finishing. We created more chances in that half than in the previous 2 games! More performances like that and it would never have been make or break. Things changed with Gillespie going off, but there was a change in set up too for the second half - it wasn't all down to a change in personnel IMO.

After losing this one, next week is another make or break game for the playoffs. If we can produce that second half performance we could kick on and put pressure on athlone (who knows how they'll handle that) and at least carry some momentum into the playoffs. More of the 1st half, I'd agree we could struggle to make the playoffs.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Will this finally open people's eyes that Gillespie is finished!
    I think most people who have seen Gillespie at all know that he was finished ages ago.
    Bitterly, bitterly disappointed with last night. I have never witnessed a build up to a game like it. There was a great buzz about the place and with a wonderful pitch, two sets of noisy, passionate fans the stage was set for a great contest.
    Then it kicked off, Athlone seemed they were happy not to lose and in truth, they never looked like loosing last night. Collins junior was booked within a minute, yet he was never targeted nor did it look like he was ever in danger. Bar sully's half chance with a header from an O'brien cross we never looked like troubling them. Athlone's goal was fortuitous, but once it came its as if a sinking feeling came over us all, players and fans alike. After conceding is a vital time for the manager to cajole, re-invigorate his charges, however it was noticible Cousins just slumped to his seat almost resigning himself to the inevitable.
    We came out the second half with a renewed sense of purpose and for the first ten minutes we were on top, the energetic and industrious pair of Connolly and Gorman dominating the middle. Then a ball found its way over the top to Shaw bearing down on goal. Surely this was our chance, alas he tried to outsmart the keeper who was already committed but still managed to send the ball wide. Unforgivable. Despite two of three half chances and Skinner making one or two stops, athlone looked comfortable. The final whistle blew to jubilant scenes from the away fans. Outwitted, defeated and having not learned his lessons from previous campaigns cousins stormed down the tunnel. After 3 years of building the best squad in the league, it's looks like we have been gazumped by a wily manager who gets the best out of his players, adding shrewd acquisitions.
    A bitter pill to swallow, as if we don't end the season promoted, next season we will be back to square one with many of our better players finding premier division clubs. A first division with a new manager a whole new squad and possibly containing teams such as Bohs, Galway united, Finn harps et al.
    I reserved my judgement on cousins until after last night in what was his defining game. Mistakes have not been learnt from last year. Why was Coffey let go? Does Gillespie have to play every game? Why have we not pushed on this year? These are the questions that have to be asked. I think his tenure has run it's course.

Very disappointed, yes, all is not lost but I can't see us going on a winning run from now til the end of the season.

A final point, was great to see such a buzz at the game last night, was nearly like old times. Well done to everyone involved in having the place look so well and who were involved in last night, you are a credit to the club. Very proud to be a part if Section O last night, new flags looked really well and it's great to see numbers continue to grow and friendships made through football and The Town. Yes we were beaten and yes it's hard to take but it's why we keep going week in week
    Out. Our day will come, you need to have the bad times to appreciate the good times.

Longford 'til I die.
    Keep the faith

860 Posts
    Brilliant post Cabs have to agree with everything said in it. All I have to say is the fact we've gone from being 9 points clear to talking about hanging on for a play off spot in the worst first division in LOI history says it all. The club have to be brave and make the call today one way or another! These rumours are doing no one any favours so either sack him or come out and say hel stay till the end of the season even if we lose our next 8 games! I think most fans would prefer a fresh face at this stage.

this is goin to be controversial from my part but I wonder what might have happened if Roddy became manager five years ago what would happened to us.. the man is a genius and has the knack for building superb squads...I think Athlone Town will go from strength to strength.. it was too good to be true for us when we made such a great start but played poorly..Gillepsie is finished he should retire early when he has the chance..he focuses more energies on charity footie tournaments across the water..

205 Posts
    We wouldn't exist today. That hoor that was behind him had no money.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    We wouldn't exist today. That hoor that was behind him had no money.
    true point but I bet you if it was Roddy Collins managing us last night we would have won!

1,101 Posts
    There's more to a club than winning matches, important and all as it is. There's also other good managers that aren't Roddy.

49 Posts
    Great post Cabs88

49 Posts
    Someone told me that Longford v's Athlone highlights are going to be on RTE 2 tonight @ 7pm don't know how true that will be but might be worth having a look,
    I doubt it will look as good a match on tv as it did live,
    hope I'm wrong
    enjoy

this is goin to be controversial from my part but I wonder what might have happened if Roddy became manager five years ago what would happened to us..
    It'd have been magic, like it was for Mons...

Having said that, the crowd and hype that Shoddy has brought to Athlone shows what a gobby high profile manager can do. It's getting the balance right between someone who can hype the locality, and someone who can't spoof the committee into spending an unsustainable amount on wages (and it remains to be seen whether Athlone have that balance right imo).

Great post Cabs - not sure I completely agree with the assessment of the particular game though. I don't think Athlone looked comfortable in the 2nd half, and I think we had them on the rack and deserved at least a draw (we might have settled at that, so I won't contend we'd have pushed on and created as many chances as we did had we scored). If Cousins sees out the season, and we don't go up, we either need a hype merchant or give a young up and coming (perhaps unknown) the chance a la Stephen Kenny. His time is romanticised enough, but I'd nearly say the basis should be perfomances/ style of play over results (or rather let the results look after themselves). The basis of the current squad can play decent football, as we see in all to brief glimpses, so if we could keep the squad together we can push on.

860 Posts
    I see keith Quinn just tweeted to say he was suspended for Saturday. He wasn't on the FAI suspension list so was it a club suspension for his antics in Wexford?

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    It'd have been magic, like it was for Mons...

Having said that, the crowd and hype that Shoddy has brought to Athlone shows what a gobby high profile manager can do. It's getting the balance right between someone who can hype the locality, and someone who can't spoof the committee into spending an unsustainable amount on wages (and it remains to be seen whether Athlone have that balance right imo).

Great post Cabs - not sure I completely agree with the assessment of the particular game though. I don't think Athlone looked comfortable in the 2nd half, and I think we had them on the rack and deserved at least a draw (we might have settled at that, so I won't contend we'd have pushed on and created as many chances as we did had we scored). If Cousins sees out the season, and we don't go up, we either need a hype merchant or give a young up and coming (perhaps unknown) the chance a la Stephen Kenny. His time is romanticised enough, but I'd nearly say the basis should be perfomances/ style of play over results (or rather let the results look after themselves). The basis of the current squad can play decent football, as we see in all to brief glimpses, so if we could keep the squad together we can push on.
    I'm not sure we have that much spent this year? Roddy has assembled a good squad and worked hard getting players in.

I have no real clue about the wages but I know Gorman is the top earner on 250 a week and I am not sure there are many close to him.

Surely thats not over the top?

205 Posts
    Fair play to the ground staff in CCS. Looked super on TV!
    Sporting F*ck All!

19. Thanks From:

220 Posts
    The two clubs Roddy managed that went out of business (Dublin City and Monaghan) hadn't the support base so that wouldn't of helped things at those clubs. Athlone is a footballing town and a successful club will bring out support so more income for the club. Once the board keep a cap on what they're spending and don't bend to Roddy's wishes all the time then it's onwards and upwards for Athlone. The only worry for Athlone is that if they do get up, Roddy will be looking to spend big to keep Athlone up. The club could end up throwing money at average players, lose most of their games, support will dwindle and then end up out of business half way through next season.

Hopefully that won't happen cos we can't be losing any more teams in this joke of a league!!

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    I see keith Quinn just tweeted to say he was suspended for Saturday. He wasn't on the FAI suspension list so was it a club suspension for his antics in Wexford?

tell me more outspoken to those not in the know what did keith quinn do??

112 Posts
    City Calling Stadium looked well in the highlights! The loud music in the highlights package really, truly p!ss me off as I wanted to hear the atmosphere.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

23. Thanks From:

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast