Page 29 of 37 FirstFirst ... 192728293031 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2013

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Do Drogheda give out free tickets? Perhaps he was referring to actual sales as opposed to attendance. In any case it doesn't matter.

Drogheda have a cup final to look forward to, good luck in that and I hope ye enjoy it.

Dundalk have to keep the spirts of everyone up and make sure that the season doesn't drizzle out. The club is at a crucial stage of renegotiating player contracts for next season and the 500 club has recently been launched. In both cases, it is important that fans see the positives of season and not the negative of Sunday. The statement is with both of those two things in mind. It is intended to be a morale booster for the fans to keep morale high.

The clubs needs fans to sign up for the 500 club to give Stephen Kenny the budget to compete at a higher level next season.

Some of the comments of fans of other clubs regarding the statement were ridiculous and completely ignorant of the who the audience was and why.
    No free tickets because it was an FAI cup game. Absolutely everyone paid in the other day including most usual volunteers and even board members! So there is nothing to it other than a cheap little dig.

It appears the powers that be in Dundalk now feel they are a big club and can comment on other clubs home gates and liaise with the FAI when refereeing decisions they think are wrong and need to be addressed. The usual old-school were now a big club again mentality. The type that can lead to a downfall. This is the first time your new club administration has come under public scrutiny. For me theyve been exposed as unprofessional.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MiniMourinho View Post
    No free tickets because it was an FAI cup game. Absolutely everyone paid in the other day including most usual volunteers and even board members! So there is nothing to it other than a cheap little dig.

It appears the powers that be in Dundalk now feel they are a big club and can comment on other clubs home gates and liaise with the FAI when refereeing decisions they think are wrong and need to be addressed. The usual old-school were now a big club again mentality. The type that can lead to a downfall. This is the first time your new club administration has come under public scrutiny. For me theyve been exposed as unprofessional.
    I see nothing wrong with their statement.

As for "unprofessional", you should look closer to home and consider the way Mick Cooke is being hounded out of your club.

You're great at dissecting other clubs but blind when it comes to your own.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    So you think your club should communicate with the FAI over the referee's performance? Should Derry do the same for having Rafter booked for diving when he was clearly fouled by Cherrie on Monday?

No harm in "we're in this together" type statements but it comes across as playing the poor victim. Seems you're happy with that, so fair enough, but that doesn't mean others can't comment on it
    Communication in private is a good thing, much better than ranting publicly in blogs and tweets.

399 Posts
    I probably would have preferred if they hadnt published a statement. Some of it reads too angry for my liking. The bit about the league title for example, could have said 'taken this to the last few weeks' etc instead. Also dont like the end 'this season isnt over' , again should have focused on the 3 remaining games, aim to finish as high as possible. However it is their website, so they are free to pubish what they want, and others are also free to comment.

The whole semi final just turned into a very disapppointing turn of events for the club, but its over now, that ship has sailed, time to move on.
    Last edited by oriel; 08/10/2013 at 10:55 AM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

I see nothing wrong with their statement.

As for "unprofessional", you should look closer to home and consider the way Mick Cooke is being hounded out of your club.

You're great at dissecting other clubs but blind when it comes to your own.
    Most level-headed people realise that Drogheda's silence over the Mick Cooke issue is nothing but professional, despite his media campaign to warp the situation. Those who are lazy and dont look any closer choose to select the obvious 'incompetant board' excuse! Label the club like incompetant politicians or the FAI who dont know what they are doing. But they know full well what they are doing. In the past 3 years they have taken the club from bankrupcy to four of the six major finals available, 2nd in the league and Europe and made a small profit each year. This is all based on a budget of 600-700 fans at home games. Believe me they know what they are doing! Granted that success absolutely couldnt have happened without Mick Cooke, but a manager can only work off the platform, steady finances and stability that the board bring to the club. Im confident in our future without Mick. When I look at his football on the pitch, i kind of see him as the replaceable party.

Micks contract is up at the end of the year and wont be renewed, big deal. Any hounding out there is on his behalf.

In any case come back to me when dundalk have maintained this years success again at the end of next year.

123 Posts

Were you in the stand on Sunday MM?

Communication in private is a good thing, much better than ranting publicly in blogs and tweets.
    or posting on a website even?

Im confident in our future without Mick.
    Good, because I'm not. The lads have done a great job turning the club around from broke to profit, but don't credit them for results on the pitch on that budget.

100 Posts
    "exemplery" behaviour from the Dundalk fans, aside from the countless flares that went off during the game and the throwing of missiles onto the pitch at full time.
    You've got no fans.

555 Posts
    Please please tell me the rumour that Buttimer has been appointed to ref Dundalk's next game against Bohs is untrue!

Quote Originally Posted by dejadem View Post
    Good, because I'm not. The lads have done a great job turning the club around from broke to profit, but don't credit them for results on the pitch on that budget.

I didnt. I indicated that was Micks work, but that both could not have succeeded without each other. And that in the grand scheme of things i feel Mick Cooke is the more expendible party.

151 Posts
    Of course he has. Ideal opportunity for Stephen Kenny to apologise to him.

Please please tell me the rumour that Buttimer has been appointed to ref Dundalk's next game against Bohs is untrue!
    There's been no announcement but as a rule, they don't appoint refs to the same team twice in a row

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Of course he has. Ideal opportunity for Stephen Kenny to apologise to him.

Ant for Buttimer to apologise to Chris Shields. I expect that he acknowledged his mistake in sending him off and that he is free to play on Saturday.
    Last edited by White Horse; 08/10/2013 at 1:31 PM.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    There's been no announcement but as a rule, they don't appoint refs to the same team twice in a row
    Makes sense, probably an internet rumour.

Now is the time to put this to bed and get on with the football.

123 Posts
    Looks like it'll rumble on for a while yet, from the LOI Blog Facebook page:

BUTTIMER: The FAI are to officially review Anthony Buttimers performance as referee in Sundays controversial Louth derby. The Governing body will wait for the assessors report before taking any further action.

Dundalk FC have confirmed they are in communication with the FAI and will update the public of any more developments.
    Don't know how true it is, they may be putting 2 & 2 together from Dundalks statement.

If Dundalk make a submission to the FAI, they have to at least consider it and all ref's reports are read/reviewed. They're not going to invite himm in to explain himself or anything like that IMO

Adt for Buttimer to apologise to Chris Shields.
    Shouldn't Shields have to apologise to Buttimer for screaming obscenities at him?

A referee got a decision wrong. Get the f over it. Darren Meenan is as much to blame as anyone.

861 Posts
    Makes sense, probably an internet rumour.

Now is the time to put this to bed and get on with the football.
    The referees appointments list isn't released until Wednesday or Thursday usually so can't see it being true.

It's not true although technically he could ref it as the rule states that you can't referee the same team in the same competition two weeks in a row.

Page 29 of 37 FirstFirst ... 192728293031 ... LastLast