Thread: Cat Stevens-Musician or Terrorist?

Cat Stevens-Musician or Terrorist?

Personally I don't quite know. He refused to make any comment some years ago about 9/11 which indicated that while he didn't openly support the atrocity, he didn't condemn it either.
    Is he really a terrorist, or a happy go lucky born again muslim musician??

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Is he really a terrorist, or a happy go lucky born again muslim musician??
    I think he has quite strong political and moral views but I don't think that he's a terrorist. The Americans probably fear the influence he could have more than actually considering him a direct terrorist threat.

"Never trust a hippy".
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

In the late 1980s he supported the fatwa ordered by the Ayatollah Khomeini against Salman Rushdie. If he's so interested in peace and justice why couldn't he let Rushdie have his own personal opinion on a subject, insteading of supporting a death threat against a man for having the balls to stand up against islam.

We're lucky in the west that we're allowed to think for ourselves.

I dont think he actually supported the fatwa, just said that if a man is blasphemous then the Koran says he must die.

He has also condemned the attrocity in Beslan a few weeks ago, and does a load of charity work over in the balkans, so I dont really reckon he's a suicide bomber of any sort!
    UCD sha-la-la

Quote Originally Posted by cullenswood
    I dont think he actually supported the fatwa, just said that if a man is blasphemous then the Koran says he must die.

He has also condemned the attrocity in Beslan a few weeks ago, and does a load of charity work over in the balkans, so I dont really reckon he's a suicide bomber of any sort!
    He definitely supported the fatwa, I was just reading about it on the BBC world website. Fair enough he does charity work, but how many other people would agree with killing someone just because they said something against a particular religion. I assume by him quoting the Koran that a man must die if he says something blasphemous means that he agrees with it otherwise he would have said the Koran says this and I don't agree....
    I'm not saying he's a suicide bomber or anything like that, he's just one of a growing number of people getting more obssesed with religion
    Anyway enough serious talk
    Last edited by boc123; 23/09/2004 at 10:37 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by boc123
    Anyway enough serious talk
    Fair enough!

Everyone together now.....

Morning has broken
    Like the first morning
    Blackbird has spoken
    Like the first day
    UCD sha-la-la

or:

It's not time to make a change
    Just relax and take it easy
    You're still young, that's no fault,
    there's so much you have to go through
    Find a girl, settle down
    If you want you can marry
    Look at me
    I am old but I'm happy.....

Jesus, shoot me now!!

250 Posts
    lets just say he was'nt called CAT for nothing

lads lads lads.....

it's only words...
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Listen lads, you may think this is funny. Some of you weren't born in Cat's heyday. But as someone who had to sit through at junior school in the seventies as this hippy teacher of mine recited his numbers day after day, I can tell you I ain't f*cking laughing.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

WHOA....

some serious issues there man...
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Listen lads, you may think this is funny. Some of you weren't born in Cat's heyday. But as someone who had to sit through at junior school in the seventies as this hippy teacher of mine recited his numbers day after day, I can tell you I ain't f*cking laughing.
    Up at eight
    You can't be late
    for Matthew & Son,
    He won't wait

(cue Streets of SanFrancisco style trumpets!)

There's one that will stick in your head all day lopez!
    UCD sha-la-la

And another... "I'm being followed by a moonshadow, moonshadow, moonshadow. Sleeping and walking on a moonshadow..."

Thank you Jebus in Heaven for the Pistols, Clash, Rats, Buzzcocks, Undertones, Ramones, Blondie, Costello, Skids, Kennedys, Ruts, Wreckless Eric, Stranglers, and all the others who gobbed, thrashed, 1-2-3-4'd, shouted and pogoed so an entire generation would be spared cheesecloth shirt wearing peace sign giving bearded whingers and their play-in-a-day accoustic guitar accompaniments.

Up at eight
    You can't be late
    for Matthew & Son,
    He won't wait

(cue Streets of SanFrancisco style trumpets!)

Don't remember this one but that moonshadow sh*te has scarred me for life. Certainly agree about the pistols, etc. GG.

Islam is the best thing that happened to the music world. Let's not knock everything about it if it removed this eejit from the music scene...if not - sadly - his music.

Ruairi, let's just say I'm not feeling too grooooovvy to reading his songs again!
    Last edited by lopez; 24/09/2004 at 12:41 PM.

250 Posts
    [QUOTE=lopez]Don't remember this one /QUOTE]

the chorus was

matthew and son,
    their work never done,
    there's alway something neeeeeeeeeeew.

i've been working all day,all day,all day

course you remember it now

Ronan Keating's doing a duet with him a Christmas, tipped to be number 1 in the UK. Can it possibly get any worse..?

Those song are terror in verse no wonder they won't let him in feckin hippy
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

[QUOTE=the 12 th man]
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Don't remember this one /QUOTE]

the chorus was

matthew and son,
    their work never done,
    there's alway something neeeeeeeeeeew.

i've been working all day,all day,all day

course you remember it now
    Oh f*ck! I do now. I always thought he wrote/sung/slaughtered that 'Good Morning Starshine' cojones but he's not guilty of that one. 'Gliddy glub gloopy nibby nabby noopy/ La la la lo lo/Sabba sibby sabba nooby abba nabba/ Le le lo lo/Tooby ooby walla nooby abba naba/ Early morning singing song.'

Perhaps they won't let him into Good Ol' Uncle U.S. of Stateside on the basis on his recent "Now that's what I call H-Block" e.p.? The duet with Dolly Parton on "Men on the blanket/Blanket on the Ground" (Medley) is quite startling... Oh hang on, I'm still having a bad dream. I thought we were still all talking about Cat Stevens for some reason.
    Oh. We are. I thought it was one of those parallel universe set ups, like on 'Sliders', but with hippies.
    I need a holiday.