Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: LOI series 20 & 17 - Premier and First division fixtures.

98 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Not going to lie mistakes were made when we started out 3 years ago but if you look at every article on the current website it's all original writing bare press releases etc. Whether you love us or hate us we do cover a lot of transfers/news that other sites sometimes don't. There is a market out there for LOI sites that needs to be filled.
    Like the Barry Ryan Retirement story a couple of years ago :P haha

http://foot.ie/archive/index.php/t-138234.html
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Like the Barry Ryan Retirement story a couple of years ago :P haha

http://foot.ie/archive/index.php/t-138234.html

Wonder has the other Barry Ryan come out of retirement yet.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dejadem View Post
    They acknowledged it themselves a while back on their Facebook profile.
    I see.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I know one reporter from Extratime that put mistakes in his report on purpose to see were they just copy and pasting it exact same mistakes then showed up in LOI Blogs report. They have said they have stopped doing it now.

I was told by 2 of yer reporters that you still use Extratimes stuff but just change the words around. especially for match reports
    That, both, is most definitely not on. That's just poor form. Hard to build a site with all the right intentions only to have whoever is writing for you shove it back in your face with plagiarised work.

861 Posts
    I was told by 2 of yer reporters that you still use Extratimes stuff but just change the words around. especially for match reports
    Whoever told ya that is having ya on. Take a look at any of our reports from this weekend and you'll see they are 100% original. Anyway I think this thread has gone miles off topic.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Anyway I think this thread has gone miles off topic.
    Perhaps largely because of these posts from you?

Don't know where your coming from considering THE LOI BLOG didn't write a single article regarding the incident, all we did was send the fan in question a get well soon message.
    I'd hardly call someone that was at the game and in the stand describing what they heard and saw as gutter journalism but each to their own I suppose.

125 Posts
    I'd hardly call someone that was at the game and in the stand describing what they heard and saw as gutter journalism but each to their own I suppose.
    I called it that. I was there and in the same area as the press box. I don't want to drag the topic on even further but I can send you a PM to outline areas of the article in particular two paragraphs which I found were wrong
    Long Live King Kenny

98 Posts
    Nah they weren't having me on. They go to the Live Updates of extratime and basically write their reports from that

Well, there are some professional journalists who do just that from time to time, so...
    Fight the good fight!

(Now with my very own account on foot.ie - How cool am I? - 15/02/07)

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    I called it that. I was there and in the same area as the press box. I don't want to drag the topic on even further but I can send you a PM to outline areas of the article in particular two paragraphs which I found were wrong
    The writer of the article wasn't in the press box. he was sitting on the steps in the stand in front of me

861 Posts
    Who ever told you that has a chip on their shoulder, maybe one of the lads who no longer write for us. What about all the reports we get up first or games ET dot cover like friendlies and Cobh V Longford? Anyway can we please leave it there.

98 Posts
    No no they both still work for ye haha Not saying ye don't have a good service going. But the problem i have is the way its run. Anyways Kieran ya well leave it there

Fair play to the Loi blog, their work in first division is quite good and sometimes even better than Extratime's work.

38 Posts
    Dundalk fined for their 'hosting' of the match against Pat's. The FAI should be making this public so mistakes can be learned from. This shouldn't be allowed happen again.

Is there an FAI statement forthcoming do you know?

65 Posts
    How much was the fine?

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Is there an FAI statement forthcoming do you know?
    No. Pats event controllers were present at the FAI hearing and they weren't even told of the "result". Neil O'Riordan in the sun found out by ringing the FAI and asking them

Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    How much was the fine?
    Neither the FAI nor Dundalk would comment.

Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    Dundalk fined for their 'hosting' of the match against Pat's. The FAI should be making this public so mistakes can be learned from. This shouldn't be allowed happen again.
    This is the important bit. Now we have a situation were the FAI have decided that Dundalk made errors and rather than have the whole league learn from it, it's just dealt with quietly. As I've said a number of complaints were made. Which were upheld and which were dismissed?

19. Thanks From:

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    It has always been obvious that mistakes were made - at a minimum allowing terrace ticket holding Pats fans into the stand.

I would welcome a statement from either Dundalk or the FAI (preferably from both) in the interests of openness and transparency - acknowledging the mistakes and outlining an intention and plan to prevent a re-occurrence.

It would be particularly interesting to know if their were any findings in relation
    A) to the cause of the accident and
    B) the post-accident treatment of the injured supporter
    C) how stewards handled the violent behaviour of some Pats fans in the ground immediately after the match

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    C) how stewards handled the violent behaviour of some Pats fans in the ground immediately after the match
    If there was, Pats have received no sanctions from the FAI.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    How much was the fine?
    300 Euro
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If there was, Pats have received no sanctions from the FAI.
    What are you unsure about?

If you were in the ground with the main body of Pats fans (either in the stand or on the terrace) surely you witnessed the violent behaviour of a number of supporters who "attacked" a security fence in front of the stand?

The main issue here is what Dundalk FC (and other clubs) can learn about improving Safety and Stewarding, but it should not be inferred that the behaviour of all fans was exemplary
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 24/07/2013 at 1:22 PM.

24. Thanks From:

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast