Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Epl 2013/14

2,796 Posts
    I couldn't help thinking of the very very late penalty Chelsea got to save a draw at home to WBA in the winter. Tough luck Jose.

I think the full back got lucky with the first part of his tackle but then it looked to me like he was stretching to block a cross rather than make a tackle. Altidore put his leg into his though, rather than the other way around, in order to make sure it looked like a foul.

Anyway, unfortunately football is primarily a soap opera these days so Jose is given the publicity he craves. The FA should seriously put pressure on the EPL and the TV people not to make post-match manager interviews mandatory.

I think what has generally been a very good and generally very sporting season has been marred by high profile nobbishness from some players and managers of late. I'm still livid with Clattenberg for not giving Suarez a second yellow last week. I really do think the authorities and the press should be tougher on these things.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    He's completely shameless but he'll do anything to take the heat off his players and put it entirely on himself.
    I actually think this is a load of codology. Really, it just gives him licence to say whatever crap he wants and sell it as some kind of management strategy because he's taking pressure off the players. I can't understand why so many people believe it.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I actually think this is a load of codology. Really, it just gives him licence to say whatever crap he wants and sell it as some kind of management strategy because he's taking pressure off the players. I can't understand why so many people believe it.
    Mainly because it's true.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Mainly because it's true.
    I just don't think so, the only media attention devoted to him is that which he creates.

2,796 Posts
    Mourinho is a media hoor, pure and simple. It's all about him when they win. Late goals against City and PSG - he made it all about him. He's a pathetic moaner and sore loser when things go against him. He's not alone but he's the worst, especially now Ferguson has gone.

At least the media has been unanimously critical of Chelsea this week. I wish football's authorities were firmer on this nonsense and firmer on people like Suarez and the others who have been caught cheating. It can't be that hard, surely?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I just don't think so, the only media attention devoted to him is that which he creates.
    And everybody's talking about him and largely ignoring the team who just lost 2-1 at home to the bottom side in the league.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    As I said before on this thread, if a team goes in to a game expecting to win and rests players, then they sometimes end up like Chelsea today. They never really looked like winning that game and I think Alan Smith half way through the game predicted a Sunderland win. The winning penalty was dubious ok but I can understand why it was given. Chelsea were lucky to have 11 men on the pitch but all managers ever see are the decisions which go against them - apparently the first penalty awarded against Chelsea all season. The rant of the assistant manager was pathetic and Mourinho's after match conference, bizarre. Talk about damning someone with praise or sarcasm, whichever you prefer. He hinted there was a conspiracy to make sure everything went down to the wire. He may be a great manager but it will never outweigh his human frailties but then I am not a Chelsea supporter, and certainly not after today's soap opera.

Well done John O'Shea and Sunderland.
    Chelsea didn't rest players though, bar Cech and I think he was carrying a knock. They might have been fresher if they did.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 21/04/2014 at 5:27 PM.

1,825 Posts
    And Moyes has gone...
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    And Moyes has gone...
    Expected but i think he should have been given next season minimum but as many have said it's a business now.
    Lets talk about six baby

84 Posts
    Not surprising really, still think he is a good manager but perhaps not suited to the pressure and egos of managing a top European club.

I'd see Van Gaal as the best replacement at present, get him in on a 2-3 year contract. Get the ship steadied and look at other options then. Guardiola, Simone, Klopp, Montella, Martinez etc
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

417 Posts
    Man U fans spelling is really poor today, even for twitter.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Neish View Post
    Not surprising really, still think he is a good manager but perhaps not suited to the pressure and egos of managing a top European club.

I'd see Van Gaal as the best replacement at present, get him in on a 2-3 year contract. Get the ship steadied and look at other options then. Guardiola, Simone, Klopp, Montella, Martinez etc
    Marco Simone? He didn't really set the world alight at Monaco...

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    Marco Simone? He didn't really set the world alight at Monaco...
    Not sure if you're being serious here.

200 Posts
    Oh he means Diego Simeone?

Yes. Marco Simone would almost as strange an appointment as Ryan Giggs.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Giggs in charge for real would have great potential for a Staunton-esque comedy season.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

200 Posts
    Simone was a brilliant player in Italy in the mid/late 90s at Milan, where he was known as Peter Pan, winning loads of domestic trophies and a few European Cups. He flunked it a bit as a manager (at Monaco) but didnt really enjoy all the financing that Ranieri got.

Any truth in the rumor that Giggs's first team talk started with the phrase, "I want us to be equals, I want us to treat each other as brothers"?

1,825 Posts
    Ancelloti for me seems like the most sensible and "United-esque" appt.

Though, stealing Mourinho would be gas craic.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

214 Posts
    Moyes had to go.

I feel a bit sorry for him because he was so out of his depth. The leaks from the press about the reaction from some of the players during the reign was disappointing to read but what you do expect from a load of prima Donna millionaires. I think he lost the dressing room from the very start with the intense pre-season training.

In hindsight maybe he should have tried to clear out some of the bad eggs early on like Ferdinand but United's poor display in the transfer market during the squad meant he had to rely on the squad he inherited.

If he had managed to bring in Baines, Fabrages and the lad from Bilbao who knows how he would have fared?

1,025 Posts
    Result at Anfield yesterday blows it open again.

i thought it was a great performance by Chelsea. Brilliantly set up and they executed it to perfection. Can't remember Liverpool (who had won...11?...in a row) creating even one chance.

21. Thanks From:

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast