2,796 Posts

Barry Davies Retires from BBC

Fair play to Barry Davies.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/mai...4/ixfooty.html

I’ve always thought he’s streets ahead of that idiot Motson and all the other partisan English idiots behind the microphone. Motson has done more to perpetuate the myth that England has been a world footballing power over the years than anyone. I reckon he has only a very superficial understanding of the game, at best.

Davies is also about the only British commentator who doesn’t persist in thinking the only time Ireland ever does well is because it’s down to our guts & spirit.

He’s been consistent in his admiration for our team, our players and our supporters.

One remark before the Spain match in Suwon was especially complimentary about our fans, and not in the patronising way you’d usually associate with British commentators.

I think he's been great and I wish him all the best.

Loved Barry Davies. Easily my favourite commentator.

If anybody ever saw the BBC2 sketch show Big Train when they had the "World Staring Championship" on it, you'll recognise the man as a comedy genius too...

i was a massive fan of barry davies thought he was brilliant one piece of commentry really ssticks in my mind from the 91 fa cup semi final and i was only a young fella then!! 3 mins in and he comes out with "Is Gascoigne gonna have a crack...he is you know................. oh i say" Brilliant!!

In truth won't be sorry to see the back of him, his constant 'voice of moral authority' attitude grated badly with me. As for his attitude towards ingerland didn't he manage to get a 1966 comment in, in the opening 20 seconds of the 1994 World cup final, a world cup which of course ingerland hadn't even qualified for.
    Worse than Motson who is normally just mildly irritating not in yoour face annoying as Davis is.

Surely one for 'general football' anyway
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Always had a soft spot for him, shame, that Motson is so overrated, idiot.

What Dav said- behind the overgrown kid, there's a serial shagging drunk driver

Though I think he has the edge over Bazza in one way- knows the laws of the game better.

Anyway, youse be grateful ye don't like cricket. It has the worst commentators going, if you hear 'Bumble' Lloyd or tubby Kiwi Ian Smith, get away from the box pronto
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...