Quote Originally Posted by fifty50 View Post
    Pa McMahon
    James Harty
    Jake Dunlea
    Jack Carrig
    Declan O Mara
    Gavin Whyte

All decent young players
    Ya some good players there.where declan o mara sign from ???. Only problem is will they turn up every week . Isn't that why most of them shannon lads weren't playing regularly for hibs and town.. great signings if committed but worrying for locals with so many outsiders coming in. Are they all signed up to A team??

Not my job to pick Bridge A team so I'll leave that to the powers that be, bar Declan o Mara, who signed from Summerville, all are u19. There are no 'Outsiders' at Bridge Utd.
    Your address is irrelevant

Not my job to pick Bridge A team so I'll leave that to the powers that be, bar Declan o Mara, who signed from Summerville, all are u19. There are no 'Outsiders' at Bridge Utd.
    Your address is irrelevant
    Good answer and right attitude.. I think that you will find declan o mara is more than 19.. at least 30..I thought he signed back with olympic b as I saw him play a match for them this year. Might have been a friendly

Pa McMahon
    James Harty
    Jake Dunlea
    Jack Carrig
    Declan O Mara
    Gavin Whyte

All decent young players
    decent young players on their day maybe but have to question there commitment

harty could not train or turn up for matches with hibs and he has not made to many training sessions with the bridge so far , mc mahon quit Shannon town and made a comeback with the bridge / jack carraig the same / dunlea was struggling to get onto a terrible hibs cant see the bridge lads putting up with the same carry on out there ,,

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    decent young players on their day maybe but have to question there commitment

harty could not train or turn up for matches with hibs and he has not made to many training sessions with the bridge so far , mc mahon quit Shannon town and made a comeback with the bridge / jack carraig the same / dunlea was struggling to get onto a terrible hibs cant see the bridge lads putting up with the same carry on out there ,,
    That's what I was thinking old git if they couldn't bother training with "their clubs " what would make them change and travel to bridge for training. Bridge utd have been making great strides hopefully this wont upset too many lads. Bridge have always been close knit community team made up of locals.

Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    I think that you will find declan o mara is more than 19.. at least 30..I thought he signed back with olympic b as I saw him play a match for them this year. Might have been a friendly
    Where was this game? He hasn't played a game for Olympic in well over a year, if not more.. trained with olympic b alright for a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by Shuffleruns View Post
    Where was this game? He hasn't played a game for Olympic in well over a year, if not more.. trained with olympic b alright for a bit.
    did he not play in Wesley webb with one of the Olympics ?? he is not u19 anymore

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    did he not play in Wesley webb with one of the Olympics ?? he is not u19 anymore
    Ye maybe.

That's what I was thinking old git if they couldn't bother training with "their clubs " what would make them change and travel to bridge for training. Bridge utd have been making great strides hopefully this wont upset too many lads. Bridge have always been close knit community team made up of locals.

Nobody from the Bridge would get upset about the club growing and attracting better players..

May upset others but certainly not Bridge Utd

Nobody from the Bridge would get upset about the club growing and attracting better players..

May upset others but certainly not Bridge Utd
    good to see any club growing and attracting players but some of the players mentioned here would not fall into that better player statement. plus the bridge teams were always based on homegrown local lads willing to give their all for their team with the odd outsider and some smashing teams over the years
    Last edited by old git; 05/02/2014 at 12:05 AM.

It's not as if all the aforementioned players are the core of the A team, I'm sure management will pick and choose accordingly as they see fit, but it's great to have these choices to make.

agree with old git, bridge teams have always been mainly local lads, which is a priceless thing to have and something that is largely underestimated and ignored..... gavin whyte good young local lad but the rest of them are poisonous signings...... what is it with this generation of shannon lads that cannot commit to one club for any period of time at all...... this is exactly why shannon teams are struggling because of idiots who jump from club to club, constantly on the move. cant see this being a positive thing for bridge, 1/2 outsiders, ok but 5 is way too many. especially when these lads couldnt spell loyalty

Quote Originally Posted by talisman View Post
    agree with old git, bridge teams have always been mainly local lads, which is a priceless thing to have and something that is largely underestimated and ignored..... gavin whyte good young local lad but the rest of them are poisonous signings...... what is it with this generation of shannon lads that cannot commit to one club for any period of time at all...... this is exactly why shannon teams are struggling because of idiots who jump from club to club, constantly on the move. cant see this being a positive thing for bridge, 1/2 outsiders, ok but 5 is way too many. especially when these lads couldnt spell loyalty
    Harsh^

Its all about how well you know the manager in shannon for whatever club, doesn't matter about quality or how good you are..... Ive heard from one or two of these so called 'poisonous signings' that Snn town was really boring training and no craic between the squad. Least the Bridge have a good management team that are doing things right and play ball the right way IMO.

Crazy comment as you shuffleruns played with A team and jack carrig played with B team so two player's different at different sessions. Plus isn't ger kelly training town and he is oscar traynor coach too can't be that boring since they are in all ireland semi..and from reading earlier posts they are still getting good numbers so maybe you just didn't fit in there. At the end of the day talisman is dead right none of them players mentioned will give any loyalty or commitment.but all good players if They did. Pa mcmahon left cause he wasn't starting james harty has swapped clubs 3 times now in 12 months same with o mara jack dunlea and jack carrig are" gaa first" men. So gavin is probably the only good signing out of the 5

Stand by what i said.... Never said Ger Kelly isn't a good coach..

Adding numbers is one thing but adding quality is a whole different story.
    Having a wave of blowins coming into a local club has it's own issues but having a wave of pre-madonnas is asking for trouble. Maybe one of the jumping jacks, imo, is worth the risk but he really needs a kick up the arse before he finds himself looking back and regretting. Maybe the idle promises might bare fruit, time will tell.

Anyway it looks like another weekend of no fixtures as the forecast isn't great again. Big squads might be the answer with the way the season is progressing.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Adding numbers is one thing but adding quality is a whole different story.
    Having a wave of blowins coming into a local club has it's own issues but having a wave of pre-madonnas is asking for trouble. Maybe one of the jumping jacks, imo, is worth the risk but he really needs a kick up the arse before he finds himself looking back and regretting. Maybe the idle promises might bare fruit, time will tell.

Anyway it looks like another weekend of no fixtures as the forecast isn't great again. Big squads might be the answer with the way the season is progressing.
    Totally agree your club has proven this mainly home grown but the outsiders brought in are proven quality and commited lads. The new goalie brigdale daithi o connell all serving newmarket well.. alot to be learnt from clubs like newmarket

Page 27 of 72 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast