Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Merview at home

622 Posts
    If Messi played for us Tony would have him on the wing and hoof it at him. I doubt it matters who the hell he signs, I hope we have a new manager next season whether we fluke our way up or not..

860 Posts
    That interview was painful to listen to the mans talking rubbish. And then he keeps trying to play mind games with Athlone surely hes learnt by now he cant beat Roddy when it comes to mind games so why doesnt he stay quiet and ignore roddy and let him do his talking through results.

Curran will definitely not be signing for longford unless theres a huge change of heart from a number of parties who scuppered any chances of a previous deal.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Sounds like he's looking to bring in a couple alright, you'd presume Curran is one he has in mind. It's all well and good saying you're being offered players who aren't good enough for the Premier but that doesn't mean that they're not better than what we have at the moment or good enough to get us up.
    Thought it was a bit strange what he was saying alright, he seemed to just be rambling on. Saying Salmo is a premier league player and then stating that he's regularly offered players from the premier and yet most of our signings are from non-league clubs...pressure is getting to him a bit..
    Last edited by Bosco; 28/07/2013 at 5:10 PM.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

I can't really say any more to be honest, but Curran won't be signing...

220 Posts
    He doesn't sound too positive in that interview, he sounded down and out to be honest and that's going to get through to the players. If we don't get a positive result next week I think its play-offs at the best for us.

860 Posts
    From talking to people in recent weeks Wexford are very poor so if we dont win down there it really is curtains. I know it wont be an easy game but the fact we've gone from a team believing we can beat anyone to a team not believing in ourselves to beat a team near the bottom says it all about our run of form right now

1,101 Posts
    I'd agree with Cousins on a couple of things he said to be fair to him including that we need Des Hope back fit. He settles the defence down. Not sure who I'd play alongside him at this stage, Tyrrell or McCarthy perhaps. Quinn should be in the midfield too, he tried to get us playing when he came on and we lifted it a bit. Thought Gorman struggled a bit when he was in the middle, it's the first time I've seen him though so not drawing any conclusions from that, he's still a young lad too , obviously.

44 Posts
    The lack of pace in the back four and the fact bennion rarely comes out past the peno spot is the problem, either put hunt in goals who is sharper off the line or get the back four to play way deeper!!

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    It's all well and good saying you're being offered players who aren't good enough for the Premier but that doesn't mean that they're not better than what we have at the moment or good enough to get us up.
    So sign a few more Rovers U19's instead? Thought it was a reasonable enough interview though - he should be a bit down after that.

It was my first game for a few weeks, but that second half was utter sh*te. This needs to be turned, fast.

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fitzpatrick10 View Post
    The lack of pace in the back four and the fact bennion rarely comes out past the peno spot is the problem, either put hunt in goals who is sharper off the line or get the back four to play way deeper!!
    Are you mad! How can you even suggest we drop Bennion? Yes he's slow off his line but even against mervue he kept us in the game with a number of too class saves. He's keeping us in games! I know what your saying about him being too slow in coming out but That's something he obviously needs to work on in training.

One thing which the interviewer pointed out was how the lads dropped their heads after the second goal and how she hadn't seen that happen all season. Whatever about the quality of football we've played this season one thing which we seemed to have in abundance was team spirit which is evident considering the amount of late goals we've scored in the first two series of games.

When that second mervue goal went in, the lads just seemed to give up, they knew we weren't going to get the 3 points we needed so they weren't bothered. Even when we were 3-0 down to harps a few months ago the lads never stopped pelting balls into the box in the hope of cathcing something and we were so close in the end from snatching a point.

As bad as Saturday night was and as much as I agree with the majority of what people are saying, a bit of positivity wouldn't go astray. Some people are going a bit over the top with their criticism, saying we won't even make the playoffs when we're joint top with just over one series of games to go.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    One thing which the interviewer pointed out was how the lads dropped their heads after the second goal and how she hadn't seen that happen all season. Whatever about the quality of football we've played this season one thing which we seemed to have in abundance was team spirit which is evident considering the amount of late goals we've scored in the first two series of games.

When that second mervue goal went in, the lads just seemed to give up, they knew we weren't going to get the 3 points we needed so they weren't bothered. Even when we were 3-0 down to harps a few months ago the lads never stopped pelting balls into the box in the hope of cathcing something and we were so close in the end from snatching a point.
    I agree with you there I was shocked when the goal went in that all their heads dropped straight away, like you said they knew they need 3 points and the most they could hope for was 1 so they gave up, very disappointing but surely thats where the manager should get up and say to his lads cmon lads heads up keep going we have 15 minutes to get 1 back at least. Instead he just slumps back into his seat and sucks out of his water bottle, its not what you want to see in my opinion.

33 Posts
    So if everyone on here has been screaming for weeks, that we needed some experienced pro's and not under 19's. They should of been in from the start of July. I know the club should not over spend but we could of all but won the league in the last few weeks if we had some quality in the side. What is the ****ing point of waiting till the last 2 days of the transfer window and suddenly going we need a better standard of player.

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ltfc_2004 View Post
    So if everyone on here has been screaming for weeks, that we needed some experienced pro's and not under 19's. They should of been in from the start of July. I know the club should not over spend but we could of all but won the league in the last few weeks if we had some quality in the side. What is the ****ing point of waiting till the last 2 days of the transfer window and suddenly going we need a better standard of player.
    It's complete and utter panic buying in my opinion. After we signed O'Connor and Gorman we were told no more signings, O'Brien was understandable considering Nkololos injury. Theres no danger of the club throwing silly money at players though I know that for a fact so Cousins better find someone worthwhile or its just a waste of funds.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    I agree with you there I was shocked when the goal went in that all their heads dropped straight away, like you said they knew they need 3 points and the most they could hope for was 1 so they gave up, very disappointing but surely thats where the manager should get up and say to his lads cmon lads heads up keep going we have 15 minutes to get 1 back at least. Instead he just slumps back into his seat and sucks out of his water bottle, its not what you want to see in my opinion.

That is true to be fair. I'm just trying to point out that it not as bad as it could be. The first half performance the other night wasn't that bad, thats the third game in a row we've played relatively well in the first half and just had a complete collapse in the second. Not sure whether this is down to motivation or fitness or what.

Anyway I think the pending outcome of today's case was also a big part in all the despair from the weekend. That's over now leaving us in a good position to kick on from Friday onwards.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    That is true to be fair. I'm just trying to point out that it not as bad as it could be. The first half performance the other night wasn't that bad, thats the third game in a row we've played relatively well in the first half and just had a complete collapse in the second. Not sure whether this is down to motivation or fitness or what.
    We're also not getting that great a rub of the green with decisions. I know there was plenty of awful defending for their first goal, but it was never a corner in the first place. After Cobh, must have some effect on morale.

49 Posts
    I agreed the midfield weren't great for the first hour Gorman (who I think is only 19) only got 3 passes from his own team that I saw, he has a bit to learn but has good vision when they give him the ball, Gorman might not have got stuck in but at least he hassled them enough to pass sideways or back,
    Gillespie got stuck in for 20 mins each half and went missing for the rest, Quinn looked lively when he came on but that was because his team mates gave him the ball as much as possible, the 3rd merv goal came straight through the middle ,
    the main problem as I see it is the ball is hoofed away almost all the time by Bennion mind you he was better this weekend he rolled it out maybe 10 times (he should be made watch Pepe Reina's distribution of the ball) the wingers and backs seem happy to stop running and accept a throw in,
    I think the only player who can hold his head up high after that debacle is Davy (20 goals) O Sullivan fair play to him he runs himself into the ground and give his all every match
    Very mixed bag

205 Posts
    O'Sullivan has scored 20 goals this season? Wow...
    Sporting F*ck All!

1,101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    O'Sullivan has scored 20 goals this season? Wow...
    Yeah and it's not just his goals that impress me every time I see him, he's just an all round excellent footballer and so bloody fast with it. Wonderful signing, can't believe he never got a proper crack at LOI until now.

23. Thanks From:

860 Posts
    You really have to wonder though what we can do in the market in just 2 days unless these are players hes been in contact with before now?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast