Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: LoI Series 17 & 14- Premier & 1St Div Fixtures.

The only part I'd have sympathy with was being blocked. If loudly telling them to get out of the way doesn't work, you're fully entitled to attempt to grab it. Or just laugh at the funny joke.

218 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Oh my god. Please stay away from all football grounds. I found it funny and it's no where as offensive as some of the stuff over the years around grounds here. As for blocking your view. Why not just take if off them?
    Why should I stay away from all football grounds?? Did i say i was offended by it?? no is the answer to that. Let them have their bit of fun cos they havent had much the last 15 years or more!! To answer your question the Athlone stewards were laughing at the whole thing instead of moving the plonkers on. If any of the Town supporters decided to do the stewards job for them I guarantee you they wouldn't be long getting involved and ejecting a few Town supporters out of the ground.

98 Posts
    How about ye "fans" smashing bottles in the turnstiles? Nothing mentioned about it. If Colly James was with us and he done this ye would of loved to come up with a banner like this. Stop being bitter.

Smashing bottles? My God, the humanity!

98 Posts
    Well the make a complaint about us over a banner, but they smash bottles around people and its fine? Cool

You're both being ultra-precious.

98 Posts
    Sorry were not used to scum attacking people and destroying places like you would be

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Sorry were not used to scum attacking people and destroying places like you would be
    I dunno, I've known a few Longford fans to be fickle.

I remember an absolutely stonking ridiculous article being wrote to local newspapers up here by a Longford reporter about the shocking behaviour of Finn Harps fans in Finn Park towards the Longford fans. Which baffled us, most of the people who were in the ground that night considering it was the reporter who done themselves no favours with their own antics.

Football fans can be ars*holes at times, but it's all a bit of craic.

Sorry, I've been to Athlone. You're not any better than anybody else.

98 Posts
    Our fans Charlie??

I assume Athlone fans don't live on a kibbutz. You can deal with a few lads smashing bottles. I spend a lot of time in Longford and Athlone and you're hardly a nation of angels. I know some Shamrock Rovers fans have a bad reputation but you'd swear butter wouldn't melt elsewhere.

72 Posts
    Our fans Charlie??
    Your fans are not the nicest to be fair, and if ye got into the premier and started getting proper crowds, I think ye would be as bad as some of the Dublin teams.

Also, what is with the Athlone stewards just letting Athlone fans come up to the away support of Longford? It has happened before, and if there was a bad bone in the Longford supporters it wouldn't have been nice.

Thankfully we are angels

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post
    Whilst there has been some measured comments from a few people on this thread re the events at Oriel Park, I am left stunned at the tribalism on display from the majority of Dundalk supporters, who appear to be more concerned with making sure nothing bad is said about their club, its ground or any people associated with it. This is not true of all posters, but certainly many, most of whom now will interpret this post as another unwarranted attack on them, rather than actually stepping back a little and thinking about what happened.

Whilst the exact details are somewhat cloudy, what is clear is that there was a significant problem, which directly or indirectly lead to the serious injury of a fellow football supporter. Finding out why this happened should be everyone's concern, as but for the grace of God go any one of us.

I despise this aspect of football culture - that club allegiances stop many of us from asking the right questions about the conditions we are often forced to endure.
    If on meaning tribalism you mean trying to protect your club from scurrilous remarks then yes.Did a lot of your fans not resign from this forum last year for maybe doing the same thing?

105 Posts

218 Posts
    How about ye "fans" smashing bottles in the turnstiles? Nothing mentioned about it. If Colly James was with us and he done this ye would of loved to come up with a banner like this. Stop being bitter.
    I hope you're not implying that I'm been bitter??! I'm only stating the reasons why Longford might of made a complaint. As I said earlier I had no problem with the banner. Athlone deserved their win Friday night and I think ye will will clinch second spot ahead of Waterford who seem to be on a bit of a role at the moment.

98 Posts
    Aw how cute Ye still think ye are going to win the league

218 Posts
    Aw how cute Ye still think ye are going to win the league

First you think I'm bitter and had a problem with the banner.....which you are wrong as i had no problem with.Then you say that I think we are going to win the league.....again you are wrong!! Where in my post did I say we were going to win the league?? Specsavers for you mate!! haha

98 Posts
    I think it was a bit obvious now wasn't it :P Ah no im only joking anyways but i do believe we will catch ye.

98 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Your fans are not the nicest to be fair, and if ye got into the premier and started getting proper crowds, I think ye would be as bad as some of the Dublin teams.

Also, what is with the Athlone stewards just letting Athlone fans come up to the away support of Longford? It has happened before, and if there was a bad bone in the Longford supporters it wouldn't have been nice.

Thankfully we are angels
    See we didnt realise ye had forgot yer tampons friday and would go crazy over a banner. It was all over Twitter and Facebook and the only people who seemed to think it wasn't alright or funny was Longford fans. The 2 lads who walked the banner through the stand had no bad intentions. If Longford fans tried to start something it would have been yer own fault. Our club or Longford do not really have a hooligan element to them, so please don't make a big deal out of something that is so small.
    Last edited by ATFC-1887; 17/06/2013 at 11:38 AM.

178 Posts
    That James banner is brilliant. Especially love the bit at the bottom 'it matters more when theres money on', the devil is in the detail as they say. Sometimes you gotta take your medicine, keep stum and move on.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

24. Thanks From:

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast