Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Waterford winding up order

96 Posts
    My recollection is that he had 18 months left on the contract. I suspect thats what gives it its heft rather than a unusually high salary.

Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post
    My recollection is that he had 18 months left on the contract. I suspect thats what gives it its heft rather than a unusually high salary.
    But if they can't afford it now when expenditure at the club is cut to the bone, how were they expecting to pay it then?

538 Posts
    its bad news for us if waterford go.. we lose seven points athlone lose nothin!

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deiseach View Post
    But if they can't afford it now when expenditure at the club is cut to the bone, how were they expecting to pay it then?
    I don't know, but I imagine the burden of paying a part-time salary on a monthly basis was viewed as being sustainable.

1,524 Posts
    Willie John Kiely is owed money by the club too having posted on twitter that he is owed €4000.

"I'd donate only for I'm owed €4000"
    "can ye get one going to pay me #notmessing people running it have let ye down"
    "I hope it works for ye but as fans ye deserve better! Too many lies have been told to all the genuine fans"

WUFC obviously in bad shape- if more people join the winding up petition or indeed launch new ones they could be in even more trouble.

86 Posts
    Same old League of Ireland story.

Don't spend what you can't afford.
    If you get in trouble talk to your creditors, come to some arrangement & stick to it.
    If you try & be too clever this is where you end up.
    Waterford seem to think it was everybody's else's fault that they owed money.

Waterford's way of doing business is old hat.
    You might have got away with it years ago but not now.
    I hope Waterford survive if only for the genuine League of Ireland fans down there.

Case adjourned until 2 O'clock to provide for ongoing negotiations.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

1,081 Posts
    Put back until 2pm as talks are ongoing

Reports that Henderson is looking for a guarantee from the FAI for Waterford's compensation offer.

Waterford fans apparently raised €7,000 over the weekend to add to the offer, fair play to them.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

877 Posts
    After last seasons play off and subsequent threats to withdraw from the league the directors at WU really seemed to adopt an Fcuk the lot of ye stance, and became a bit mavrick in the external dealings/debts that they just didnt want to pay The best of luck to the fans in their efforts but i hope tha board isnt bailed out of this mess by fan only to stay on and continue in their current manner.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    After last seasons play off and subsequent threats to withdraw from the league the directors at WU really seemed to adopt an Fcuk the lot of ye stance, and became a bit mavrick in the external dealings/debts that they just didnt want to pay The best of luck to the fans in their efforts but i hope tha board isnt bailed out of this mess by fan only to stay on and continue in their current manner.
    Spot on. I think the timely intervention by the fans who have come up with nearly €8k in 24 hours may have actually saved us. However as you rightly pointed out, that does not mean that things will remain the same. I have a distinct feeling that the fans will demand change from within.

Fingers crossed it's enough.

62 Posts
    Supposedly both parties have reached an agreement according to the LOI Blog on bookface!

1,524 Posts
    Getting close to the time now. Hard to see anything other than a deal being done. And hard to see that as anything but a temporary reprieve- clearly there are big problems to address at WUFC.

1,524 Posts
    Paul O'Hehir on Twitter:

The @waterfordunited case was first up. Barrister says 'terms being drawn up'...seems like legal teams back into court room shortly
    Stephen Henderson and @waterfordunited fans still in court room. Club reps and legal team have left momentarily

1,524 Posts
    Dan McDonnell:

In High Court where Waterford U have reached agreement with Stephen Henderson and avoided winding up. Fundraising efforts of fans crucial.
    O'Hehir again:

Agreement reached by Stephen Henderson and @waterfordunited, case struck out and club survives. Fans saved the day with extra monies raised

218 Posts
    Great news for Waterford fans, delighted for them. Now to oust the board from their club!

555 Posts
    Congratulations to Waterford United fans in saving this great club.

The hard work starts now.

Great news and a serious relief for us. Serious effort from the fans to raise that money.

Interesting to see what happens now or if anything happens at all.

21. Thanks From:

819 Posts
    Full credit to the fans 7000 in just a few days is massive but I get the feeling this might not be the last of Waterford's troubles considering WJK's tweets over the weekend that he himself is still owed 4k by the club. Time for the fans to take ownership.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

365 Posts
    Pleased to hear this, seems the most sensible of all outcomes. Haven't fully read up on all aspects, but it would appear the board have been slowly running the club and the good name and fans into the ground.

Well done to the fans whop dug deep. We were in dire straits last summer with an owner who just wanted out at any route, yes he made improvements to the place, but all the good was put bad during almost all of last season when he couldnt care less.

Waterford should use this as the first stage of many hurldes to clear to clean the club up from inside out. When locals and fans see proper football people are involved, and the deadwood and old guard have left, you will be surprised at how quickly things will change, not just from attendances, but on fund raising. Need to remove the 'Im not giving a cent to that lot' feelings. A statement that a lot of clubs were effected by before they changed things around.

Good luck to all involved, it can be done..............
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast