Thread: Wexford home - good record

819 Posts

Wexford home - good record

We face Wexford Youths at home on Saturday night and you'd have to be confident of all 3 points given our head to head record against them. They havent beaten us since the 22nd october 2010 in the league and our performance down in wexford with 10 men this season was nothing short of heroic.

We will be without Willo and Gillespie through suspension (although Keith maybe glad he doesnt have to face Youths again after a few red cards against them )

Lee and Hope are still out and no word yet on Haverty and Nkolo thats 6 players who would normally be in with a shout of starting out, starting to rack up....Who knows the break maybe to our advantage this year especially if we buy well. I'm very confident right now.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

1,081 Posts
    Nothing like tempting fate! I see McDonagh got four matches. At least Treacy is back. He looked very good in his first couple of games.

185 Posts
    Shaw and Salmon looked to have gone off injured on Tuesday evening too. Squad being seriously stretched if they're both out on Saturday too. If they are both out, could be looking at something like

Bennion
    O'Neill Tracey McCarthy Tyrell
    O'Hanlon Doyle Quinn Purdy
    O'Sullivan Isichei

With Hunt and Brilly on the bench...

EDIT: 5 of that 11 I have above played 120 minutes on Tuesday as well. A win on Saturday would be a massive result all things considered.
    Last edited by De Town; 06/06/2013 at 12:27 PM.

47 Posts
    First game of the season so I hope we get a result!
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

819 Posts
    I see in the Section O notes everyone is looking for Etanda haha well it's ok he's actually injured and will be out for another 2 weeks but hes hoping to be back for Athlone so don't worry we will sing our song again this season

Salmo's injury did'nt look serious hel be fine I'd say and will prob play RB with O'Neill alongside Doyle....Still confident

2,346 Posts
    Wexford were very good against us in both games. A very physical side. Not the most technically gifted bunch, but do not underestimate them.

There will be no pretty football, but a very tight defensive game all over. A smart betting man would go for a 1-1 draw considering your players will be tired after and extra game, and Wexford are the fittest team I've probably ever seen in my time supporting Harps.

819 Posts
    We never expect a good game against Wexford Nige, always a physical game but as I said our record is hugely impressive in recent years and our lads are a fit bunch too (maybe behind yourselves and wexford) but quality wise the likes of Salmon, Quinn should still have it in them despite the busy week plus Sully is fresh as a daisy.

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    First game of the season so I hope we get a result!
    Good to have you back Ronnie!

Are you bringing your pole flag with you?Would look well with the new ones..
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

47 Posts
    Thanks!

I am afraid I wont be as I have it left back in Roscommon.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

1,081 Posts
    That'll do nicely. Great first half, didn't do a lot second half but the job was done at that stage. Davy is a machine. Two great finishes. Moving on up!

Hopefully.

819 Posts
    Made it more difficult 4 ourselves than we had to but 3 top class goals, Sully a pure joy to watch his turn of pace and close control is worth the admission alone. I here we have a big game next week haha cant wait, CMON DE TOWN

537 Posts
    due to a change in work circumstance ie unemployed again I will be at Athlone game! Sully has scored 17 goals in 15 games.. easily the most consistent ever ltfc striker ever! see paul buttner on twitter was singin his praises and will be votin him as player of the mth! awful pity you couldnt hack into the votin and get sully as loi plyr of the mth..
    on tonight tyrlos goal was top notch.. yet again sully lobbed youths goalie from outside the box for life of me couldnt think of what game in CCS that he scored in identical position!third goal unspectacular but job was done! nice outcome of events in athlone! thanks roddy! u r still a ****** though!

1,081 Posts
    The new McCarthy song was being aired loud and clear. The man himself seems to enjoy it judging from Twitter. What are the exact words of it?

72 Posts
    He's big,he's bad,he's McCarthy,
    Born and raised on the Lee,
    He's Longford now beware,
    Come and have a go if you dare!!

As per facebook. What's the tune?

1,081 Posts
    Not sure exactly where it's come out of but Man United fans have apparently started singing something along the same lines for De Gea (Spanish Dave!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRDQcCeKfAE&sns=em

819 Posts
    Love the tune!

105 Posts
    The original tune is bad bad Leroy brown, dunno who sang it.. United sang a version about we'd brown
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=uXmOl9U-4T4

As regards the game, again that man o'sullivan just proves week in week out what a find he has been. Phenomenal. Great having treacy back, he really is a class act. Thought we were very lax in the second half, only for bennion to make two vital saves, that said they should have been reduced to ten with o'hanlon clear through. Delighted with the result and sets us up nicely for next week. Fair play to the Wexford fans who travelled and met us in foxs, they were full of compliments for our bunting too!!

Just to point out, the McCarthy song wasn't the only song making it's debut the other night..

To the tune of One Road by the Wolfe Tones

“We’re Section O, We’re Section O,
    We’ve been on the road to everywhere,
    We’ll sing our songs here, We’ll drink our beer here,
    But we’re together now who cares,
    Finn Harps, Athlone, Scumbags all,
    Longford Town will ****ing beat them all,
    We’re on the one road, singing about,
    Singing about De Town”
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

24. Thanks From:

218 Posts
    The only thing is we haven't beaten Harps yet!!

137 Posts
    Really? Why not? It's easy!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887