To be fair, I think the munster supporters would be more traditionalist, even though ROG pointed out on a wet evening in musgrave park in the late 90s/00s playing to 1500 in the ****ing rain, it would be more of a thing to be seen at by the South Dubs and the schools.
I don't know what you mean, but one memorable moment from my playing career springs to mind.
I was playing up in North Co. Dublin, Rush I think. I was in goals and some local kids were throwing stones at me from behind the net. I tried to sound hard and I put on my toughest Dublin accent and said "lads, will yiz ****ing quit throwing ****stones". Which prompted the young knackers to roll around laughing and one said "Ah Jaysus, the goalie's a poshie".
I dont think buying a ticket for a game that doesnt get used equals support for the Irish team. It is financial support for the association that "runs" Irish football. Support can be shown in other meaningful ways whether you are at home or abroad. Look its all well and good to support in a way that you see fit, i just dont think it makes you any more of a supporter of the Irish team. I also like to see a return on my support - if i commit passion i expect it in return, if i commit cash i expect something for that. For you to purchase a ticket and have a seat sit empty makes no sense to me. It should/could be donated to charity or someone who cannot afford a ticket, no? I think that is what i have most problem with...
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
It might/would be an issue if the game was a sure fire sell out.
It's Paul's choice in this instance to regard the FAI as a charity.
Leave the lad alone![]()
I smell an offer of a LOI season ticket, at a very good price, on its way to Paul's inbox.
No but i buy all the raffle tickets for the club at home and the big draw at christmas which probably costs about the same as a season ticket at a LOI ground. Ok probably not....
I'm 40 miles form a LOI ground. Or was, multiply that by at least 10 now![]()
So they say. The LOI is a great concept and so are the fans but that's as far as it goes.
Last edited by SkStu; 13/02/2013 at 7:09 PM.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Quinlan's Irish Times observations have receivbed a lot of response:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...9.html?via=mr#
Go much further in that club? But does it help the development or grants given out to local clubs who nurture and give an outlet to people in my area? No it doesn't. Whatever little amount goes to development officers or money to clubs either directly or indirectly through my purchase of an international ticket, its definitely better than not buying one.
I've never been contacted by a charity but I would be more than willing, otherwise like geysir says, unless the match was sold out then I don't think redistribution becomes a problem, in fact I would be more against it for many reasons, not least because those who go to the crap games deserve the big ones as well or the more difficult ones to get to, deserve to be able to go to the less difficult ones to get to also - where I would want to go - but also because I think the FAI could do with another sale.
If you don't want to buy one or support in that way fair enough, I accept that. You make the point that if you commit cash you accept something back, if/when you give cash to sponsor a child in africa, do you expect to get a letter back saying Dear Skstu....?
Last edited by paul_oshea; 14/02/2013 at 9:18 AM.
Yes and that's why I said I buy tickets for club draws and christmas raffles etc also.
So Bonnie's hopes are going well then...
This thread is like a horror story. Why someone would actively seek to give hard earned money, to further line the pockets of Mein Führer Delaney is beyond me.