Thread: (Car/Bike/Motorised Bicycle) Drivers Wanted

500 Posts

(Car/Bike/Motorised Bicycle) Drivers Wanted

Anyone here interested in motors? I want to create a Drivers forum that won't be populated by a bunch of whiney numpties like on Boards, but I'm concious of my own rules WRT new forums so here I am pimping for fellow petrolheads. What do you drive, what do you want to drive, what did you crash? God vids? Anything but crap Russian drivers, I'm sick to death of the dashcam vids.

999 Posts
    If you want somebody to complain once or twice about CV transmissions on a second-hand Honda Fit and then never post again, I'm your man.

2,346 Posts
    Christ, I read it as drivers wanted, as in, computer drivers.

I like cars, grew up watching rallying religiously and the best time of the year was always the Donegal Rally weekend.

Fallen greatly away from cars in the past few years as a few friends became really big into modified cars and rubbish like that. Really off-putting. Lived with a guy who worked in Halfords in town as a modified car specialist and also works for some one of those modified cars magazines getting mad sponsorship to do crazy things to silly cars. Drove me insane.

500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    If you want somebody to complain once or twice about CV transmissions on a second-hand Honda Fit and then never post again, I'm your man.
    Awful, awful car. No offense. As much as I hate them, if you're buying in that category you might as well buy a Feshty. Or if you want something that at least looks some way decent, a Suzuki Swift or (older, the new ones are manky) Seat Leon. There's never been a nice Jazz. They're a retarded yoke. No offense.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I like cars, grew up watching rallying religiously and the best time of the year was always the Donegal Rally weekend.
    Rallying actually doesn't do a whole lot for me, at least not in person. You have to find a spot, stick yourself right out into the road to see past everyone else, and moving to another spot can be a pain in the arse. If I'm travelling to an event, I think autotesting is more fun. Looking forward to taking the 2yo soon. My favourite event so far was the Phoenix Park races 2 years ago, loved it, can't wait to have storage for a Volvo Amazon so I can take part myself!

Fallen greatly away from cars in the past few years as a few friends became really big into modified cars and rubbish like that. Really off-putting. Lived with a guy who worked in Halfords in town as a modified car specialist and also works for some one of those modified cars magazines getting mad sponsorship to do crazy things to silly cars. Drove me insane.
    I like customised stuff but there's a dearth of original, talented people in Ireland. When I was hanging around the mean streets of Cork in my (mother's) mad little Daihatsu Domino, there was really only 2 or 3 cars that were worthy of any respect. These days I reckon I see a car that I admire maybe a couple of times a year. Mostly it's f*ckwits with both RS4 and TDi badges on the back of their bog-standard kitted A4s.

I'm finding it hard not to go bonkers on my own current car, a Volvo 850R, as it was cheap as chips and there's rakes of bits out there for it. I have all sorts of bits sitting around for it, but I'm resisting the temptation to actually fit them, mostly because I prefer a sleeper anyway. It's tricky doing that with a bright red car though.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 28/06/2013 at 9:58 AM.

2,346 Posts
    Up around these parts they're mad about their Honda Civics and Corolla Twin Cams.

Guitarist in my band drives a Mazda RX-7 that looks like it just came out of a Batman movie.

Me, currently, I tour about in a 0.8 litre Chevrolet Matiz, and I think it's a wonderful machine.

999 Posts
    No offence taken ya big bollix.

500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Up around these parts they're mad about their Honda Civics and Corolla Twin Cams.
    I was never a fan of the Civic, despite their being a good, reliable car. Good, reliable, and boring. Even Type Rs are boring in my book. Twin Cams are actually great cars, RWD always beats FWD and they're modifiable and really not all that bad looking. Only problem is that they're universally driven by muppets that think a big bore exhaust is cool.

Guitarist in my band drives a Mazda RX-7 that looks like it just came out of a Batman movie.
    RX-7's are great, lovely looking and big power from the dinky little rotary (1.3l I believe, although it's a bit apple-and-orangey). I'd love a spin off one to see what they drive and sound like. The successor isn't bad either, although I think I'd prefer a 7.

Me, currently, I tour about in a 0.8 litre Chevrolet Matiz, and I think it's a wonderful machine.
    My chipper lady drives one. It's dinky. I can't really say anything though, the first car I drove (legally) was a 800cc Daihatsu Domino (aka Cuore). And d'ya know what, I loved it. Revvy little 3 cylinder, wouldn't go beyond 100 (could only be achieved downhill, flipping terrifying) but you could leave an XR3i at the lights while he was trying to figure out what was happening.

True story, I had an E Class Merc up my arse one day coming around the Midleton roundabout on the N25 east, so I pulled into the hard shoulder as soon as I could to let him pass, but floored it. His face was a picture as he pulled past, leaning over the steering wheel trying to get his foot harder on the accelerator. He really couldn't figure it out. Course he left me then.

Same type of thing with a 3 Series one day around Waterford, one of these guys that's offended by driving behind something small. He kept passing me and then slowing back down to his usual pace, and which point this dinky little black yoke would go screaming past again, with at least 2 lads hanging out the windows and waving.

Happy days.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    No offence taken ya big bollix.
    Thanks Dougal.

2,346 Posts
    Brilliant story. Something definitely worth trying with some of those idiots touring about the town at night.