Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Series 4 Sat/Sunday

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Seriously, do you have any idea what the budget is? From what I can gather, Sligo's turnover is roughly €1.2 million a year, presumably a little more next year with added prize money and higher gates. Rovers' is more but rent would eat up a lot of the difference.
    Turnover for 2012 was €1.65 with a profit of about €68k.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I think it will take well into April for the big changes Rovers made to fully blend in, Sligo on the other hand kept most of their squad and it wasnt going to take them long to get going. For me Twigg is a huge loss for Rovers , hard to understand why he was let go to a club like Portadown. Quigley is decent, but he is a different player, does different things, but was there anyone better than Twigg for 20+ goals a season?

After 4 games you simply cannot say Rovers are out of it, nor can you say Sligo will win it at a canter, but having seen both, I personally think Sligo are a stronger and better balanced side. Early days mind.

Twig wasn't "Let Go" to Portadon , he turned down a new contract and moved north to be closer to his wife and kids, who live in Lisburn.
    It's a near impossability to replace what he did for Rovers, best striker there's been at the Hoops since Bucko's heyday.

101 Posts
    Any club that is a limited company and you would assume most are, are required to publish accounts and make an annual return to the CRO. You can pay a small fee to view any companies returns.

http://www.sligorovers.com/news/13/mar/club-statement

The above was issued in relation to the window
    smashing,

Anyone fancy joining us in a title race? Shams don't seem too keen.
    I know you are only taking the p**s but that type of talk has a habit of coming back to bite you in the ass. No harm in being positive but there is a long long long road ahead.

Yep - if the wheels come off you risk looking as stupid as Gary McCabe did last year after telling a paper "We're not worried about Sligo."

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rover'n'out View Post
    I know you are only taking the p**s but that type of talk has a habit of coming back to bite you in the ass. No harm in being positive but there is a long long long road ahead.
    Still far too early to be breaking out the bubbly but poor starts did cost Sligo in recent years. Last years good start was a novelty based on previous years and well, we know how that worked out.......

205 Posts
    I think it will take well into April for the big changes Rovers made to fully blend in, Sligo on the other hand kept most of their squad and it wasnt going to take them long to get going. For me Twigg is a huge loss for Rovers , hard to understand why he was let go to a club like Portadown. Quigley is decent, but he is a different player, does different things, but was there anyone better than Twigg for 20+ goals a season?

After 4 games you simply cannot say Rovers are out of it, nor can you say Sligo will win it at a canter, but having seen both, I personally think Sligo are a stronger and better balanced side. Early days mind.
    The money for players is a million times better than what they get down here. I'm sure Twigg was paid accordingly.
    Sporting F*ck All!

305 Posts
    RTE team of the week;GK = Barry Murphy Burdon surely or even Sava?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish...m-of-the-week/

I hope all Limerick fans shouting for a penalty Saturday night saw MNS tonight. Ref was right.

Can't agree with you. He put his hand on Galbraith running at a good pace and made a forward motion (although slight) which threw Danny off balance not allowing him get the cross in. Penalty in my eyes. Stupidity out of the Sligo player but it paid off this time for him.

To be honest, if it happened out in the middle of the pitch there is no way it would be ever deemed a foul.
    Having said that I have seen similar given but it would have been ridiculously soft.
    Worth a shout obviously.

So he pushed him (at full pace) but not hard enough....in fairness lads, that's nonsense out of KennyC.
    The couple MNSs I've seen this year the panel tend to back up the refs on any contentious decision....is that typical? I didn't pay much attention to their deliberations last year while we were in the first.

nailed on peno and KennyC and richardson are as weak as Rob Rodgers in their ****e talk. Nicely worded by Taylor at the end

415 Posts
    Definite penalty

305 Posts
    Neutrals point of view-defo pen.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Eh. Little, little shove. Think he made the most of it. Under the strictest interpretation of the rules its a penalty I suppose, but not surprised to see the ref wave it away.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    The money for players is a million times better than what they get down here. I'm sure Twigg was paid accordingly.
    I don't think that is right one bit. Maybe there were a few years in the early to mid 90's when IL paid more but def not now. Crowds are very poor for starters and I heard Portadown had to get a sponsor in to pay for Twigg's wages. Not even sure he is on much more with them.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

125 Posts
    true but twigg also is slogginhg out over €100 a week on fuel to get too and from training. cost for me on a diesel yoke to santry back to dundalk is roughly 80 a week. add in tolls and all that its easily a hundred. could cost him more with two tolls and a further distance too.
    also it would take him 2hrs a trip.

i'd take a pay cut for that and the time back
    Long Live King Kenny

205 Posts
    I don't think that is right one bit. Maybe there were a few years in the early to mid 90's when IL paid more but def not now. Crowds are very poor for starters and I heard Portadown had to get a sponsor in to pay for Twigg's wages. Not even sure he is on much more with them.
    I'm telling ya! Bigger money up there!
    Sporting F*ck All!

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    true but twigg also is slogginhg out over €100 a week on fuel to get too and from training. cost for me on a diesel yoke to santry back to dundalk is roughly 80 a week. add in tolls and all that its easily a hundred. could cost him more with two tolls and a further distance too.
    also it would take him 2hrs a trip.

i'd take a pay cut for that and the time back
    I highly doubt he is paying that himself. Even we pay expenses.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast