Page 27 of 46 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2013/14

Quote Originally Posted by Shuffleruns View Post
    Reckon ye'll get three points out of them games. Might be enough to stay up IMO.
    Ye drew 3 all home to caherconlish

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    Fair play two feet up.
    isn't it awful that 8 lads gave it up..why sign a form then give up after 3 months..
    its about time someone started talks again about 1 club
    I dont think so.
    A town of 15000 people should be well able to maintain two clubs.
    The root cause of the problem needs to be addressed...Keeping kids playing sport rather than letting them drift away.
    Anyway that is a conversation for somewhere else rather than a junior soccer forum.

Good to see some common sense prevailed and most teams are off until the new year
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Reckon ye'll get three points out of them games. Might be enough to stay up IMO.
    Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    Ye drew 3 all home to caherconlish
    Oh yes you're right Second we did and all, my memory is terrible!! But Yeah Shuffleruns i agree i think we will get 3 points from the other 2 to stay up. No team in 1A is unbeatable, far from it!
    Last edited by Hibs7772; 17/12/2013 at 10:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    you have a terrible memory so munchies ? as the had a big win v pike back in late October , yeah they badly need a couple of wins to secure they stay up any word on Shannon town result this morning
    Must be the memory going in my old age but in fairness two months is a bit of a stretch to go without a win, especially seeing as they've played a couple of teams a few divisions bellow them in that time frame too? Hopefully the break over the Christmas will do them the world of good and they come back raring to go and start picking up the points needed would be awful to see a Shannon team go down to 1B from the Premier in two seasons

Quote Originally Posted by Bayern Munchies View Post
    Must be the memory going in my old age but in fairness two months is a bit of a stretch to go without a win, especially seeing as they've played a couple of teams a few divisions bellow them in that time frame too? Hopefully the break over the Christmas will do them the world of good and they come back raring to go and start picking up the points needed would be awful to see a Shannon team go down to 1B from the Premier in two seasons

wouldnt be the first time it happened them recently.. they dropped down to 1 B about 4 seasons ago. seems like a mess out there, pity, great facilities, always a nice place to play.

Town for the drop. It's possible!

Its possible any two from shannon town down could be relegated.

59 Posts
    Town for the drop. It's possible!
    Of course it possible! Hopefully it won't happen and I do believe we have enough about us to be closer to the top rather than the bottom come the end of the season

Quote Originally Posted by Lev Yashin View Post
    Of course it possible! Hopefully it won't happen and I do believe we have enough about us to be closer to the top rather than the bottom come the end of the season
    Lev ..
    agree with you ye should have enough about ye to work your way up the table a lot of football still to be played and plenty of points to be won any sign of any new signings on the way .

" football is a simple game "

Lev ..
    agree with you ye should have enough about ye to work your way up the table a lot of football still to be played and plenty of points to be won any sign of any new signings on the way .
    Town will definitely have enough to stay up and secure a mid table finish or even a top half position but in fairness that is all they can hope for in a league which bar a full strength Kilmallock offers little in any quality football. A proper Junior Team should be able to win this League at a canter.

Lev, Shannon Town has a population of less the 10,000 and obviously cannot produce a decent junior/schoolboy Football team/club because you have three clubs pulling out of each other. The town needs one club so all resources ( financial, facility, committee, player, coach) can be pooled together to provide the youngsters and the interested Shannon Junior players with a proper environment to play the game. This is not just a problem in Shannon, it is all over the country, way too many soccer clubs and so little quality produced because of it.

59 Posts
    Lev ..
    I was working evenings Monday when they trained and was away new years day so I dont know if there was any new bodies. But I do know the numbers where very good both days.

Quote Originally Posted by Beam me up View Post
    Town will definitely have enough to stay up and secure a mid table finish or even a top half position but in fairness that is all they can hope for in a league which bar a full strength Kilmallock offers little in any quality football. A proper Junior Team should be able to win this League at a canter.

Lev, Shannon Town has a population of less the 10,000 and obviously cannot produce a decent junior/schoolboy Football team/club because you have three clubs pulling out of each other. The town needs one club so all resources ( financial, facility, committee, player, coach) can be pooled together to provide the youngsters and the interested Shannon Junior players with a proper environment to play the game. This is not just a problem in Shannon, it is all over the country, way too many soccer clubs and so little quality produced because of it.
    couldn't agree more. well said.

have to agree with the one team in Shannon idea. I think too many want to hold onto their clubs identity, history etc and would rather win local battles (derbies, Wesley webs) that combine the clubs for the better of football in Shannon. In recent years it seems that when the players pooled together (went to one club) there were quite successful, but those days seem long gone, with clubs struggling for mediocrity and happy with that as long as they are better than their rivals. Its a shame really

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Two Feet Up View Post
    have to agree with the one team in Shannon idea. I think too many want to hold onto their clubs identity, history etc and would rather win local battles (derbies, Wesley webs) that combine the clubs for the better of football in Shannon. In recent years it seems that when the players pooled together (went to one club) there were quite successful, but those days seem long gone, with clubs struggling for mediocrity and happy with that as long as they are better than their rivals. Its a shame really
    I do agree with most of what is said...but, Shannon town have two teams with about 15/16 per team...Hibs have one team with about the same if not more..Shannon Olympic have two teams with about 15/16(i assume) signed..and you have Rineanna as well with about the same number.
    That's about 80 players give or take..So if you combine all them into one club you maybe have an A and B team but you not likely to have C and D teams so what will end up happening is players will drift away and no longer play football..which is exactly what we dont want to happen.

There is more to this than lets get one super club and compete....what about the hundreds of schoolboys who will coming through and wont be able to play with a team locally....

I agree that something should be done but it needs to be carefully thought out and not just slapdash thing of bunging all the teams together and hoping that we get one good team out of it.

don't know what clubs have what teams, but surely there is enough leagues for the teams to play in. Presuming there are enough leagues in limerick that would cope with such.

Anyway it will never be a runner in my opinion. For all the money and effort put in by all clubs , there could be a fantastic facility (astro, lights etc) in Shannon for the football players but instead they fund the local GAA club

Quote Originally Posted by Two Feet Up View Post
    don't know what clubs have what teams, but surely there is enough leagues for the teams to play in. Presuming there are enough leagues in limerick that would cope with such.

Anyway it will never be a runner in my opinion. For all the money and effort put in by all clubs , there could be a fantastic facility (astro, lights etc) in Shannon for the football players but instead they fund the local GAA club
    it will never happen to much politics and egos involved now , but do agree with lev over 80 junior players would be to much to absorb into a new club especially when all 80 think they are good enough to be playing A team football easiest solution one team call it shannon town / united / afc etc a new crest and off we go simlple as that ??

" football is a simple game "

it will never happen to much politics and egos involved now , but do agree with lev over 80 junior players would be to much to absorb into a new club especially when all 80 think they are good enough to be playing A team football easiest solution one team call it shannon town / united / afc etc a new crest and off we go simlple as that ??
    are there 80 junior players in Shannon?

if it was ever considered it would need an 'upper' management structure with some people who are not tied to any one existing club to oversee the whole thing. Let them make the hard decisions and go from there.

but as said to even get the relevant people into a room to discuss such would be a big ask considering the ego's and agenda's. Its a pity as the possibility is there and there would be only one winner, football players in Shannon!

Shannon just does not have the players. Shannon Olympic are the only team going well and they are in the 1st division in Clare.
    You compare that with a town the size of Tralee with four teams - and two of them Tralee Dynamos and St Brendans park are competing at the business end of most national competitions. Shannon population around 15000 - Tralee around 20000.

In 2011 Shannon had a population of less than 10k people and with alot of foreigners gone home since then its less. You cant compare tralee and shannon. As for shannon olympic doing well fair play to them but as you say its only div 1 in clare and they have only played 3 games. Plus they have alot of mercenaries .. the mercenaries are the real reason football in shannon is doomed...a club should be built on 9 or 10 club men with a few young lads thrown in too not these lads that jump ship everytime they get dropped. Rant over

80 junior players in shannon....get 60 of them including some of their friends to set up a 7 a side astro league ( most of these players should not be playing organised 11 a side football ) and they can fund a decent astro ++ football facility in shannon that would cater for the youngsters and a decent Junior A & B Team set up. One club could easily accommodate an A & B Team at each age level.

Page 27 of 46 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast