Thread: El Classico de Midlands

205 Posts
    Poor performance from us there. Decent defending, but offered nothing further up. Nkololo was particularly bad. Quinn wasn't a whole pile better. Although Athlone offered nothing at all, we were lucky.
    Sporting F*ck All!

1,104 Posts
    Too much hoofing but we were the better side. O'Sullivan was our best bet going forward, always tried to use the ball well even if he couldn't get in behind himself. Defence was solid. It's always brilliant to win against them. Decent enough crowd too.
    Last edited by Longfordian; 20/04/2013 at 10:10 PM.

205 Posts
    That image hurts my eyes.
    Sporting F*ck All!

220 Posts
    Have to say Section O's song for Roddy was funny, but only remember a few lines. Anyone from Section O out there put the lyrics up for me please as I can't get the tune out of my head!!

44 Posts
    o roddy is a w@nker
    he wears a w@nkers hat
    He tried to come to longford
    but we werent having that
    he went to mon united and ran them to the ground
    And by the end of this year hell have fu*ked up athlone town
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    That image hurts my eyes.
    4.30am, off his rocker at the time I'd imagine!

In hindsight we deserved to win it but we did make it hard on ourselves. Athlone goalie was great for them he made some miraculous saves on a few occasions. Fair play to Quinner just before we scored first he turned to section o waving his hands encouraging us to be more vocal in our support which worked! what he did reminds me of the great Vinny Perth years ago! Tomo Crawley was also very good at that sort of thing too..

Sullies goal I thought looked offside to me and Havos goal was from an unenforced Athlone error. Last night imo was the best ever atmosphere at a EL CLASSICO ever in ten years goin to games home and away! It beat the 04 game in the FAI Cup when there was a bigger crowd.
    I thought the atmosphere from both sets of fans was superb. Athlone fans were well behaved. It was the best atmosphere in Section O imo since the Derry City game in 07. I also wish to complement Cabs and Paddy on their super work in getting the increase in numbers in Section O and coming up with a few new dittys that are popular in the charts on our humblest terraces! The hard work in both home and away games with our vocal support is increasing with every game and I would like to congratulate the lads on their hard work! The players are noticing this as well. But also well done to Section O in general for getting behind the team in good times and in bad as it does work eg Cobh. keep up the good work! I am a bit emotional today and slightly hungover hence the lengthy post which is unusual for me!

861 Posts
    Poor game but what a way to beat your rivals. Athlone were the better team but didn't force Bennion into any top class whereas Skinner had to make 2 or 3 big ones.

Mark Salmon got my vote for motm and ET gave it to him too he was superb really grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and lifted the crowd a true captains performance... ..Everyone who has said Gillespie is holding him back was proven right last night. No coincidence he also scored 2 versus kevins when he was the main man in midfield.

Bennion is very steady in the air although I would like to se him distribute the ball a lot quicker.

Back 4 were solid and Willie tyrell was superb.

David O'Neill did well despite recent criticism I think with games he'll grow. Nkolo was awful and will be dropped for Purdy next time out while Quinn had a really mixed night more bad than good.

Really impressed with Gavin Doyles contributions from the bench.this season he keeps the ball very very well and perhaps he could take a starting central midfield role in future.

Shaw , Sully and Josh were brilliant also.

Agree with Marty its the best atmaophere I've ever seen at a clasico and everyone is praising how well section O looks wth the banners and flags. Everyone around the club including the players is saying how good the support has been both sides of the ground.d this season and hopefully we can keep that going for next week and beyond.

1,104 Posts
    I wouldn't have said Athlone were the better side. It was close but I thought we were slightly the better side. Particularly second half. Athlone are definitely an improved side though.

205 Posts
    Sullivan's goal was definitely onside, he timed his run perfectly.

And Athlone weren't the better team for two minutes.
    Sporting F*ck All!

No way were Athlone the better side. It was even enough, but we were enough on top I would've been pretty disappointed with a draw when it looked like it was heading that way. Nothing wrong with O'Sullivans goal either.

I thought Nkololo was alright, particularly first half. A lot of the time he didn't have too many options but run at the defence, and I personally think it's great to see a player willing to do so. Not saying I wouldn't mix it up between him and Purdy, but pretty harsh to say he was rubbish. TC has taken a fair bit of stick, particularly last season, but he's pulled out a real gem in O'Sullivan.

Great performance from section O - really great to see and hopefully it continues. Brilliant to see. (One (very minor) criticism - don't put the flag between Section O and N next time, please! Kinda seperated those of us in semi retirement on the periphery).

861 Posts
    Athlone got it down and actually played a bit of football we are just very lucky that most sides we're playing are very inexperienced and that we have the great squad we do have, if we dont win the league itl be a failure IMO. The standard of the league is just so so poor.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

1,104 Posts
    It's the First Division, of course most of the squads are going to be inexperienced and/or poor. That's why they're cheap. I don't think the standard overall is any worse than most other years. The year with Derry, Cork and Shels all in it would be an exceptional year. Not sure it's luck that we probably have a stronger squad than the rest of them either. TC has worked hard over the past few seasons to get hard to get that squad together on a tight enough budget.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Athlone got it down and actually played a bit of football we are just very lucky that most sides we're playing are very inexperienced and that we have the great squad we do have, if we dont win the league itl be a failure IMO. The standard of the league is just so so poor.
    At least we haven't lost the negativity this season. That's a bit of continuity at least.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Not sure it's luck that we probably have a stronger squad than the rest of them either. TC has worked hard over the past few seasons to get hard to get that squad together on a tight enough budget.
    Just coming back to this, as outspoken annoyed me. Whatever happens over the season, you have to credit the manager if he's got us a stronger squad than other teams. Unless TC has already written off - if we don't go up his fault, if we do he's lucky? Total BS.
    Last edited by Macy; 22/04/2013 at 2:53 PM. Reason: add further comments

21. Thanks From:

thats a fair point macy about the elder statesmen of section o being separated from the rest. The flag can easily go on the other side of the lads. We want everyone together!

A lot of people commented that our performance wasn't all that great but I disagree. For anyone who's been at most of our games this season we havn't been playing great in general! Thought the performance against Athlone was decent enough, there was a few times during the game were it was all attack from us with Athlone not getting a look in, if it wasn't for some great saves from their keeper we would have been ahead earlier. As has been said I thought our defence was very solid, thought Bennion played well, there was a number of times where he did very well to hold onto the ball from crosses! Thought Shaw looked very sharp up front and theres nothing I can say about O'Sullivan that hasnt already been said, theres such a buzz around the ground every time he gets the ball!

As Marty said it was the best atmosphere in Section O since the Derry game in 07, thats always a game I compare atmosphere to as well!Hopefully we continue to get big crowds over there!The new flags are on the way from Poland at the moment so hopefully we'll have them for next week!

p.s Macy in terms of the flag on Section N, that was actually put their on purpose to stop people from spreading out! We went out early with the flags and tried to put them around Section O to box everyone in because at the Waterford game everyone kind of just stood along the wall away from each other and the atmosphere was desperate!I understand what you mean though, there was a bigger crowd out there on Saturday then we expected to it was a bit of a tight squeeze in and around Section O..
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

24. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    p.s Macy in terms of the flag on Section N, that was actually put their on purpose to stop people from spreading out! We went out early with the flags and tried to put them around Section O to box everyone in because at the Waterford game everyone kind of just stood along the wall away from each other and the atmosphere was desperate!I understand what you mean though, there was a bigger crowd out there on Saturday then we expected to it was a bit of a tight squeeze in and around Section O..
    Fair enough - and it did work from that point of view. Just a row or two down and we'd have been able to mingle in from that side is all. Wasn't sure whether to raise it even, as I don't want to take away from a great performance by ye.

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    At least we haven't lost the negativity this season. That's a bit of continuity at least.

Just coming back to this, as outspoken annoyed me. Whatever happens over the season, you have to credit the manager if he's got us a stronger squad than other teams. Unless TC has already written off - if we don't go up his fault, if we do he's lucky? Total BS.
    Of course TC deserves credit for the squad hes put together, in fact I would argue that's his strongest point as a manager he builds a very good squad and even better he does it on a tight budget but you cant say his football is the most attractive in the world, as long as we go up I couldnt give a sh1te about style of play I just think if we dont get it down more often and make the pitch as big as trouble then better footballing sides will beat us. Mervue would have done had their strikers been on form and had Athlone had a few more wise heads we mighnt have won wither, thats all I'm trying to get across.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.