Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: The Rod Squad

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    About 8 of us who had worked hard for years met in the pub to watch it last night. It really hurt watching it. Roddy did his best, just not able to magic a sponsor. Not that it was up to him.
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Yeah and our women's team. Just kills me not having senior football.
    I feel your pain
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

2,360 Posts
    For anyone interested, this is on freeview Setanta Sports after the Ireland match tonight.

144 Posts
    It was a good insight.
    Roddy is a showman and plays to the camera.
    My wife did comment that there was an awful lot of bad language.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

233 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    loved going to mons,soup was first class as were the diehards.rod has his critics but ffs he is great telly.
    True dat. You can't deny he's entertaining.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

98 Posts
    what are you about noel mcgee ? It was said before that hes not signing for us!
    Noel himself said that if he doesnt get his game with us hes not going back to St Peters and is in talks with Longford. As of last week iv been told he has signed.

1,082 Posts
    I'm sure we've been on to him in the past, to stop him scoring against us if nothing else, but I don't see him getting in our team at the moment and he's not going to come to be a sub. We'll see if it happens but I'd be sceptical tbh.

98 Posts
    I said the same. Can't see him getting a game at either us or Longford. Handy player to come off the bench though. But from what i hear its a done deal

516 Posts
    Cousins said in an interview there that we aren't signing anyone else.. We already have 5 odd lads who play in forward positions, no need to sign him.

2,360 Posts
    You should always trust everything Tony Cousins says.

516 Posts
    I still stand by what I said, we have no need for another striker.

109 Posts
    This has gone a bit off topic - there was a clip on Setanta for the 2nd show of the series - looks pretty good!

If Bohs and Athlone meet in a relegation playoff this season I'd say half the Bohs fans will be supporting Roddy!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

555 Posts
    Next Drogheda boss according rumours down there.

Why would Drogheda sack their manager? Even for them, that would be ridiculous.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Cousins said in an interview there that we aren't signing anyone else.. We already have 5 odd lads who play in forward positions, no need to sign him.

There was talk that we want that lad O'Sullivan so ye may need to replace him if that happens.

98 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Next Drogheda boss according rumours down there.
    Won't happen. Roddy has guaranteed he will be here for 2 years at least. I know someone will say bla bla this and that buti believe it. Hes gonna be linked with every job because of who he is. Hes going nowhere.

Bla bla this and that.

Managers rarely last two years.
    Least of all in the LoI.
    And it won't be Roddy bucking that trend at Athlone.
    Last edited by dong; 16/06/2013 at 10:13 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Could be in worse shape. Any idea what kind of effort it would take to re-launch the senior men's team? There's presumably no legacy debt or anything.
    There are some debts. Including payment for loan for Astro Pitch. As said elsewhere, with 2 new astro pitches in the locality the revenue on ours is much reduced while the payments still have to be made.

It would take a momentous change of attitude in the town for the team to be brought back and that ain't gonna happen for now.

I also believe Roddy will stay at Athlone. He will want to get them promoted. Then his next mission will be to get them to stay up. That was his plan with us until things went wrong. I believe Roddy feels he has something to prove and that will be an advantage for Athlone as they are now the vehicle for him to prove himself with.

Is this freeview tonight?

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Is this freeview tonight?
    Yep, 10pm.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast