Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Ronan seery says city fans are no better than lowlife scum

If what Mr Seery witnessed was along the same lines as the abuse aimed at Dominic Foley and the female ref's assistant in Dalymount (abuse which grew stronger as defeat got closer) I'm not surprised by his reaction as I found the outbursts in Dalymount purile and offensive and had nothing to do with supporting CCFC. This kind of abuse goes beyond "Barry takes it up the nose" and if you heard it from Rovers fans your response would be "typical of the scum". Abusing opposition players is not necessarily supporting your team and usually inspires the target to greater effort to silence the abuse.
    We are Football

Quote Originally Posted by wiseman
    If what Mr Seery witnessed was along the same lines as the abuse aimed at Dominic Foley and the female ref's assistant in Dalymount (abuse which grew stronger as defeat got closer) I'm not surprised by his reaction as I found the outbursts in Dalymount purile and offensive and had nothing to do with supporting CCFC. This kind of abuse goes beyond "Barry takes it up the nose" and if you heard it from Rovers fans your response would be "typical of the scum". Abusing opposition players is not necessarily supporting your team and usually inspires the target to greater effort to silence the abuse.
    I wasn't at Dalyer, but believe me it was very mild in comparison to what I've heard. Apart from "Barry takes it up the nose", "junkie" and "Barry give us a spliff", there was feck all else said- unless singing "the drugs don't work" is somehow abusive?! As for inspiring him- it certainly did that- the guy had a blinder!

[QUOTE=xtreme rebel]I hope Tom The Gom didn't get to Brian before us......we could miss the Rovers game. What a clown that man is.

This is the funniest thread I have ever read. Above quote is priceless. As is "city fans are always strong in numbers in richmond park" from exile.

From sheridan "I sat on my own during the second half and left on my own" but the best was "I like to observe the players and managers body language during the warmdown" FFS get a life.

Got a first hand account from a fellow Hooper, who demeaned himself by going to this game, and from what he said the away fans were just having a laugh with ryan. Seery was bang out of order doing what he did and the sooner his farce of a club go back to the LSL the better. Fair play to away fans going that distance on a thursday night and as any real fan knows the away trips are the ones that end up, despite the result, being the best fun.

Also it is a shame we didnt think of the "Barry takes it up the nose" line the week before! For the record I think he's a far better keeper than mooney but that's for another day.

See "ye" friday and if you dont win dolan should be chucked in the lee.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I wasn't at Dalyer, but believe me it was very mild in comparison to what I've heard. Apart from "Barry takes it up the nose", "junkie" and "Barry give us a spliff", there was feck all else said- unless singing "the drugs don't work" is somehow abusive?! As for inspiring him- it certainly did that- the guy had a blinder!
    u forgot about the very offensive

barry,barry,barry,barry,barry,barry,barry

very offensive indeed

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    u forgot about the very offensive

barry,barry,barry,barry,barry,barry,barry

very offensive indeed
    As someone who speaks near fluent Jackeen I can confirm that Barry Barry Barry is not offensive in that tounge.

Era I'd say the fella wouldnt havbe minded if the game was 1-0 to them and they werent a sham of a club in the relegation zone.

Give me UCD anyday
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Got a first hand account from a fellow Hooper, who demeaned himself by going to this game, and from what he said the away fans were just having a laugh with ryan. Seery was bang out of order doing what he did and the sooner his farce of a club go back to the LSL the better. Fair play to away fans going that distance on a thursday night and as any real fan knows the away trips are the ones that end up, despite the result, being the best fun.
    Well there you have it. Even a Rovers fan admitted that the City fans did nothing wrong and he also agreed that Sheridan is a loser!
    Whatever we say about Rovers fans or they say about us, there's no denying that when it comes to supporting a football club both sets of fans are the masters at it in this country so the fact that a Rovers fan is backing us up here says a lot imo as, unlike Seery, Sheridan et al, they know how to support a football club.
    Along with the ourselves, Rovers are one of the few sets of proper football fans in Ireland. It's just that we do it in greater numbers and with more style.
    Champions!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Along with the ourselves, Rovers are one of the few sets of proper football fans in Ireland. It's just that we do it in greater numbers and with more style.
    F*ck Me, A City - Rovers love in.
    Did I ever think I'd see the day.

Yeah I've got to lie down!! Dont know about the style but no argument about your numbers except at richmond!

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    F*ck Me, A City - Rovers love in.
    Did I ever think I'd see the day.
    Nothing of the sort.
    It's just that like us Rovers fans actually understand about supporting football so for an unbiased Rovers fan to agree with the City fans on this issue proves what that our version of events is true.

Don't get me wrong, I ain't praising Rovers at all. Compared to us they've got sh!t support (at home and away) but compared to Dublin City.....
    Champions!

Nothing of the sort.
    It's just that like us Rovers fans actually understand about supporting football so for an unbiased Rovers fan to agree with the City fans on this issue proves what that our version of events is true.
    Actually, it doesn't prove anything of the sort. Remember, Rovers fans are convinced they're angels too. As for NY Hoop (as anyone who frequented the old eL MB will know), he's unusually bitter even for a Hoop and has a fixation with DCFC in general and me in particular, I think there must be some Freudian explanation (hate to go ad hominem, Adam, but I suspect this thread is heading bye-byes because of the "loser" comment above anyway.)

So just before it does, I'd like to suggest a way in which you and your mates might cement your new-found friendship with Rovers fans. Behave towards them as you did towards me after you next meeting, and come back on here to tell us all about it (if you still can.)

Angry

Eeekk!!!
    is hot in here
    The only interesting answers are those which destroy the questions!

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    Actually, it doesn't prove anything of the sort. Remember, Rovers fans are convinced they're angels too. As for NY Hoop (as anyone who frequented the old eL MB will know), he's unusually bitter even for a Hoop and has a fixation with DCFC in general and me in particular, I think there must be some Freudian explanation (hate to go ad hominem, Adam, but I suspect this thread is heading bye-byes because of the "loser" comment above anyway.)

So just before it does, I'd like to suggest a way in which you and your mates might cement your new-found friendship with Rovers fans. Behave towards them as you did towards me after you next meeting, and come back on here to tell us all about it (if you still can.)
    you have to got to remember that a handfull of rovers fans actualy create physical violence of which there was none at our last encounter at richmond park, and im quite sure if dublin city had the same amount of home support has we do away support they would be vocal too ,we are no angels no one has claimed this. our only crime your eyes is that we are very vocal in support for our team.
    you keep over looking the fact if we were causing so much trouble why did the gardai not move us on or the stewards who were having a laugh and a joke with us and even barry got in on the act with us.
    and also as you claim you were verbaly abused and if you were then you have a genuine cause for your trouble but what have you got to say about your chairman who abused us so much at the match that he was the one who had to be told leave by the stewards.
    What does that say about your chairman ? does that make him lowlife scum we after all gave no one the finger or told anyone to f~~k off
    Last edited by exile; 27/09/2004 at 5:45 PM.
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

Well a few of us went into the Horse and Jockey a few weeks ago and had a chat and a bit of banter (a lot closer to the bone than what you had with us) with a few Rovers fans. We took the p!ss out of them and they took the p!ss out of us but none of us felt the need to go crying like a little girl about it like you did. We just took it all in good spirits.
    Similarly, we had a laugh with a few Bohs fans in the Dalymount bar a few weeks ago and nobody's feelings were hurt like yours seem to have been.

Football fans generally like to have a laugh and take the p!ss out of the opposition. It happens all the time but usually the club chairman doesn't go and abuse away fans and the fans don't get all upset over nothing like you seem to have done. I think you need to get out more Sheridan.
    Champions!

522 Posts
    he also agreed that Sheridan is a loser!
    FFS. Colm, how long have you been posting here now? Do I normally allow this kind of garbage?

I think the problem is that "banter" can be mistaken for something more serious sometimes.

Sheridan,
    if the antics of the guys after the game intimidated you then they were out of line. After a game that crap should be put aside, and regardless of our opinions of your club, the fact that you turn out to support them despite their shortcomings, on and off the field, week in-week out should see you given a break at the very least.

When it comes down to it, we were having a laugh with Barry, winding him up. Neutrals in the crowd and the stewards actions testify to that. Barry smiled through it all (water off a duck's back to be honest), he applauded us at the end and it was returned in kind.

IMO if Barry didn't take offence, Seery had no right to do so on his behalf, and the way he went about it could have led to a nasty incident with a different bunch of supporters.

The other issue is whether or not we should have been allowed behind the goals, if the answer to that is no, then it's down to the stewards and indirectly, Seery himself. The onus is on him to instruct what were, for the few hours that night, his employees. However on the night, Seery was told by the stewards that we were within our rights to stand there, at which point he was led away.

I can understand you being defensive, your club gets a lot of abuse, but in this case your chairman brought it upon himself with an over-reaction.

If any of the lads there had thrown anything onto the pitch or attemtped to get close to Barry in any threatening way, we would have dealt with that ourselves. I don't know all the lads personally, but from our travels I know them well enough to say we know when to draw the line. On last thursday night, that line was drawn with a few chants.

Barry got over it within seconds, the rest of us should do the same
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Barry got over it within seconds, the rest of us should do the same
    Fair points well made, tiktok.

And for what it's worth, Rocky was wrong to approach the Cork fans and have a go (maybe it was just banter ), but I think he had a right to be concerned about the safety of his employee after what happened against Shels. And there do seem to be conflicting reports regarding Barry's reaction.

The Cork fans should not, IMO, have been allowed behind the goal, but that's a matter for the stewards, as you say. I'd pay good money to know what the arrangements regarding stewarding at DCFC games are, because I'm not entirely sure that this wasn't another case of Shels deliberately going out of their way to cause us problems.

And yes, some of your fans were well out of order in terms of civilised (if not violent) behaviour (clue: when even Tom "I'm mad as a hatter and I thump linesmen" The Gom reckons you've gone too far, you've gone too far) and I have absolutely no respect for these people.

The Cork fans should not, IMO, have been allowed behind the goal, but that's a matter for the stewards, as you say.

we got into the ground late and there was nowhere else to sit

: when even Tom "I'm mad as a hatter and I thump linesmen" The Gom reckons you've gone too far, you've gone too far)
    the man is nuts. what would he know? sheridan, I saw the "incident" which distressed you so- I was there. It was nothing. get over yourself

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    the man is nuts. what would he know? sheridan, I saw the "incident" which distressed you so- I was there. It was nothing. get over yourself
    It wasn't a big deal (when you know what kind of people are involved and what to expect, at least), but it was far from "nothing". What you people don't seem to realise about "banter" is that it's a two-way process. When one party doesn't participate or indicates that the other's behaviour is unwelcome, it becomes at best boorishness, at worst outright abuse. And when so much as a finger is laid on the second party, it can turn very nasty very quickly (and possibly constitutes assault; not that I'd be petty enough to pursue that, but I think it's a correct interpretation of the law.)

I've seen less provocation result in far more serious consequences, many, many times.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast