Page 9 of 45 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland V Sweden(A) 22 March & Austria(H) - 26 March 2013 - World Cup 2014 Qualifiers

3,492 Posts
    You can balance that out against our awful record against Austria though. So three points would still be an excellent return from these two games whichever way you look at it!

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    On the radio that McShane has played in the first team for training two days in a row. I can only assume it was at RB. If he starts ahead of Coleman Trap might aswell pack his bags. Could he put Coleman at RM for this one?
    mcshane is not in the squad...
    David Forde, Keiren Westwood, Darren Randolph, John O’Shea, Sean St Ledger, Ciaran Clark, Marc Wilson, Seamus Coleman, Stephen Kelly, Darren O’Dea, Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy, Paul Green, Wes Hoolahan, Jeff Hendrick, James McClean, Andy Keogh, Robbie Brady, Robbie Keane, Shane Long, Conor Sammon, Jon Walters, Simon Cox.

McShane is out for the rest of the season with ankle knack.

...or is this all part of Trap's grand plan?

edit: "fans' favourite"

http://www.thisishullandeastriding.c...#axzz2O6Mj6x8L
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 20/03/2013 at 4:25 PM.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Is he really a fan favourite? We all hate him! Perhaps he has regained some of that form we saw when he made his debut against the Czech back in about 2007? The match in which Kilbane scored our equaliser?

I don't want McShane anywhere near our squad, but I don't wish him any harm. It certainly would be nice to have another Irish player in the Premiership next season as we don't have nearly enough these days.

He won player of the month for Hull last month as far as I remember. He's had a rough couple of years but he seems to have established himself as their main man in centre defence now.

edit: Kilbane put us 1-0 up against the Czechs. The equalised almost immediately with a shot that any keeper in the world an inch taller than Wayne Henderson would have saved.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    He won player of the month for Hull last month as far as I remember. He's had a rough couple of years but he seems to have established himself as their main man in centre defence now.

edit: Kilbane put us 1-0 up against the Czechs. The equalised almost immediately with a shot that any keeper in the world an inch taller than Wayne Henderson would have saved.

Thanks. I remember McShane having big Jan Koller in his pocket for the entire match........except for that one moment. I remember phoning up my father and telling him that we had found our new Paul McGrath!

417 Posts
    Poor JByrne doesnt know what year it is again. Concussions are so horrible.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Green started in the main XI in training again today alongside Whelan in midfield. Not looking good for Friday, especially considering the supposed 2nd XI hammered the first team in training today according to reports.
    That's no problem just play the second XI!!

Anyone know what the second XI was?

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Green started in the main XI in training again today alongside Whelan in midfield. Not looking good for Friday, especially considering the supposed 2nd XI hammered the first team in training today according to reports.
    I remember this being previously reported before another game and I think Trap went ahead with his "first eleven" selection. Was it at the Euros? If he sees his "second string" hammering his "first eleven", doesn't it raise serious questions in his own head with regard to those he's favouring? It'll be interesting to see if he considers/makes changes based on what he's seen in training.

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Is he really a fan favourite? We all hate him!
    I don't think it's fair to say we hate him; he's our Paul. I certainly don't hate him. He has great heart; something other players sorely lack. It's just his ability is very suspect, but it's Trap who regularly selects him, after all. Who in their right mind would turn down a call-up claiming they weren't good enough so as to make way for another player?

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    I don't hate him, I just don't think he deserves to be in the team. Could say that for a lot of players.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

123 Posts
    The only difference between McShane and Clark is McShane has been given the chances to screw up in the past and has the scars to prove it. There's plenty more lads on the peripheral who certainly look like they have that capacity as well but were never allowed showcase it, like Clark.

52 Posts
    People relax, why all the doom and gloom?

I predict a draw, plus a sending off.

Back your team and country

Yes some questionable selections but that's football.

In Trap we must trust.

McShane is 27. Clark is 23. In 4 years time you can talk in the past, if proved right, hardly now when the guy is still learning and only in his first proper year in the premiership.

39 Posts
    Well, doc, I'm backing the team too, but I don't see why we 'must' trust in Trap.

Lot of friendlies coming up this summer it seems, just a pity our manager doesn't even try to learn anything from friendlies.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    That's no problem just play the second XI!!

Anyone know what the second XI was?
    Well, judging by the squad, it probably had two of McCarthy, Hoolahan and Hendrick in midfield! Not hard to see how they might be superior to Trap's chosen two. I would rather see Hoolahan ahead of Green in a two-man midfield if we're stuck to 4-4-2. Yes, before anyone states the obvious, I know it's not Hoolahan's usual position but I'd still rather have a proper footballer in there. Trap is sabotaging our chances if we start with Whelan and Green in midfield. Do we not learn anything from the Euros? From basically having 6 or 8 (if you include the wingers getting back to cover the fullbacks) defensive players on the park and 2 (or 4) isolated attacking players, disjointed with no link between the two blocks? From failing to retain possession for any more than a few seconds at a time?

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Is he really a fan favourite? We all hate him!
    Jesus, hate is a very strong word. I like him, I just don't want him starting big games...
    No one can question he's commitment unlike some other players available to us.

So it seems like the Green-Whelan midfield is on, meaning we're looking to strangle Zlatan out of the game and hoping for a 0-0. Anybody fancy going to the zoo or a nice long walk on the beach on Friday night?

1,928 Posts
    Strangle Zlatan before the game might work.

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    So it seems like the Green-Whelan midfield is on, meaning we're looking to strangle Zlatan out of the game and hoping for a 0-0. Anybody fancy going to the zoo or a nice long walk on the beach on Friday night?
    What's wrong with the zoo?

The thing is though, I really don't think Trap ever plays for a 0-0 draw or even a 1-1 draw. No matter what system/tactics or personnel employed.

HOLY FCUK(I didnt really believe it yesterday when i saw it):

"That's unless Giovanni Trapattoni has a change of heart after seeing the performance of the trio that opposed his apparent first choice in training."

"With a flurry of one-touch passes, James McCarthy, Jeff Hendrick (pictured) and Wes Hoolahan pulled their squad-mates all over the shortened pitch and clearly got the better of the fare in the end-of-training match.

Their touch and movement were a joy to behold as they carved the first-choice midfield and defence open time and time again."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-29144694.html

24. Thanks From:

While I don't doubt they would be a much better midfield, I'd be a bit wary of Indo hyperbole on the subject. A "flurry of one-touch passing" probably translates closer to "they could pass the ball a bit".

26. Thanks From:

Page 9 of 45 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast