Page 40 of 46 FirstFirst ... 303839404142 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2013/14

Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    I agree that it should be one club and I'm convinced its only shannon town holding it back. .hibs imo would jump at the chance to join forces.. but I think town know they are the bigger club and will push hibs out as much as they can by signing the younger underage players with town and try keep them. I don't think hibs have underage fron 12s to 16s which is a shame and will probably be there downfall in the long run
    second , not so long ago town approached hibs off the record about joining clubs both chairmen at the time met to discuss it hibs chairman no longer on committee / town chairman still involved with town committee , but Shannon town old heads called a committee meeting as they have some rule in club were no decisions can be made our upheld until committee and guaranters of club are aware and vote was taken and move rejected ?? think you wrong on town being the bigger club they have the history and hibs have the facilities , word is town wanted the the new club name to stay as Shannon town and crest and colours to stay the same seems very one-sided not sure on hibs under 12's to 16's I thought they had 14' to 16's team could be wrong .. what is a bigger disgrace neither club has a youth team

" football is a simple game "

I thought town had planning permission in for dressing rooms or did I hear wrong..
    talk of building on the old park hall site for a while now not sure if planning permission got yet

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    talk of building on the old park hall site for a while now not sure if planning permission got yet
    I have no idea where this stands in terms of progress.

As for the joining of the clubs...You are looking at three clubs coming together if you want one club in Shannon. Town Hibs and Olympic...
    I dont see it happening to be honest. And I dont see a need. I have thought long and hard about it and in a town of 14,000 people give or take(and i stand to be corrected on exact numbers) there should be room for three soccer clubs. In relation to Olympic(and I'm not having a go just stating fact) they have no underage set-up at all, So they only have junior teams so aren't taking a large volume of players.
    Apart from that there are enough school boys/girls to play soccer and keep two clubs going i believe. Ennis has a population of 25,000 and how many clubs are in there?

It seems too easy to just say lets throw all the teams together and create one team, that'll solve all the problems. Well it wont. If it was a case that we would do it and then have a cracking club with a great junior team who could compete then sure go for it But for now i dont think its feasible.
    I can only comment on Shannon town and I dont think any of us would be interested in a joining anyone else. we have a very very good underage set up with some highly dedicated people and we have two junior teams who have no problem getting numbers.

All just my opinion.
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Quote Originally Posted by Lev Yashin View Post

As for the joining of the clubs...You are looking at three clubs coming together if you want one club in Shannon. Town Hibs and Olympic...
    I dont see it happening to be honest. And I dont see a need. I have thought long and hard about it and in a town of 14,000 people give or take(and i stand to be corrected on exact numbers) there should be room for three soccer clubs. In relation to Olympic(and I'm not having a go just stating fact) they have no underage set-up at all, So they only have junior teams so aren't taking a large volume of players.
    Apart from that there are enough school boys/girls to play soccer and keep two clubs going i believe. Ennis has a population of 25,000 and how many clubs are in there?

It seems too easy to just say lets throw all the teams together and create one team, that'll solve all the problems. Well it wont. If it was a case that we would do it and then have a cracking club with a great junior team who could compete then sure go for it But for now i dont think its feasible.
    I can only comment on Shannon town and I dont think any of us would be interested in a joining anyone else. we have a very very good underage set up with some highly dedicated people and we have two junior teams who have no problem getting numbers.

All just my opinion.
    lev well said and I think we all forget sometimes about all the highly dedicated people involved with all the Shannon teams . I would disagree on underage set-up but only due to the fact that ye have no youth team and as result players seem to be drifting back and forth to the likes of the bridge and other teams to continue playing youth under 19 football it seems a shame to bring decent players through underage set-up and face possibility of losing them just before they would hopefully be making step up to junior teams .

second , not so long ago town approached hibs off the record about joining clubs both chairmen at the time met to discuss it hibs chairman no longer on committee / town chairman still involved with town committee , but Shannon town old heads called a committee meeting as they have some rule in club were no decisions can be made our upheld until committee and guaranters of club are aware and vote was taken and move rejected ?? think you wrong on town being the bigger club they have the history and hibs have the facilities , word is town wanted the the new club name to stay as Shannon town and crest and colours to stay the same seems very one-sided not sure on hibs under 12's to 16's I thought they had 14' to 16's team could be wrong .. what is a bigger disgrace neither club has a youth team
    If town haven such a rule fair play to them. Only goes to show they are a well run club which does things correctly. Unlike the debacle that was the Newtown/Park amalgamation, where certain individuals pushed through the amalgamation and alienated hard working members of both clubs and therefore losing them.

Lads just to let ye know a few things on the talks of an amalgamation. Yes its true that talks did happen between the 2 clubs. Yes pass members were informed about what was happening as it was only fair to keep them in the loop as they where the ones that kept the club running since 1969. Did they put a block on it? NO. Is the name an issue? Yes. Do the club care where the main Pitch would be? No. Talks stalled for 1 or 2 reasons, nothing major but just never started again,which was a shame IMO. I believe that it should happen. I'm pushing for it to happen & hope it does happen for the sake of schoolboy/girl soccer.

All just my opinion.
    How financially sounds are all clubs. If you look at the money that it takes to run one club, the fund raisers needed etc it makes sence to have one club. A club with the strength of the good football people of Shannon involved running it, and maybe somebody at the top of the tree without an contact with any of the 3 to make sure everything is fair an square.
    if town approached Hibs a while back, obliviously those in the know thought it would be best, yet the members of the club wanted to hang onto their history, why??? are they happy with what is happening? are they happy to see other clubs struggle? are they happy to have one of the better A teams in Shannon? do they 'hate' the people at the others clubs enough to prevent progress?
    for me who has non interest in any particular club in Shannon, I can't see why one club has been turned down?

I agree about the size of Shannon being able to run 3 clubs, but to run 3 good clubs with proper set ups and proper facilities would be difficult. I just hope that those who oppose the decisions to amalgamate now, stay around for the long haul of the clubs in question.

Don't look at the now - look for the future, the future of the footballers of Shannon. Take emotion out of any decision (e.g. team name and colours etc.)

Ask yourselves, what is best for the 10's, 12's (underage players now) for their development, chance to play at the highest level?

All just my opinion.
    Good post but in relation to the town being big enough for 3 teams I disagree 2 maybe but not 3. Imo the big problem with clubs is ex players or senior players not getting involved with underage.. look at senans and wolfe tones all the kids are being trained by ex players or current players. Which I think gives kids a massive boost.. how many schoolboy teams in shannon soccer are being coached by ex or current players. .

not all ex-players have an interest in being involved, but if clubs were run better and tried to get these people involved at an earlier stage , they might keep the player interested as they move from playing. In my opinion that is up to the running of the club and what they do to promote this. Some clubs ask players to be players, fund raisers, supporters, coaches, managers, transport providers......(I know this is not all the case) but after years of a Tuesday/Thursday/Sunday for a players I can see why they may choose not to get involved (in some cases they do when their kids are). The problem in Shannon is that if you are not happy at one club, you can walk down the road to another club, nothing to tie you to that club, where as Tones and Senans don't have that competition. Players jumping clubs tend not to be 'club' men which breeds the lack of ex-players getting involved.

Anyway would love to see it happen but doubt it will. As said above the name is an issue, which to me is crazy. While people associate themselves with a particular club, for the good of football in Shannon this should be an easy hurdle. If its not , then those who block it due to a name change, are not in it for the right reason imo.

Quote Originally Posted by gerardkelly View Post
    Lads just to let ye know a few thing

s on the talks of an amalgamation. Yes its true that talks did happen between the 2 clubs. Yes pass members were informed about what was happening as it was only fair to keep them in the loop as they where the ones that kept the club running since 1969. Did they put a block on it? NO. Is the name an issue? Yes. Do the club care where the main Pitch would be? No. Talks stalled for 1 or 2 reasons, nothing major but just never started again,which was a shame IMO. I believe that it should happen. I'm pushing for it to happen & hope it does happen for the sake of schoolboy/girl soccer.
    Fair play Gerard - Just my opinion seems to be peoples get out of jail card on her, so here's mine. Be honest with your members , lots of hard working people out of local soccer due to unhappiness with amalgamation. I am of the opinion that those who come on here preaching that names and history don't matter are the very same people who have a bag full of ex clubs IMO. Old Git & Two Feet up are very good at giving opinions and apportioning blame but take a look at how the last amalgamation worked out.

Quote Originally Posted by don't panic View Post
    Fair play Gerard - Just my opinion seems to be peoples get out of jail card on her, so here's mine. Be honest with your members , lots of hard working people out of local soccer due to unhappiness with amalgamation. I am of the opinion that those who come on here preaching that names and history don't matter are the very same people who have a bag full of ex clubs IMO. Old Git & Two Feet up are very good at giving opinions and apportioning blame but take a look at how the last amalgamation worked out.
    Pot kettle :-)

I don't apportion blame as I don't know the inner workings of the amalgamations or failed amalgamations I just give my opinion, surely that's allowed here.

I would be interested in peoples opinion on pro's and con's for having one club in Shannon?

If town haven such a rule fair play to them. Only goes to show they are a well run club which does things correctly. Unlike the debacle that was the Newtown/Park amalgamation, where certain individuals pushed through the and alienated hard working members of both clubs and therefore losing them.
    dont panic were you involved with either club when this happened ?? as far as i am aware founder members on both sides were sounded out about
    amalgamation and had no objections so for it being pushed through you way of the mark ..Anyway it is past history why are you so bitter about it now after all the years ?

Maybe half the problem with soccer in this town is to many people with opinions and not enough people contributing. IMO people who are not involved with any of the 3 clubs should either get involved to help improve the standard or keep their opinions to themselves. To many highstool pundits

would these be the same people of Shannon that will be asked to put there hand in their pocket come flag days , surely that money paid is worth an opinion . Just because I am not involved does not mean my opinion is wrong. I still think the one club is the way to go, but if they don't and things continue as they are, I would suggest finding out why people have left clubs and/or are not contributing now.

dont panic , I agree a lot of people were unhappy about amalgamation and clubs lost some good people, but nothing to stop these people joining shannon town / olympic to keep involved in local soccer
    Aslo ask yourself the question where were all the the local people with park / newtown that they were willing to let their clubs go so bad the only options clubs had were to Fold or join together ??

Any prediction's for the game's this weekend..??

Pike B Kilmallock..??
    Hospital 1 Moyross 3
    Mungret 5 Caherconlish 1
    Newpost 2 Shannon Town 0
    Caherdavin1 Knockainey2

Knockainey have a serious test tomorrow night...!! Moyross could finish the weekend top..!!

Quote Originally Posted by KilmallockYouth View Post
    Any prediction's for the game's this weekend..??

Pike B Kilmallock..??
    Hospital 1 Moyross 3
    Mungret 5 Caherconlish 1
    Newpost 2 Shannon Town 0
    Caherdavin1 Knockainey2

Knockainey have a serious test tomorrow night...!! Moyross could finish the weekend top..!!
    Pike B 0 Kilmallock..4
    Hospital 1 Moyross 2
    Mungret 5 Caherconlish 0
    Newpost 2 Shannon Town 2
    Caherdavin1 Knockainey 1

Pike B 0 Kilmallock..4
    Hospital 1 Moyross 2
    Mungret 5 Caherconlish 0
    Newpost 2 Shannon Town 2
    Caherdavin1 Knockainey 1
    Pike B 2 Kilmallock 3
    Hospital 2 Moyross 4
    Mungret 3 Caherconlish 0
    Newpost 1 Shannon Town 2
    Caherdavin 1 Knockainey 0[/QUOTE]
    Last edited by Shuffleruns; 25/04/2014 at 9:48 PM. Reason: typo

Pike B 0 Kilmallock..3
    Hospital 1 Moyross 3
    Mungret 5 Caherconlish 0
    Newpost 1 Shannon Town 3
    Caherdavin 0 Knockainey 2

Handy wins for Mungret and Kilmallock, Moyross to beat hospital who are playing for nothing, Shannon town to keep up there recent good form against a newport side who again are playing for very little and Knockainey to beat caherdavin

Kilmallock won 4 nil we were very poor in the first half

Page 40 of 46 FirstFirst ... 303839404142 ... LastLast