Page 32 of 72 FirstFirst ... 22303132333442 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2013/14

Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    Thats fair enough first but surely if avenue said they had an alternative pitch to play on and enough notice was given then match should have went ahead.
    Maybe someone from Corofin might tell us their side of this.

I'd also be interested to know how other clubs resident in Lee's Road and Fairgreen feel about none of their games transferring to the Astro.

Also did Sporting Ennistymon get an opportunity to transfer their game to Lee's Road, I think they went to LIT to play their game.

Last edited by First; 17/02/2014 at 9:56 AM.
    I'll update this next year.

Your gripe is clearly with Avenue here, if it was any other team you wouldnt be looking to see how other clubs felt by the decision. The clare league called off all other games due to inclement weather last week. And i think you ll find that munster junior or fai games cant be played on lees rd until its inspected my munster council and fai. If you want info Donal you might get it from your good contacts on the clare league committee.

Quote Originally Posted by mastermind1 View Post
    Your gripe is clearly with Avenue here, if it was any other team you wouldnt be looking to see how other clubs felt by the decision. The clare league called off all other games due to inclement weather last week. And i think you ll find that munster junior or fai games cant be played on lees rd until its inspected my munster council and fai. If you want info Donal you might get it from your good contacts on the clare league committee.
    No gripe with Avenue, at least not on this matter David. I have a gripe with the ever evolving rules and directives that go on. Now I may have been missed informed on the directive with the use of the Astro but I don't think so. There is a precedent being set here that would allow any team to take another team to the Astro, which is not what was outlined initially.
    And to put your mind at ease the league committee don't share anything with me that they don't share with everyone else.

If the Astro is not FAI approved why are is it being used?
    Last edited by First; 17/02/2014 at 11:01 AM.

Formerly: vidic-class
    That astro turf in Lee's Road is absolutely awful. There should be no games played on it imo. If MFA/FAI officials actually come to look at it there's no way that it should get approved. I heard earlier in the season it'd been 'FIFA approved' , couldn't believe it, grand astro for training but no way suitable for matches

It might be a case where more teams have to play on it than the ones that are playing out of lees rd and the fairgreen because of the backlog. I m againat the idea of having games lees rd astro but what choice have the league got at this stage. They are trying their best to keep everyone happy and its not that easy. We are 7 games behind some clubs due to our decent runs in cup competitions so thats the only reason the game was being pushed to go ahead. Look we ll move on from this and hopefully the weather picks up for games to be played on "grass" pitches

Rules are rules and the game should not have gone ahead. If my memory is correct there were 3 games (from different divisions) that could have been played on the Astro Turf but none went ahead. Why should Avenue and Corofin go ahead when the fixtures set down for the Astro Turf were cancelled. I understand Avenue need to catch up but this harps back to the need for the League to start earlier. Am I correct in saying that Avenue werent given a walkover? The League table hasnt been updated to give them 3 points

What rules are you referring to 0030?

Here is a missive sent from the Clare League to the Club Delegates on 6th of November 2013 about Lee's Road.

"Hi All,
    As advised on 21st August and at last delegate meeting and at AGM the council were planning on upgrading the surface at Lees Road Astro pitch to the required standard for matches. This work has now been completed and from this weekend on when the grass pitches at Lees Road or the Fairgreen are unavailable 2 matches will be moved to the astro pitch. Club will be notified as early as possible on the Friday or Saturday when matches are being moved. The KO times will not be changed"

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Here is a missive sent from the Clare League to the Club Delegates on 6th of November 2013 about Lee's Road.

"Hi All,
    As advised on 21st August and at last delegate meeting and at AGM the council were planning on upgrading the surface at Lees Road Astro pitch to the required standard for matches. This work has now been completed and from this weekend on when the grass pitches at Lees Road or the Fairgreen are unavailable 2 matches will be moved to the astro pitch. Club will be notified as early as possible on the Friday or Saturday when matches are being moved. The KO times will not be changed"
    Lads a lot of confusion here and by the looks of the above a couple of questions need to be asked

1. When were Corofin told about this fixture change and more importantly did they agree to it?? .
    2 . When the Clare league send out a ruling like the one above can it be changed on a wim the Saturday before the Sunday fixture and are all teams supposed to just put up with it?? .

And before anyone starts about this been an Avenue witchunt its not I am just looking for a bit of clarification on this as First has already said it is setting a precedent to allow any team to decide when to drag a team to an astroturf .

As far as Im aware the rule is that teams using lees Road and the Fairgreen are to play on the Astro Turf. I could be wrong but you'll see what I'm getting at. If the Astro Turf is only for Ennis Town/Hermitage/Inch/Rhine etc then why should Avenue get priority when matches on the Astro Turf have been called off. PS this isnt an anti Avenue post. Just looking for consistency and trying to make sense of things

Lees Rd was not upgraded in any way shape or form. Lines were added to form a full sized pitch, that is all. That's word for word from the company that painted the lines.

It's not FAI approved, so according to the rules of the FAI, you do not have to fulfil a fixture on the surface if you don't want to.

Simple as that.

There are no rules in CDSL relating to AstroTurf pitches.

All other arguments regarding avenue/Corofin are irrelevant

I agree with lads here looking to find out the actual rule but you only have to look at the limerick league to see how many teams use alternative venues if their own pitches are unplayable, once their approved by the league and they dont interfere with anyone elses game (last sunday i think there was no game down till 12 o clock) so in this case it was ok to play the game at 10.30.. Maybe someone from the league could clarify it better, to be honest i m glad I wont be playing on the astro in lees rd often. Like someone said earlier, its grand to train on but not good enough for games i think.

It's not FAI approved, so according to the rules of the FAI, you do not have to fulfil a fixture on the surface if you don't want to.

So do all clubs have the right to disagree to play ennis town/hermitage/manus/inch/rhine rovers/turnpike if the grass pitches are unavailable in lees road and fairgreen and are changed to the astro?

Just curious

So do all clubs have the right to disagree to play ennis town/hermitage/manus/inch/rhine rovers/turnpike if the grass pitches are unavailable in lees road and fairgreen and are changed to the astro?

Just curious
    The answer is yes, despite what the League may say, the FAI is the ruling body with a higher authority and their rules take precedence

I think Connolly refused to play on the Astro Turf earlier this year. Presumably this is why Corofin didn't turn up?

Corofin played the week before on it. Lost 4 nil. Only had 12 players. I think we all know why they didnt turn up.

Quote Originally Posted by footballfriend View Post
    Corofin played the week before on it. Lost 4 nil. Only had 12 players. I think we all know why they didnt turn up.
    Nobody only people involved in Corofin really know why they didnt turn up . Everybody who plays soccer knows that playing on an astroturf field the game is much quicker and will always suit the better teams . Maybe the corofin lads thought the week before that the field did not suit their style of play . I know if I was the manager of Corofin and had seen my team been beaten 4 nil the week before the last thing I would do is agree to play Avenue on that same surface a week later .

No offfence to Corofin but do people think it is fair that for example the likes of Newmarket or Avenue who would be classed as two of the better teams in the league can decide that they want to play a game on astroturf .

My view on this is Corofin were right not to turn up to play that game on Sunday as they were at a disadvantage before a ball was kicked . What do other people think .

Fair enough if corofin didnt want to play. At least have the decency to notify the league. Avenue and the ref were there waiting for the game, do you think thats fair? We had to pay the ref for coming out aswell, as much as i dont like seeing teams get walkovers and its not good for the league this is what it was. A team failing to show for a game is a walkover as ye all know
    Last edited by mastermind1; 18/02/2014 at 10:16 AM.

Fair enough if corofin didnt want to play. At least have the decency to notify the league. Avenue and the ref were there waiting for the game, do you think thats fair? We had to pay the ref for coming out aswell, as much as i dont like seeing teams get walkovers and its not good for the league this is what it was. A team failing to show for a game is a walkover as ye all know
    This goes back to my my last posts regarding the questions we need answers to .

1. When were Corofin told about this fixture change and more importantly did they agree to it?? .
    2 . When the Clare league send out a ruling like the one above can it be changed on a wim the Saturday before the Sunday fixture and are all teams supposed to just put up with it?? .

Also what pressure was put on Corofin by the Clare league to fulfil this fixture again we need answers to all these questions. I do not think it is fair to expect a team that played the week before on a surface that does not suit them to be asked to play again a week later against one of the better teams in the league .

As for ye having to pay the ref, absolute nonsense ye should have refused and told him to ask the Clare league to sort this one out .

Formerly: vidic-class
    Corofin have a poor track record in recent times of not fulfilling fixtures. Two ridiculous incidents last season — the Bridge Celtic nets fiasco (which I think everyone knows the story with that one) and another stunt pulled to avoid playing Newmarket B.
    Last edited by MikeBassett; 18/02/2014 at 12:04 PM.

Page 32 of 72 FirstFirst ... 22303132333442 ... LastLast