Thread: Who Covers for Michael Devine?

No sub goalkeeper.........?

It has been pointed out / observed in a number of places recently that we have not had a sub keeper on the bench for several of our games.

It became a real talking point on Friday night, around me, when Devine went down with that head injury in the second half.

What would we have done........?

The thought of one of the outfield players donning the gloves is worrying. This is really the only questionable tactic of Dolan's so far this season ( assuming it is not forced upon him by injury etc ).

It is crazy in this day and age to be walking such a tight rope in a game and could back fire big time on the team.

Anyone got inside info on this?
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

I agree that this is too big a risk to take.
    Partly because of the risk of injury, but it is even more likely that a keeper will be sent off at least once in a season.

As for inside source, it doesn't tell you anything new, but a squad member has said that it is Dolan's policy.

reckon somebody like dan murray must be a good keeper

no point in having a sub then

And this is based on?????
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

only guessing biy relax

@ndy
    The women down in Riordan's tell me dan is good with his hands...

Badweather Fan
    Worth the risk i'd say.
    I WOULDN'T expect mickey to be sent off this season.
    Gives Dolan more options.

Originally posted by Badweather Fan
    Worth the risk i'd say.
    I WOULDN'T expect mickey to be sent off this season.
    Gives Dolan more options.
    It's still abig risk, especially if the pitches get really hard..
    More worrying is that Dolan seems very slow to use the subs he has.
    Bringing on guys with 2 or 3 minutes to go seems totally pointless to me.
    What can they realistically do?

In all the time he was at Pats, the only time I ever remember Dolan listing a keeper among the subs was for Cup / League Cup games where the competition rules require it. On that basis, i'd say it is a policy of his.
    Revenge for 2002

I think it's a grand idea. Goalkeeping isn't that hard. Surely someone who has played football all their lives will have some idea how to do it. Also, a lot of the City players would have played GAA at some stage so will be alright at catching.

Only worry I would have would be a cup match with devine sent off and it going to penalties but if it's in the rules that keepers are necessary then I really can't see a problem
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Jesus mate, have you any idea about goalkeeping. Penalties are probably the only thing I'd accept an outfield player in goal as that could be down to luck. Everything else is a specific skill. It's like saying defending is the same as attacking.

And yeah its Dolan's policy but when he was manager of us not once did an outfielder have to go in goal. Didn't stop me worrying about it though

Originally posted by shedite
    Goalkeeping isn't that hard.
    Are you serious???

No really, tell me you're joking???

It's the most specialised position on the field shedite and if it happens that ye get caught out there'll probably be ructions.

@ndy
    If he doesn't have a back up...then it' s a foolish policy. I would assume that one of the players is there as a back up, still, it seems a little unprofessional...

Ali

Lightbulb

It is unprofessional and while it is unlikely that Devine is going to get sent off there is also the possibility that he might get injured [touch wood] He has gotten injured the last few matches and while none of them seem very serious one could be whats gonna happen then?

Originally posted by Ali
    It is unprofessional and while it is unlikely that Devine is going to get sent off there is also the possibility that he might get injured [touch wood] He has gotten injured the last few matches and while none of them seem very serious one could be whats gonna happen then?
    Yeah, it looked dodgy for awhile there last Friday night.
    It's a bad idea.

3,488 Posts
    Originally posted by Ali
    while it is unlikely that Devine is going to get sent off
    There's no way that you can say it's unlikely - all it'd take is one mis-timed dive or a bad refereeing decision surely. Seems like far too much of a risk. We used to do it as well - used to be fairly worried about it all the time.

Who Covers for Michael Devine?

Looking at the subs bench, when was the last time it included Mark McNulty? So, if Devine gets injured diring a match, who replaces him?
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

oh, fair play to you, boy. 80-odd games later

Quote Originally Posted by Stadler
    oh, fair play to you, boy. 80-odd games later
    So, Mr. expert, do you have an answer? If you have been that observant, maybe you can offer an informed reply rather than a smart comment???
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    So, Mr. expert, do you have an answer?
    yes i do as a matter of fact, but i'm not telling you