Thread: Thursday night again?!

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    that evening we probably had more support than ye ever brought to the cross
    Keep dreaming. We used to bring great crowds when it was sunday down there but since friday nights.........

Dont forget you're the only show in town down there whereas we have 4 clubs so considering you had not even a hundred up on a saturday, and an All Ireland, you've got to admit that's not good considering you've got "The best support in Ireland"!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    ......so considering you had not even a hundred up on a saturday, and an All Ireland, you've got to admit that's not good considering you've got "The best support in Ireland"!...
    To be honest, as you say, considering that it was a saturday and that the All-Ireland was on the next day the numbers we had disappointed me. There was more than a hundred of us there to be fair though
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

so considering you had not even a hundred up on a saturday, and an All Ireland, you've got to admit that's not good considering you've got "The best support in Ireland"!

yes we have got the best support in ireland...facts and figures prove that

and we had well more then 100 up there

in fact we nearly have more than 100 at every away game

when is the last time rovers even brought 50 to the cross

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    What is it about Thursday nights that gets more fans out? Genuine Q.
    Is it that the pubs and clubs take from it on saturday, people heading off for the weekend?

I seriously think its to do with the 'Saturday night out' syndrom....All over Ireland not Just in Derry people tend to go out drinking/for meals with their families/wives/gfs. If your not getting out of a game to around 9.30pm it makes it more difficult for people to do both.

You know yourself the diehards like you or me will not give a flying feck about what the wife/gf has to say but theres a 'core' of support out there that will dwindle away if they have other 'plans'....!! Saturday nights for me over the past few seasons was 'lads night out at the game' / even friday nights if we are playing away, but not all fans can manage it (pussies).

When we started playing Saturday nights the board brought the KO forward by 15 minutes to 7.30pm....still too late I thought, a KO around 6.30 or 7pm would have given that 'core' the option of going to the game then doing whatever else they had planned.

Oh...Corner boy.....I never went to mass on a saturday night, last one on a sunday morning if i got home from the night before lol
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Keep dreaming. We used to bring great crowds when it was sunday down there but since friday nights.........

Dont forget you're the only show in town down there whereas we have 4 clubs so considering you had not even a hundred up on a saturday, and an All Ireland, you've got to admit that's not good considering you've got "The best support in Ireland"!
    There about 200 of us there, not 100, which is still dissappointing considering it was a Saturday. We have in fact brought bigger crowds to some friday games this season (both Pats games and the first Bohs trip spring to mind). We'll bring at least 400 to Waterford in a few weeks and we even had alright crowds in Derry and Longford. Tell me when was the last time ye brought more than 100 to a game outside of Dublin?
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    We'll bring at least 400 to Waterford in a few weeks
    400+

take over the stand again...overflow

love this trip.

yellow house here we come

None of you will beat the 'away' support between Derry and Finn Harps. At every derby in the past there is at least 800 or so away fans, the play-off last year seen us take over 2,000 fans to Ballybofey.

Id rather see them rot in the first division were they belong but it looks like we will have an easy 9 points next season again.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    There about 200 of us there, not 100, which is still dissappointing considering it was a Saturday. We have in fact brought bigger crowds to some friday games this season (both Pats games and the first Bohs trip spring to mind). We'll bring at least 400 to Waterford in a few weeks and we even had alright crowds in Derry and Longford. Tell me when was the last time ye brought more than 100 to a game outside of Dublin?
    200 my arse. Eh scroll up and read what I said last time.

Last time we brought more than a 100 outside Dublin? Probably Longford and Drogheda and for last year Poland and Liberec.

We still have the most dedicated hardcore there is considering the amount of crap we've had to put up with in the last 17 years.

Dortie surely Harps coming up is better than dublin ****y being in the premier?!

Yep, cant wait to see Dublin City relegated, another club with nothing to bring to Irish football. Id rather have Dundalk or Sligo promoted than Harps though........

Unfortunately Dublin City's rivals in the 'fans department' will be up again too...UC Fecking D

Last time we brought more than a 100 outside Dublin? Probably Longford and Drogheda and for last year Poland and Liberec.

what a bunch of supporters. fair play to ye

500+ we had in nantes

easily bring about 600 to waherfur

carlsberg dont do away support but if they did..........................

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    what a bunch of supporters. fair play to ye

500+ we had in nantes

easily bring about 600 to waherfur

carlsberg dont do away support but if they did..........................
    There's nothing like the sound of a bandwagon rolling by........

And Corner, whenever you bring as many to Derry as we did to Cork for the cup semi two years ago then you can use your Carlsberg line

BTW NYHOOP, your lot def had more than 100 in Derry earlier in the season.

lads the who brings the most away fans debate is infantile and I steer well clear of it (afterall 20 hardcore pats fans or my mates on tour will always be a "better" crowd to me than 10,000 of any other teams - its all relative to the banter and craic)

anywho just in reply to dorties reply to my post:

yeah I agree with you Dortie my point is why has this realisation dawned on them now?

surely to god derry have already played on both nights in seasons gone by - they know well by now and should have known at the start of teh season

we'll have a sh;t crowd tonight but its the people who booked overnights that are really put out - dont change horses in mid stream - too much short termism in this league when it comes to planning

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    lads the who brings the most away fans debate is infantile and I steer well clear of it (afterall 20 hardcore pats fans or my mates on tour will always be a "better" crowd to me than 10,000 of any other teams - its all relative to the banter and craic)

anywho just in reply to dorties reply to my post:

yeah I agree with you Dortie my point is why has this realisation dawned on them now?

surely to god derry have already played on both nights in seasons gone by - they know well by now and should have known at the start of teh season

we'll have a sh;t crowd tonight but its the people who booked overnights that are really put out - dont change horses in mid stream - too much short termism in this league when it comes to planning

No grounds to argue, Im ****ed off myself at our clubs decision, I hate thursday nights, I cant have a good bloody drink !!!...And I understand your 'overnighters' anger as I myself spend many a friday night in Dubland.

89 Posts
    WWS

At the start of the season it was believed that the League was going to implement a "set nights" policy so we thought that Saturday would be our best(can't have Friday due to doggies)

However Dublin City ploughed ahead with a Thursday night policy.

Crowds were significantly down so at oen of the regular Fans Forums the board announced that we would move back to a Thursday night for a trial basis. Crowds have improved so we are staying on a Thursday for the moment
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

was that an improved crowd last night?

any way, Jim Roddy walked by us in the second half - let him know our thoughts on the thursday "switch" - he didnt look a happy camper

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    was that an improved crowd last night?

any way, Jim Roddy walked by us in the second half - let him know our thoughts on the thursday "switch" - he didnt look a happy camper
    To me it looked the same as the Saturday crowd, around 2,000 there last night.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    What is it about Thursday nights that gets more fans out? Genuine Q.
    Is it that the pubs and clubs take from it on saturday, people heading off for the weekend?
    Thursday is dole day! Friday night is doggy night! Saturday night no money!

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    Thursday is dole day! Friday night is doggy night! Saturday night no money!
    Says the redneck who cant get a Job in Bogland (Donegal)

You should try and get to a Harps game and bring the attendance up to an average of 601