Thread: What would you DO?

What would you DO?

Along with the what team would you pick thread, I'm just wondering what people would actually do to sort the "problems" out?

Personally, I don't think there's a whole lot wrong but we need to get a few new players in and straighten things out. The following are things I'd suggest we need to do:
    1. Put George back up front- Fenn's an excellent player, but he has not fitted into the team as well as we hoped.
    2. Drop Flynn and put Doyler up front. Doyler's proved he can play up front and he's wasted on the right, Flynn just doesn't look up for it at the moment. He can't continue to play based on reputation alone.
    3. Drop Dan Murray. He's not worked out as captain and his form has been brutal lately. We all know how good he can be, so why isn't he doing it? No excuses, at this stage he'd be the first out the door if I had my way.
    4. Drop Danny Murphy- I know I'll get crucified for this, but he's getting caught out of position way too often for my liking. Can't have a solid back four if the left back keeps popping up at centre-mid all the time.
    5. Sign a new centre half and a new central midfielder. Murray needs replacing, Benno would benefit from an experienced player alongside him. As for midfield, we just don't have the steel in midfield- we need someone to complement Gamble in there-someone like Hunt or Reynolds.
    6. Get the spirit back. Things were great last season and until Europe before it started falling apart- they've had their clear the air talks or whatever now, its about time they realised we pay for them to wear their flash clothes and whatever else it is they do and start showing us some respect. A bit of fight out on the park would be a good start.

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    I was actually goes to post somewhere that Danny Murphy hasn't been great the past few games but overall noway would I drop him! Murphy has now playing football for over one year solid....remember he has no break as he joined up in the middle of the English season when our guys had 3 months off.
    isn't that another reason to give him a rest?! I'm not saying he's crap or anything, but with Hoggy and Greg we have two very good full backs who could come in.

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    Agree that we need a new CB and CM but dropping Fenn is harsh. Reason he's not getting enough praise is that Flynn is playong crap up front and goals ain't coming. Fenn ain't going to bang in 15-20 goals a season.
    its a choice between dropping Fenn and dropping George- there's not room for both of them in the one team. And I wouldn't drop George.

The way we're going at the moment it seems like it's hard to fit both
    1) George and Fenn
    2) Colin and Gamble
    in the team.

At the moment I'd pick Fenn ahead of George, especially if you're going to go with Doyle. I wouldn't bring Greg back, if anything I'd put Hoggy at RB and Woods back LB. But I don't think Danny Murphy has done much wrong.
    Murray could do with a rest, but not until we sign someone decent.

Flynny will come good again, but isn't doing the business now, but I'd be tempted to give Behan a shot, overall what we're missing, as you point out Eanna, is a bit of height and steel up the middle.

Having a team like

Devine
    Greg Benno Coughlan Woods
    Nwankwo Gamble George S.O'Flynn
    Behan Doyle

while it's not neccessarily what I'd pick based on each players individual merit, on the whole it's a bigger and stronger first XI than we're currently putting out, a change is as good as a rest and all that.

Still though, against DCFC on thurs, I might go with

Devine
    Hoggy Benno Murray Murphy
    Doyle George Gamble Kearney
    Behan Fenn

if we're going to go long, we may as well have a strong target.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Points on the board

Every player needs to remember that shíte performances are not good enough and dont cut it anymore.

Play like you mean to win ....... there is no if's or but's at this stage.

The players that put in the effort for the rest of the season should be kept, the ones with no pride, passion, balls or heart .... kick the fúckers to the curb.

Get the fúck off the team and stop getting in the ****ing way.

And passing the fúcking message on !!

Remember ...........

Points on the board

ah..eannas back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Along with the what team would you pick thread, I'm just wondering what people would actually do to sort the "problems" out?

Personally, I don't think there's a whole lot wrong but we need to get a few new players in and straighten things out. The following are things I'd suggest we need to do:
    1. Put George back up front- Fenn's an excellent player, but he has not fitted into the team as well as we hoped.
    2. Drop Flynn and put Doyler up front. Doyler's proved he can play up front and he's wasted on the right, Flynn just doesn't look up for it at the moment. He can't continue to play based on reputation alone.

so ur playing george and doyler up front

no way would i drop fenn. he has been one of the + pionts this season.

also i reckon we will see less and less of georgie this season

how the fcuk can he go back intothe dressing after the comments about foriegn players...do we wnt danny to get a jail sentence .

when all are fit and providing george goes

hoggie,murray,benno,murphy

doyle gamble colin kearney

fenn s o flynn

Eanna, Fenn has been our player of the season imo with Danny Murphy a close second. They're the last two you should drop. Of course there's room for Fenn and Georgie in the same team, there have been games this season when we have been brilliant because of them playing in the same team. I think if we had the right player next to Georgie in midfield with Fenn and Doyler (or Flynny firing on all cylinders) up front it would work very very well.

Corner, surely Georgie and any players he's insulted can resolve their differences for the good of the club..... hopefully anyway!
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm

Corner, surely Georgie and any players he's insulted can resolve their differences for the good of the club..... hopefully anyway!
    i hope so, but dont think danny would take too kindly to being called a foriegner

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    i hope so, but dont think danny would take too kindly to being called a foriegner
    Maybe he didn't call Danny a foreigner though! Danny, Dan and Fenn all consider themselves Irish, I think Danny even has an Irish passport. I'm nearly 100% certain that Georgie was not referring to any of that trio in his comments. I think he was talking about players from much further afield. To be honest I interperated that remark as a dig at the Lopez signing in particular.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Eanna, Fenn has been our player of the season imo with Danny Murphy a close second. They're the last two you should drop. Of course there's room for Fenn and Georgie in the same team, there have been games this season when we have been brilliant because of them playing in the same team. I think if we had the right player next to Georgie in midfield with Fenn and Doyler (or Flynny firing on all cylinders) up front it would work very very well.
    You're right when you say with the RIGHT player next to George it would work. But we don't have that player, and based on that we have to pick a team. Fenn has been good, I wouldn't deny that. But I honestly don't think that having him and George in the team works. Not with who we have right now anyway. Fenn is a class act, but if it came to a straight choice between him and George, I'd pick george every time. Whatever about the rights and wrongs of george giving out to the media he was spot on when he said it shows that he and flynny are being missed. He was class up front for us and he shouldn't have been moved.

As for Murphy-like I said he's a very good player, but he keeps charging forward too much and I think its affecting our defence. I honestly think part of the reason Dan Murray's been so poor is that he's been trying to cover Murphy and has been caught out of position.

did anyone ever think that the answer could be right before our eyes with swapping georgie with fenn...put fenn in the middle as a plymaker,after all, he does spend a lot of the game comin deep to get the ball...people might say hes to weak but i dont buy that.. we have often see him hold 2/3,maybe 4 players off to bring somebody into the play

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    did anyone ever think that the answer could be right before our eyes with swapping georgie with fenn...put fenn in the middle as a plymaker,after all, he does spend a lot of the game comin deep to get the ball...people might say hes to weak but i dont buy that.. we have often see him hold 2/3,maybe 4 players off to bring somebody into the play
    I think it would be worth a try definitley. I just wonder whether Fenn would really be able to impose himself in midfield-no harm in trying it at all though

eastcork
    Agree totally with Dropping Flynn and Murray. Murray has been poor of later and we all go "Christ, whats he going to do now" when he has the ball everytime he get possession. As for O Flynn, he is someone seriously lacking a bit of balls and heart...

Doyle up front - Yes Definetly (best position for him and he loves playing there)
    Fenn in Midfield - No as he would be ok creativity wise but terrible defending wise
    Drop Danny Murphy - No way. He is a good player. Besides, who else. Billy Woods. You may as well not have anyone playing left midfield then with him left back as all he does is hoof, hoof, hoof!!
    Behan start - Yes, give the fella a run of 4-5 games. He deserves his chance. Start either him and Doyle or, Fenn or Doyle.

George - i would not start him another game if i was dolan. what he said over weekend was a disgrace and if i was a team mate of his, i would have told him so. *****.

Quote Originally Posted by eastcork
    Agree totally with Dropping Flynn and Murray....
    No argument here.
    But who do we play instead of Murray? Colin in the back 4 again? We need Coughlan back in the squad. Part time or otherwise. I know he hoofs the ball and isn't the fastest player, but it would create competition for places.

Flynn needs to be dropped, if only to give him a kick up the @rse. Behan or Doyle up front. I don't care which. A spell on the bench to try and wake up JOF is required.

144 Posts
    Why not play both of them up front together or one behind the other in a kind of 4-4-1-1 formation.
    2. Drop Flynn
    Agree
    3. Drop Dan Murray. He's not worked out as captain and his form has been brutal lately. We all know how good he can be, so why isn't he doing it? No excuses, at this stage he'd be the first out the door if I had my way.
    I'd bring back Derek to play with Benno.

4. Drop Danny Murphy- I know I'll get crucified for this, but he's getting caught out of position way too often for my liking.
    Don't like the idea of Billy anywhere near the team, he's awful, what about Hoggie at LB, i'm sure at this stage he'd do anything to get a game.

5. Sign a new centre half and a new central midfielder. Murray needs replacing, Benno would benefit from an experienced player alongside him. As for midfield, we just don't have the steel in midfield-
    We've needed this kind of a player since Reynolds left and all on this board have been aware of this, shame the management haven't. Lopez may fill this role who knows?
    6. Get the spirit back. Things were great last season and until Europe before it started falling apart- they've had their clear the air talks or whatever now, its about time they realised we pay for them to wear their flash clothes and whatever else it is they do and start showing us some respect. A bit of fight out on the park would be a good start.
    Derek would certainly help this, when was the last time we had a player sent off? or even booked for a Deckie Style tackle, we need players who will do anything it takes, Blood Sweat and Tears,

Quote Originally Posted by eltom62
    Maybe Murphy gets into midfield because we dont have anyone playing left mid.

EH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

liam kearney

I think going 3-5-2 might help ye, somewhere along the lines of:

............................Devine................ ............
    .............Horgan....Bennett....Murray.......... ...
    Colin T......Gamble ....Georgie.....Kearney...Woods.
    ......................Fenn.....Doyle.............. ............

I think this gives ye good height and football ability at the back. wide lads that can defend, a good mix of pace skill and bottle in the middle, and two cracking strikers.

Plus it would make John O'Flynn move his ass into gear rapid....

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap

............................Devine................ ............
    .............Horgan....Bennett....Murray.......... ...
    Colin T......Gamble ....Georgie.....Kearney...Woods.
    ......................Fenn.....Doyle.............. ............
    That looks good alright !! but i'd switch Benno and Murray ..... but afraid Murray would get turned to easily, Benno would react faster. Could be some great football played in the middle.

i like, but drop woods

Quote Originally Posted by eastcork
    Drop Danny Murphy - No way. He is a good player. Besides, who else. Billy Woods. You may as well not have anyone playing left midfield then with him left back as all he does is hoof, hoof, hoof!!
    I'd play hoggy right back and greg right back. wouldn't let Billy anywhere near the team. as for the 3-5-2 thing- not a chance. don't trust the formation at all