Page 28 of 46 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2013/14

Shannons population is well over 12000 even with all the boys gone home, Tralee has a population of 20000 in 2011 so a lot of their boys gone home.
    Tralee has four teams competing in the Kerry league plus another four B teams - i think its a great comparison..
    The likes of Shannon town have players that think they are better than what they are and just dont have the quality to get to the premier never mind stay there.
    Hibs we all see whats going on there - and these so called mercenaries are doing a good job at the momnt and only time will see.... Rant started

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DSMALL1 View Post
    Shannons population is well over 12000 even with all the boys gone home, Tralee has a population of 20000 in 2011 so a lot of their boys gone home.
    Tralee has four teams competing in the Kerry league plus another four B teams - i think its a great comparison..
    The likes of Shannon town have players that think they are better than what they are and just dont have the quality to get to the premier never mind stay there.
    Hibs we all see whats going on there - and these so called mercenaries are doing a good job at the momnt and only time will see.... Rant started
    You want to elaborate on that?
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Dsmall1 your delusional the stats are that in 2011 there was 9673 people in shannon. Half that of tralee. But you recon shannon has grown by 3000 in two years. 😃Tralee is a proper town with streets and loads of businesses. What does shannon have.them kerry clubs you mention have had alot of financial backing something no shannon company can offer.. I agree about players in shannon ( every club ) thinking they are better than they are. but that happens in every team in every league.. as for olympic they have played 3 games and have 7 points only 33 more and they will be promoted. 1st division in clare is an easy option for these lads. .. who wont/ cant commit to higher level of football.

Also dsmall1 tralee have 2 premier divs A and B and have 2 tralee teams in both so not exactly brilliant to have 4 premier teams out of 20

Quote Originally Posted by Lev Yashin View Post
    You want to elaborate on that?
    Some of the players think they are better than what they are, like most clubs some players don't know their limitations - not attacking your club Lev. Or I didn't mean to come across attacking Shannon town.

I was comparing Tralee as another big town to Shannon as I went to college there!! Maybe it is all about the money...

Quote Originally Posted by DSMALL1 View Post
    bit harsh on Shannon town ,,, but probably agree at the moment they don't have enough quality to get promoted but a few new signings may help. as for hibs a bit of a disaster at the moment but personally I think the other two Shannon teams , may end up with the same problems in the not to distant future ,, as for the so called mercenaries at Olympic probally the best footballing panel of players in Shannon at the moment .. but what does the future hold for Olympic >? b team looking like they are going to be scrapped no underage / youth set-up and they really only benefit from players leaving other clubs don't forget at start of season and Wesley webb they were lucky to even field a team

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    In 2011 Shannon had a population of less than 10k people and with alot of foreigners gone home since then its less. You cant compare tralee and shannon. As for shannon olympic doing well fair play to them but as you say its only div 1 in clare and they have only played 3 games. Plus they have alot of mercenaries .. the mercenaries are the real reason football in shannon is doomed...a club should be built on 9 or 10 club men with a few young lads thrown in too not these lads that jump ship everytime they get dropped. Rant over
    second

to be classed as a mercenarie you have to get paid for your service ... ? I have heard Olympic have a special arrangement with a few players about not paying any membership fees agree with you that football in Shannon is going backwards as players seem to have no heart/passion / loyalty to stay at clubs and battle for team /places

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    second

to be classed as a mercenarie you have to get paid for your service ... ? I have heard Olympic have a special arrangement with a few players about not paying any membership fees agree with you that football in Shannon is going backwards as players seem to have no heart/passion / loyalty to stay at clubs and battle for team /places
    Wouldn't believe that about Olympic giving out free membership to players. Not a chance.

as for the Shannon clubs, IMO reckon out of the three clubs now there would be only 4-9 players with the quality to play in limerick premier.
    if one club were to put a decent side together you'd need good coaches first to make it work, a lot of players in Shannon have a bad attitude and I doubt have had any real coaching given to them to improve them as players. maybe in ten years this might work cause the kids/youths now have been coached proper from an early age so the standard should improve in Shannon for the future IMO.

For me, one club is the right way forward with an a/b/c team with good facilities, look at the gaa, why cant there by a football club/environment like that?

The astro league sounds a good idea - that would work if organised right.

Rant Over

Quote Originally Posted by Shuffleruns View Post
    Wouldn't believe that about Olympic giving out free membership to players. Not a chance.

as for the Shannon clubs, IMO reckon out of the three clubs now there would be only 4-9 players with the quality to play in limerick premier.
    if one club were to put a decent side together you'd need good coaches first to make it work, a lot of players in Shannon have a bad attitude and I doubt have had any real coaching given to them to improve them as players. maybe in ten years this might work cause the kids/youths now have been coached proper from an early age so the standard should improve in Shannon for the future IMO.

For me, one club is the right way forward with an a/b/c team with good facilities, look at the gaa, why cant there by a football club/environment like that?

Rant Over
    the gaa is a different story all town / villages usually have a good gaa set up as community usual support them well im sure if any of the Shannon soccer teams had a clubhouse and bar for the last 30 years they would be all doing better now .. on another note when was the last time a gaa senior hurling/football team won a trophy and by all accounts both teams even struggling to get managers so all not to bright down there either

If Olympic are offering selective free membership they are the only club that could afford to do so due to the low overheads they would have compared to the other clubs.

IMO there is enough talent in Shannon to have a Limerick Premier Team the problem is if there is enough interested talent.

It would be great to have a football facility in Shannon to match that of the GAA and having one football base in the Town.

As for the coaching of kids in Ireland, yes most coaches have now attended courses and can put on far better training sessions than they could a few years back but whether that has improved the quality of players and football being played in matches is very much debatable.

I have watched a few schoolboy games in the area and I still see the coaches roaring and shouting at these young kids if they make a mistake and encouraging them to not to take any risks and asking them to punt it forward. The FAI and local leagues dont help with the way they set up their competitions and apply 11 a side from a very young age.

25 Posts
    That's a whole other argument - if you go by the posts on this site over the last few years it's the SFAI (Schoolboys FAI) that run underage football and the local league committee are a bunch of old fogies! North Tipperary are the only ones around here that are playing with 7v7 and 9v9 leagues in schoolboy football.
    Ha?

Rant Over
    Very random numbers out of you haha Any names of these 4-9 players?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7772 View Post
    Very random numbers out of you haha Any names of these 4-9 players?
    Rob Wall, Gary O'Connell, Brian McGorrian(?), Jamie Egan, Gary Leahy(?)

Thats all i can think of, and two are doubtful.

I think you could throw in evan glynn (experienced) and sean burke ( good young talent) from town ..

And from hibs both alex cole and tuts have good potential ..

Steve dolan / bj cantolin / bobby o Connell olympic
    Adrian carew / ken buckely / evan glynn / sean burke town a / jimmy houlihan / alex cole hibs

Steve dolan / bj cantolin / bobby o Connell olympic
    Adrian carew / ken buckely / evan glynn / sean burke town a / jimmy houlihan / alex cole hibs
    Ya sorry would include Evan Glynn and Adrian Carew. No chance for the rest maybe Sean Burke in some years..

Well Brian McGorrian was in with Limerick at one stage so to say he's doubtful to be capable to play Premier I would say is a bit strange but yeah I more or less agree with you, say there are a couple more also

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7772 View Post
    Well Brian McGorrian was in with Limerick at one stage so to say he's doubtful to be capable to play Premier I would say is a bit strange but yeah I more or less agree with you, say there are a couple more also
    Would ? His fitness tho..put him up against any premier midfielder and they'd batter him IMO. Good player tho!

Sure look how hibs did last season in the premier with these players.

second

You think Shannon Olympic would have the funds to let players off membership? Well if you choose to believe in rumours that is your fault pal! Loyalty/Heart/Passion its junior footballl, with some players in this town they dont leave because a club is going down, they leave because they just arent enjoying the football. At this level for a player it is a hobby something you enjoy, Too many dunphy pundits in Shannon (not having a pop at you as it may seem) i just completely disagree with that statement.

Page 28 of 46 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast