Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Series 4 Sat/Sunday

2,446 Posts
    In all fairness to Shamrock Rovers, the pitch was indeed absolutely horrid. I had a friend who doesn't really watch LOI football ask me are all the pitches that bad in the league. He couldn't believe it.

Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Was the window broken at Caltragh?
    by pure concidence the longford town fc supporters bus passed past the scene where the incident took place. It was on the last roundabout out the Longford road there was plenty of glass on the lefthand side of the dual carraigeway on the hard shoulder. The little scuts must have come out of the housin estate to the left of it. Is that Caltragh? We went past at 11pm and heard from one of the lads on the bus what had happened when we were between ballybofey and sligo. Not a nice feelin for the limerick fans hope noone got injured..

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    What will happen to Drogheda when they stop getting penalties?
    Lol not much given we miss most of them lol

Is the game in oriel on Thursday or Friday ?

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Lol not much given we miss most of them lol

Is the game in oriel on Thursday or Friday ?
    Thursday. Should be a good one.

Hope you bring a good crowd and we get a derby atmosphere.

420 Posts
    by pure concidence the longford town fc supporters bus passed past the scene where the incident took place. It was on the last roundabout out the Longford road there was plenty of glass on the lefthand side of the dual carraigeway on the hard shoulder. The little scuts must have come out of the housin estate to the left of it. Is that Caltragh? We went past at 11pm and heard from one of the lads on the bus what had happened when we were between ballybofey and sligo. Not a nice feelin for the limerick fans hope noone got injured..

Actually happened a bit further back the road then that we just didnt stop til we got up the road a bit. All the glass was from when the windows just fell out and the bus driver then had to bust the rest of the glass out.

The pictures up around make are a bit deceiving that was after the windows had fallen out when it first happened there was one hole where the rock went in and the windows the other side of the bus were cracked but not broken. In fact the pictures i seen on Twitter and Facebook are not even of the window that the rock came through it came in the opposite side of that picture broke the window there and then smashed the window that is pictured with out going through it. That window then fell out and that is what is pictured.

Missed a mans head by a couple of inches and hit another in the chest after it bounced off the inside of the other window one lad has a tiny cut on his finger from flying glass. Was a fairly big rock that could have done considerable harm had it actually hit someone properly but there were no injuries worth talking about thankfully. Whoever drives that Taxi with the Sligo crest on the front too came up to see if everyone was ok and if he could help which was good of him.

What will happen to Drogheda when they stop getting penalties?
    Finished 2-1 to Drogheda.

A good win for them, coming from one down and after missing a penalty.

Sets up the Louth Derby nicely on Holy Thursday.
    Thursday. Should be a good one.

Hope you bring a good crowd and we get a derby atmosphere.
    Yeah hopefully we bring a crowd - ill be there with father and brothers - looking toward to it

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I think it will take well into April for the big changes Rovers made to fully blend in
    That's it for me, when a new manager comes in I think it is important to make sure you aren't conceding too many goals while you sort the team out. Rovers haven't let in any yet in the league and with a penalty miss in Oriel park and sending off in Dalymount and a MOTM performance from the Shels keeper in Tolka that has left them with 6 points rather than 12.

Sligo looking very good so far and front what I have heard about Elding he is a class player, if Shams don't get their act together by mid April tho they could be almost out of the title race by the time the break comes around

Our season hasn't really started yet with the 2 postponed games this week
    Here on a technicality.

415 Posts
    Ah there's a long way to go yet. See how everyone is doing after the first series of games. Looking at the fixtures at the start of the season i would have said our 4 hardest games of the first series were the last 4.

But a great start from us sure. With Peers, Ndo, Ventre and North still to come back in there'll be good competition for places.

Lads, last season Rovers went the whole month of March without losing. If that's not proof that there's an awful long way to go, I don't know what will.

Congratulations to Sligo rovers on winning the premier division...
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

433 Posts
    Sligo will walk this league.

Keep an eye on the finances tho!!
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

246 Posts
    Anyone fancy joining us in a title race? Shams don't seem too keen.
    Can we get back to you on that offer ?
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Sligo will walk this league.

Keep an eye on the finances tho!!
    Finances will be grand - if you follow posts by our fans here you'd be aware that our players are motivated solely by love for Sligo and play for tea and compliments.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Finances will be grand - if you follow posts by our fans here you'd be aware that our players are motivated solely by love for Sligo and play for tea and compliments.
    Sports show on Dundalk FM was quoting a Sligo journalist claiming that your weekly budget was €23.5k.

Must be mistaken?

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    That's it for me, when a new manager comes in I think it is important to make sure you aren't conceding too many goals while you sort the team out. Rovers haven't let in any yet in the league and with a penalty miss in Oriel park and sending off in Dalymount and a MOTM performance from the Shels keeper in Tolka that has left them with 6 points rather than 12.

Sligo looking very good so far and front what I have heard about Elding he is a class player, if Shams don't get their act together by mid April tho they could be almost out of the title race by the time the break comes around

Our season hasn't really started yet with the 2 postponed games this week
    The fact that Rovers have not concede any goals is significant, but you are being way too generous as to why they have 6 points out of 12.

V. Shels - Burdon was impressive today for Shels but Rovers could easily have conceded two goals to a poor Shels team. A draw was fair.

V Bohs - Foran got himself sent off Bohs and he deserved to go. Reports indicate a fair result

V Dundalk - The penalty was saved by Cherrie, but it should not have been awarded in the first place. A draw was fair and Rovers had more reason to be happy with the point

Rovers are likely to improve and have the better squad. Sligo appear to have the better team. 6 points is big gap after only 4 games, but the gap between them after 10 games will be tell much more

Sports show on Dundalk FM was quoting a Sligo journalist claiming that your weekly budget was €23.5k.

Must be mistaken?
    He misheard. It's €38,655. €1 more than Shams'.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    And €2 less then Joe Gamble.

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Seriously, do you have any idea what the budget is? From what I can gather, Sligo's turnover is roughly €1.2 million a year, presumably a little more next year with added prize money and higher gates. Rovers' is more but rent would eat up a lot of the difference.

I haven't a bulls Charles.

I wonder if it would be a good idea for the FAI to require clubs to publish accounts. Now that there is supposedly a revenue surplus across the league, there shouldn't be any skeletons they want to hide. I think it would be good for the league if non-members of clubs were able to criticise the financial management of their clubs, Shamrock Rovers as much as anyone.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast