Thread: George on Red FM

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    I agree with you. IMO, that was because they were not allowed play by CCFC who were very well organised on the pitch, they had a game plan, Dolan had worked out the right tactics, and there was real commitment.
    This did not come out of thin air. There was a real sense of unity within the club and the team itself. And it did not hurt that the supporters were really behind the team and manager.
    wheres this now? im sorry fpb but ive been keeping a tight lip on criticising too much as its good for nobody but clearly something has to change. if that requires a change in personel, do it NOW. if it doesnt, all the better.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    6 and thats it appartantly

no....5...remember we lost away to nantes

as for fair play..totally contradicted yourself.

u agree with gavinzac that teams played below themselves but then go onto say that dolan had a great game plan

that means that teams didnt play below themselves,it means city had a better game plan

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    got 5 great results in europe.... that isnt down to the rub of the green and as playing above ourselves thats only sh!t talk....how many times can u play above yourself
    You can get really fired up for big matches if you want to. I was at the Nantes home match, Yee played brilliantly. 1 of the best performances from an Irish side i've seen. But look what happened the following Wednesday, UCD away, **** ground, no fans, You can still get fired up for it if you really want to. But no, Cork players thinking they were above this. Even the League Cup, I know it's a sh1t cup but it's always nice to win something, or have you forgotten how that feels After Cork went out to Limerick, there was a few of youse on here sayin that its good to be out of it so "we can concentrate on Europe". Well done yee did well in Europe, but i'd say there is a few of youse on here who would like a bit of silverware?

that means that teams didnt play below themselves,it means city had a better game plan
    Ok, I did not see it that way. The way I looked at it, Nantes, NEC and Malmo would not have been tested if City went out with less belief in themselves.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    Ok, I did not see it that way. The way I looked at it, Nantes, NEC and Malmo would not have been tested if City went out with less belief in themselves.

so teams dont play well anymore...its that the team they are playing are playing below themselves

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    This is exactly what shouldn't happen and what Lennox won't do. To pay Dolan out of his contract and have to pay to get one of those fro their contract would cost City thousands of euro. Never would I accept Fenlon to our club and nor would he ever leave Shels at this minute for that matter. As for Doolin...never won anything in his managerial career comes to mind. Just compare Dolans record in management to say Fenlon or Doolin....

I'll acess Dolan at the end of the season, and I'd be amazed if he wasn't our manger come the last home game against Bohs. Things aren't going great right now and there is alot of negativity about the place but we still have 13 or so games to go. Sacking him now would put us back another 12 months.
    i dont specifically mean fenlon or doolin... i mean someone with the tactical, mental and leadership ability to command a team. i dont actually want to see dolan sacked, but he's gone very far down in my opinion. he can only do so much when it comes to locking himself in a room to plot malmo's downfall. he clearly didnt think very much at all about the bohs game, letting a personal dispute get in the way of the team.

given an opportunity to at this moment and only at this moment, move dolan upstairs and bring in a good manager, would you take it?

so teams dont play well anymore...its that the team they are playing are playing below themselves
    I think what he is trying to say is that THE 3 TEAMS THAT YOU PLAYED IN EUROPE WERE NOT PLAYING TO THE STANDARD OF WHAT THEY CAN DO

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    I think what he is trying to say is that THE 3 TEAMS THAT YOU PLAYED IN EUROPE WERE NOT PLAYING TO THE STANDARD OF WHAT THEY CAN DO
    its a difficult concept i know

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN

u can catch 1 team on the hop,,but 3 on the trot,im not buying that

difficult concept i know

u can catch 1 team on the hop,,but 3 on the trot,im not buying that

difficult concept i know
    we only caught 2 of them, one because they hadnt a clue about us, the other because they were just back in traiining and didnt take us seriously. nantes werent fully prepared either but they still beat us, fairly over the two legs. we played well, but they beat us fairly.

as i stated 5 great results.....all 5 games couldnt have been luck...

dont mind luck, luck is when a ball bounces your way, CIRCUMSTANCE is when factors like the timing of the game and a team mental preparation have an effect on the game. CIRCUMSTANCES lead to us being very impressive,

im not trying to say we didnt play well in europe, we did, my point is that none of this is relevant to the CIRCUMSTANCES we are now playing under week in week out,