Thread: The Season???

Question The Season???

Just wondering what do people actually think of citys season so far and where do ye think its going..............Europe at best i reckon
    j'accuse!

We have gathered together some excellent young talent in the form of O'Grady, Bennett, Hoggie, O'Rourke and Carey. But they won't be hanging around for long with an idiot like Murphy in charge.

The players themselves have no confidence in Murphy. He plays Hartigan, and makes some unbelievable tactical decisions. He makes a decision on a guy and is not man enough to change his mind .ie. O'Flynn, Herrick, Tynan.

It would be great if we won the league or even the League Cup, but it would be because the other teams throw it away. It would also mean another couple of years of Murphy in charge and then Patsy and then Caulfield... same old story.

Our club needs change from top to bottom. That's what I'd like to see at the end of this season, more so than the League trophy I would go as far as saying.

Without wanting to sound lie a prophet of doom, but I think we have seen our season already. Judging by the last 3/4 performances (excluding 3-1 against Rovers), the team has been crap. Okay we beat Galway 4-0, but in all honesty, that was because Galway were bad. We've managed
    [SIZE=4]1 shot on target in 2 games!!!!![/SIZE]

that tells alot to me anyway. I hope I'm wrong and its all turned around, but I shant be holding my breath.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

disagree with you GWA. I have faith in the team and the kids. I think they want to make thier mark on the league, and on their careers and I think they will do the business..

Its just Gunther I worry about as a manager, but as long as he doesnt go out and play himself I think we will win the league. Eventually the players will stop listening to his tactics, realise the man hasnt a clue and we'll start scoring again

City for the league

Season so far? Acceptable after Mountfeild era but we have only recovered to Dave Barry standard. Dave Barry resigned because he thought he couldn't take us to the next level. We brought in Mountfield who possibly could have but didn't, then got this clown to bring us back to a second-rate team. I don't know how long we're going to put up with him. Depends on what we want. Are we happy with europe every year? Or do we want to move up a gear and win the thing?

As for the rest of the season, I think the past two weeks have blown it. Disatrous result in the league followed by being knocked out of a competition I felt we could have won with Pats out, rovers and shels concentrating on the league and bohs in disarray.

Looking at the league, we're currently third. Shels and Rovers look like they're going to take the title between them. Behind us are Derry and UCD. I doubt either of them are going to beat us in the end. After that, there's still Pats (who should be two points ahead of us but for the FAI) and Boes (who caould be great with a new manager).

It's not over yet, but I think europe is as far as we can get. Preferablly the UEFA cup rather that inter-toto.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Casagrande

I happen to know for a fact that the younger palyers not only have full confidence in Murphy but in his ability to bring the team to the next level.

A certain City wonder kid who has played out of position recently told me that Murphy is a brillent coach because he is never afraid to throw in a young player. The same player said there would be no point in moving to English 2nd or 3rd division because it would be a step down.
    Oh no not them again

the young players also loved derek mountfield, and i heard that from several of them. any manager who plays guys that young for the first time is bound to be in their good books. i don't trust the judgement of a man who deliberatley signs and plays hartigan after seeing him play.
    Last edited by Éanna; 22/12/2001 at 1:11 PM.

old men dont like a new system morley,caufield............
    j'accuse!

Thumbs down

Originally posted by ccfcman
    old men dont like a new system morley,caufield............
    Good point however Morley and Caulfield hardly ever play nowadays!! Mulligan,Colin P and that gimp hartigan should be able to adapt to new systems
    Cobh Ramblers have mastered the art of consistency.That is the art of being constantly rubbish

Remember what that dogturd Hansen said a few years back"you'll win nothing with kids" he's still atin' his words. I honestly think City will win with the lads, have a wee bit of paeshence! Whats the betting Bennet will bounce back and be one of citys top players, and Murph will do the job for us.
    The light at the end of the tunnel could be an oncoming train!

Man utd proved you can win trophies with kids so why can't we??
    Cobh Ramblers have mastered the art of consistency.That is the art of being constantly rubbish

Originally posted by Gunthers Mask
    why can't we??
    .......because their manager wasn't a half-arsed gimp who didn't know what he was doing.

Originally posted by Éanna

.......because their manager wasn't a half-arsed gimp who didn't know what he was doing.
    good one Éanna!!

No seriously Murphy Out Now
    Don't let City follow the same route as Ramblers

Ah yes same as ramblers

Remember that, how ramberlers were 3 points off the top of the with league, thats how they got where they are today. Everybody knows that being atthe top end the league is one definite way to get relgated.
    Oh no not them again

yeah, look at millwall when micky mac was manager there. top of division one at xmas, and relegated with 4 or 5 games to go! Unreal!
    When you're at the top: consolidate consolidate consolidate.....................

tactically retarded .......yes
    half arsed gimp ..............maybe
    manager.................[SIZE=4] NO[/SIZE]
    j'accuse!

Originally posted by ccfcman
    tactically retarded .......yes
    half arsed gimp ..............maybe
    manager.................[SIZE=4] NO[/SIZE]
    good one ccfcman