Beecher Networks - Web Development, Hosting & Domains

Thread: Merged Leagues

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

Merged Leagues

In 1966,Celtic won a European Cup with a squad of mostly academy players,now a days they need a Greek-man who looks like Jesus to get past Barcelona.

Smaller countries are struggling to keep up with the money and fancy imports in other nations.So I think the only way forward for small countries (like us) is to merge leagues with other small nations in order to increase the standard and financial standing of their leagues.

This would be fairly straight forward for the Celtic nations IMO.The four Welsh teams in the English system,the finalists of the Setanta Cup and six SPL teams would make a fine league.The bottom two get relegated and are replaced by play off winners.The old firm will have some competition and the two big Welsh teams will have an easier route to European football.
    oh boy I'm not good at football forums

Banned. Children Banned. Grandchildren Banned. 3 Months. Charlie Darwin's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    3,368 Posts
    Would a merged league increase financial standing?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    2,346 Posts
    Be an absolutely awful idea. Not to mention it would completely kill any hope of a decent league here.
    https://kesslereffect.bandcamp.com/album/kepler - New music. It's not that bad.

4. Thanks From:

International Prospect osarusan's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GUFCghost View Post
    This would be fairly straight forward for the Celtic nations IMO.The four Welsh teams in the English system
    Swansea will be thrilled to hear they get a chance to play in stadia like Windsor Park and even the fabled Turner's Cross, instead of sh!tholes like the Emirates and Wembley.