Page 11 of 37 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2013

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by markc1184 View Post
    Agreed fitness levels were telling in the end. Your #27 was running the Drogs lads ragged in the first half, looked a decent player.

Is Tony Cousins always as animated as he was last night? He seemed to be giving out and complaining right from the off, mostly at his own players and I presume it was his assistant beside him.
    That's Ryan Connolly on loan from Sligo Rovers his premier division class shows week in week out since he's arrived! Cousins and Keith Quinn were having a running battle all night which is nothing new and as for his assistants don't get me started.

Again, not slagging, but it shows the gap. Connolly, despite the high hopes we had for him, hasn't been within an ass's roar of a regular starting spot this season. He definitely has ability, but since coming to Rovers, he's flitted in and out of games. Unless he tears things up altogether for the remainder of the Division 1 season, I'd be very surprised to see him back in the Showgrounds.

Quote Originally Posted by markc1184 View Post
    Agreed fitness levels were telling in the end. Your #27 was running the Drogs lads ragged in the first half, looked a decent player.

Is Tony Cousins always as animated as he was last night? He seemed to be giving out and complaining right from the off, mostly at his own players and I presume it was his assistant beside him.
    assistant to tony cousins would be player coach Gary Cronin and I believe Chris Deans too.. Ex no 2 philip coffey is badly missed imo.. his organisational skills have bein missed since he left especially in defence

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Again, not slagging, but it shows the gap. Connolly, despite the high hopes we had for him, hasn't been within an ass's roar of a regular starting spot this season. He definitely has ability, but since coming to Rovers, he's flitted in and out of games. Unless he tears things up altogether for the remainder of the Division 1 season, I'd be very surprised to see him back in the Showgrounds.
    He's playing centre midfield for us. I believe he was used on the wing for ye? He may not be good enough for Sligo but he could do a good job for someone in the PD from what I've seen of him.

He always makes the first team in Football Manager so I'd be inclined to agree with Longfordian.

Then again, Salthill Devon got taken over by a billionaire and made the Europa League groups too, so who knows.

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    is the paint on the wall in front of the away section? If so it's more anti-lean than anti-climb
    Put it this way - no one attempted to go onto the pitch last night and apparently several of our fans got that "non-drying paint" on their clothes by just pressing against the wall.

We should just scrap stewards altogether and paint the walls in every LOI ground with "non-drying paint" following Sligo's lead.

Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Anti-climb paint at the away section at the showgrounds...
    http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2013/0...r-information/
    HTF does that be allowed? Apart from all the other (legitimate) issues with it, surely it's an impediment if they had to evacuate the stand. Why don't they just put back up the barb wire topped fences and be done with it.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Why don't they just put back up the barb wire topped fences and be done with it.
    That's the plan for the Tracey (home) Stand.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    The toilets were there in the away section, if they weren't open this is no excuse whatsoever even if they thought there would a small turn out.

You should email the club and make a complaint. It's unacceptable.
    Are you sure the toilets were there? Where exactly? Were the food and drink kiosks visible from your vantage point too?
    They were not visible from the away terrace, or from the route we had to take to gain entry to the away section.
    After complaining about the lack of access to toilet and refreshment facilities, lads were allowed controlled access to the bar.
    I didn't expect to come across anything worse this season than what we had to tolerate in the away section at Turner's Cross.

People thought Jackman Park was a s***hole, but although facilities were very basic, all fans always had access to toilets and hot and cold drinks and food. (More shelter and better toilets would have made it a much more comfortable place for fans though.)
    Fight the good fight!

(Now with my very own account on foot.ie - How cool am I? - 15/02/07)

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    Put it this way - no one attempted to go onto the pitch last night and apparently several of our fans got that "non-drying paint" on their clothes by just pressing against the wall.
    ... and there hasn't been since they put on the 'paint'. Before that nearly every game there was people on the pitch or climbing on the wall. Which means no fines for the club and means its working! Im not saying this paint is right btw, but somthing had to be done, especially when one of your stewards is geting floored by a punch on the pitch. Personally I think the guards should have done more instead of turning up for their overtime that the club was paying them. They are completely reactive to incidents and by then its too late.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Pats-Rovers at Richer. Oh my.

2,446 Posts
    Drogheda at home should we beat Cobh tonight. Could have been worse, but could have been a lot better on a financial aspect as realistically, we're not going to beat them.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Drogheda at home should we beat Cobh tonight. Could have been worse, but could have been a lot better on a financial aspect as realistically, we're not going to beat them.
    2-0 up so looking good. Nice cup progress this season and an extra home gate. Hmmm Drogheda at home. Get a good crowd through the gate and bring some noise back to that old ground. You never know.
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

2,446 Posts
    2-0 up with 20 minutes to go alright!

Cobh just gone down to 10 as well so that makes things a bit easier.

2,446 Posts
    FT in Cobh.

Cobh Ramblers 0-4 Finn Harps.

Bring on the Drogs.

399 Posts
    Drogheda at home, we're not going to beat them.
    Why not? You did the hard work tonight.

Some decent ties, we def got the better draw avoiding any of the other top 5 sides.

Pats v Rovers hopefully has the look of a a few replays about it.
    Last edited by oriel; 26/08/2013 at 10:03 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Do we still do multiple replays? Jesus, I thought they'd have done away with that by now. Both teams more determined not to win the cup than the other...

56 Posts
    Good luck to harps but never in my years following loi have I seen a ref display like tonight, first goal from the spot was a good tackle.
    How Harps no.5 lasted the game is beyond me. Kynan Rocks taken out in an off the ball challenge by no.5 when on a yellow and incredibly Rocks gets booked for diving.
    When you see officials in Cobh get a garda escort off the pitch you know its bad. Ref (andrew mullally) destroyed what was shaping up to be a good tie.
    Good luck to harps but I'm seething with rage at the sheer f***wittery of the officials tonight.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Why not? You did the hard work tonight.
    Quietly confident of an upset. We've been playing good football for large parts of the season, but 20 minutes of disaster in every game combined with an inabilty to finish has cost us dearly.
    Someone remarked to me the other night that Harps would probably have done better in the Premier this season than they have done in the First such is the fact First Division is won by playing hoof football, who has the biggest team and the longest kick.

Quote Originally Posted by Comic Book Guy View Post
    Good luck to harps but never in my years following loi have I seen a ref display like tonight, first goal from the spot was a good tackle.
    How Harps no.5 lasted the game is beyond me. Kynan Rocks taken out in an off the ball challenge by no.5 when on a yellow and incredibly Rocks gets booked for diving.
    When you see officials in Cobh get a garda escort off the pitch you know its bad. Ref (andrew mullally) destroyed what was shaping up to be a good tie.
    Good luck to harps but I'm seething with rage at the sheer f***wittery of the officials tonight.
    You obviously weren't in Finn Park on Friday night....

Kynan Rocks falls over at every opportunity. Someone needs to either buy that young fella a decent pair of boots, or tell him to stay on his feet. Cracking footballer, but shockingly bad for diving.

You obviously weren't in Finn Park on Friday night....

Kynan Rocks falls over at every opportunity. Someone needs to either buy that young fella a decent pair of boots, or tell him to stay on his feet. Cracking footballer, but shockingly bad for diving.
    Would you say it's less a case of Kynan Rocks as... Kynan Rolls?

Page 11 of 37 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast