Thread: Has there ever been a bigger buildup to a game

Has there ever been a bigger buildup to a game

well a single away international anyway.

what a huge crowd travelling

all the talk on all the websites ...astounding.

I can't wait and it's still 2 weeks to go.

Allez Les Garcons en Verts!

Has there ever been a bigger buildup to a game
    There's hardly been a bigger build up to an international tournament, never mind a match.

Yep major interest in this match.
    I'm a regular at Lansdown but this is my first away game and I can't wait.

Roll on two weeks.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    There's hardly been a bigger build up to an international tournament, never mind a match.
    I like it, I like it!

Seriously though lads, the away trips are the best.
    Everyone is on the same wavelength as it were.
    When you make the effort to get away, you make sure you're going to enjoy it. I've been waiting for us to play France for years.
    Couldn't believe our luck when they came out of the hat in our group.
    I'm sure there are many others thinking the same as I am and that's adding to the buzz.
    For anyone who hasn't been away before, the funniest thing is when people introduce themselves as a poster from foot.ie.
    "Hi, I'm furry balls*." or something like that.
    People are always so different than you imagined them.
    And what a surprise to see furry balls*, a man in his 40's, wearing a big green wig, with the wife and kids in tow.

*All the characters in this passage are fictional and not based on actual people.

Could not agree more, away trips are so much better craic than home games, just ask anyone who was in the beatles club in Tblisi, AK47's adorned the wall of the cloakroom

Can`t flippin wait for this! It`s me first ever away game.
    I`m travelling over from Sweden with the missus and am up for some serious partying.....Wouldn`t it be amazing if we took the 3 points from them,jaysus the celebration would be unbelievable!
    Roll on the 9th!

229 Posts
    Iits gonna be great alright!!! biggest away fixture for a long time.

Out of interest, Portugal 95, got hammered 3-0 in torrential rain. Seem to remember reports of there being around 20k of us irish there, the biggest away support for a qualifier. wouldn't put my mortgage on it though.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Could not agree more, away trips are so much better craic than home games, just ask anyone who was in the beatles club in Tblisi, AK47's adorned the wall of the cloakroom

Not forgetting Bursa,Turkey away in 99 when we all got marched into the ground by the cop's two hour's before kick off, into a stadium that had been packed for five hour's by home fan's that were going crazy, when they seen the fifty of us walking in to the small section in the corner they just went silent, and about 25'000 set's of eye's just watched us, prompting us to all jump around waving Tricolour's at them singing ''your not singing anymore''.
    That set them back off again. I learnt a few new word's in Turkish that night like ''welcome to hell'', and ''your all going to die'', and not forgetting the thousand's who waited outside the ground to surround our bus and wave us goodbye. That was a cracking trip apart from the result.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

3,499 Posts
    I was all set to go when the fixtures were announced, one fortnight in Boston later and I'm battling bankruptcy and mastercard. Balls.

Anyway all the best to the lads who are going, I'll be in Lansdowne for the Faroes (once I track down a spare ticket..) for the welcome back party!

I remember bursa too and the riot police on our coaches and the way they drove us in right up behind the stand. The crowds on the street as we left after the match. I often wonder, What their reaction had been if we had of got a result.

Tehran was the best though Walking into the irish end it was like entering the collusium the noise unreal and they had prayers before the game amazing. away games once you get the bug you cant stop.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    For anyone who hasn't been away before, the funniest thing is when people introduce themselves as a poster from foot.ie.
    "Hi, I'm furry balls*." or something like that.
    People are always so different than you imagined them.
    All except Davros. He fitted the bill to absolute perfection.

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    away trips are so much better craic than home games... AK47's adorned the wall of the cloakroom
    Laugh? I nearly shat meself. Baghdad branch of the RISSC clocking in for duty...

Boys and girls, I'm really looking forward to this one. Right now, the missus is hiding behind the kitchen cupbaord.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by SuperDub
    I remember bursa too and the riot police on our coaches and the way they drove us in right up behind the stand. The crowds on the street as we left after the match. I often wonder, What their reaction had been if we had of got a result.

Tehran was the best though Walking into the irish end it was like entering the collusium the noise unreal and they had prayers before the game amazing. away games once you get the bug you cant stop.
    Was proberly one of the weirdest feeling's entering the ground having the whole stadium stop and just glare at us, we were the first group of Irish fan's to enter the ground, and the whole thing of busing us right in under the stand was weird all right.
    Funny enough was chatting with a mate from Galway who was on that trip, he said about the thousand's outside the stadium after the game ''Sylv if we had got a result i'd say they wid have turned every bus over and killed us.'' Which is pretty much what I think would have happened also.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

I'm going and I know I'll meet up again with some top people. Yes, Dav, including you. And I can't fcuking wait. The missus is heartily sick of me going on about it.

As for those of you I've not met yet, I await the pleasure with anticipation and no little joy. Bring it on!

Paris here we come!

PP

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Oui,D'accord,mon ami!
    We need to reestablish lines of aural contact first...

PP