Yes you did offer him a deal. I know that for a fact.
We didn't offer him anything. As I said 3 weeks ago he was offered to us but we turned him down. It amazes me how fans from other teams know our finances. Considering how the majority of players we signed all came from non league I highly doubt we're paying too much on wages!!
Yes you did offer him a deal. I know that for a fact.
Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017
Jesus all this fuss about Curran you'd swear he was Messi. He's a run of the mill First Division player good luck to him wherever he goes but I'm really and truly unars*d about it at this point.
And you also know how much we're paying our players??!!! You say you're getting sick of the joke but ye bring it on yourselves by going on the whole time about how ye are offering such and such for so and so but then we come in and throw money at players!! Ye are all listening to Roddy a bit too much over there!! I know that Roddy is spouting this crap about our ability to pay more cos Cousins said it at a pre season game in Dublin. What Roddy didn't know and obviously still doesn't is that Cousins was taking the mick with him and he bought it!! Our budget has been basically the same the past 3 seasons and let me tell you....that its not a lot!! But sure we'll let ye all believe what Roddy tells ye over there.....after all didn't he say Curran signed for us?? Spoofer!!
I always have to laugh when people on the internet can tell us for a fact what other teams are paying players or offering them. Most people who spout such nonsense wouldn't even have a clue what goes on at their own club, never mind the opposition.
The person ye all believed to be Curran when Roddy said a player said for Longford was not Curran. It was Derek O Brien. And @ Charlie i do know what is going on at my own club. Fact is alot of the Athlone squad are not even getting paid. They get expenses. Enda Curran WAS offered a deal with Longford. Athlone then offered him a place in the AIT and the deal should be completed today. I never said Longford were loaded. All i said is they can offer better wages than we can.
There ya go.....massive resources!! Cop on Roddy league of Ireland first division!!! What did we offer?? A 99 with sprinkles on top!! SPOOFER!!
http://www.theloiblog.com/NewsStory.aspx?n=601
Last edited by Town Legend; 20/07/2013 at 2:01 PM.
We obviously don't offer more when he signed for ye!! Athlone are the ones that are loaded!!![]()
ya offered more money. We offered him education in the AIT.
Who told ya that?? Good ol Roddy??!!! You make me laugh thinking you know what finances we have!!!
no it wasnt Roddy actually. I never said i no what exact money ye have but i do know ye have a bigger budget than us.
Well if you know that then I know ye have a bigger budget than us!!Ridiculous!!
We've actually made a slight profit the last two years right? As well as cleared an awful lot of the old debt since dropping down to the 1st division.You don't do that by spending lots of money on the 1st team.
Its been said a million times that the budget hasn't particularly changed much from season to season, we mostly sign young kids on loan from rovers, decent 1st division players or non league players, the only one we have commanding any sort of decent wage is Gillispie, and we aren't even paying that ourselves. So no we don't have any real resources that dwarf Athlones, we just spent the last 3 odd seasons building a squad for long term success. We're not the ones who got a 500 grand donation to clear stadium debt last season, so crying that we apparently have more money is a load of crap, it simply isn't true, and I for one am getting very tired of all the whining going on here from 1/2 people about it, as well as the town lads need to respond to it every time..
So much rabble over nothing, good lord. Bah humbug etc.
Stadium debt was nothing to do the club debt. It was the Athlone Town Stadium committee debt. Not Athlone Town Fc debt
Ye all get in such a heap over me saying it so why would i stop haha Ye abuse roddy saying hes a spoofer etc. The man knows exactly what hes doing. And at the moment its working :P
Well said Acorn!
Please stop. Please.
Won't somebody please think of the coefficient?!?