Ryder Cup, Anyone?

Harrington/Monty maintain lead
    17/09/2004 - 14:25:37
    Taken from BreakingNews.ie
    Padraig Harrington and Colin Montgomerie are maintaining their lead in the Ryder Cup opener against Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson.

Montgomerie and Harrington both missed eagle putts on the second to go two up, Woods holing from four feet for birdie to halve the hole.

That was only a temporary reprieve however, Harrington holing from four feet for birdie on the par three third to put the Europeans two ahead.

Darren Clarke and Miguel Angel Jimenez had halved the opening hole in par with Davis Love and Chad Campbell, but Jimenez’s birdie on the second was enough to win the hole with Clarke five feet away for an eagle.

Harrington/ Montgomerie v Woods/Mickelson

Harrington/ Montgomerie 2 up thru 4

Nah...

Wouldn't have any interest in wathcing it. Will check resulkts on teletext but thats about it...

Might be different if was on terrestial tv...

Media gives it way too much coverage.

Funniest comment i heard was they saying be noisey crowd cos Detroit is a blue collar city. Like there be Motor-City Mechanics attending the Country Club

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Media gives it way too much coverage.
    It's effectively the World Cup of the sport, why wouldn't the media give it so much coverage?

Funniest comment i heard was they saying be noisey crowd cos Detroit is a blue collar city. Like there be Motor-City Mechanics attending the Country Club
    Your view of the sport is very dated, Pete!
    You're applying the old British attitude to America.
    Did you not see what happened in Brookline?
    Golf is for everyone.

230 Posts
    Don't mind watching at all. Yank fans have not reached the beer tents yet. Listen for 'you de man' and 'in the hole' from 500yds. Bud and Miller should kick in soon. Hate that sh**te.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish
    Don't mind watching at all. Yank fans have not reached the beer tents yet. Listen for 'you de man' and 'in the hole' from 500yds. Bud and Miller should kick in soon. Hate that sh**te.
    i'm watchin it now, there's a lot of hollering and whooping and "YEAH TIGER" every time he hits the fecking thing. if they're like that now imagine sunday. makes me glad that they don't have a feckin hope of winning the thing!
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    It's effectively the World Cup of the sport, why wouldn't the media give it so much coverage?

Except if youre from outside of the USA or Europe which is about 90%? of the worlds population.

Isnt there some sort of international event as well, where countries play each other?

Funny its never made the Olympics

Hate golf anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Ruairi
    makes me glad that they don't have a feckin hope of winning the thing!
    I hope you're right.
    Looking good for us so far.
    Live scores here.

Quote Originally Posted by eoinh
    Hate golf anyway
    The game of golf doesn't suffer because hate it.
    The only one who could possibly suffer from this negative emotion is you.
    Perhaps you should turn off the TV and DVD player and get down to the driving range. You may surprise yourself.
    Golf costs me a hell of a lot less each year than football does that's one thing for sure.
    Last edited by Peadar; 17/09/2004 at 3:19 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Perhaps you should turn off the TV and DVD player and get down to the driving range. You may surprise yourself.
    Golf costs me a hell of a lot less each year than football does that's one thing for sure.
    IMO golf one of those sports a hell of lot better playing than watching cos not a good tv sport.

Hopefully none of those blue-collar types be bring these down to the Country Club.

IMO golf one of those sports a hell of lot better playing than watching cos not a good tv sport.
    The more you play it the more you watch it, I think.
    It's true for the majority of sports that playing is better than watching.
    Except for boxing stuff like that

230 Posts

Hopefully none of those blue-collar types be bring these down to the Country Club.

LMAO
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

230 Posts
    It's going to rain insults and catcalls and dumb, redneck American patriotism.

Let's face it, US captain Hal Sutton is J R Ewing without the brains or the ten gallon hat. He's an arrogant, gung-ho Southern boy with a very rich daddy in the oil business.

When his idea of motivating his team is to point to the Stars and Stripes on the back of his jacket, you know this Ryder Cup could end up making the Battle of Brookline look like a picnic.

No wonder the European captain, who is a study in diplomacy and reserve compared to Sutton, says he is preparing his team for the worst.

All the signs are there. Bad signs. Don't rule out some bonehead stunt linking the players to the troops in Iraq. Americans love working themselves and their fans into a frenzy by confusing sport with war.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 17/09/2004 at 8:05 PM.

244 Posts
    its like not being into athletics but watching the olympics or into cycling and watching the tour.
    its simply watching some of the best golfers in the world playing for pride and thier country instead of for wads of dosh.
    me, i think its great and am watching it now as i'm typing this

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish
    It's going to rain insults and catcalls and dumb, redneck American patriotism.

Let's face it, US captain Hal Sutton is J R Ewing without the brains or the ten gallon hat. He's an arrogant, gung-ho Southern boy with a very rich daddy in the oil business.

When his idea of motivating his team is to point to the Stars and Stripes on the back of his jacket, you know this Ryder Cup could end up making the Battle of Brookline look like a picnic.

No wonder the European captain, who is a study in diplomacy and reserve compared to Sutton, says he is preparing his team for the worst.

All the signs are there. Bad signs. Don't rule out some bonehead stunt linking the players to the troops in Iraq. Americans love working themselves and their fans into a frenzy by confusing sport with war.
    that's remarkably similar to what oliver holt wrote in yesterday's mirror.....
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Come on the Europe,kill those cocky sh!thead's.

UUUUUUUUUUSA........UUUUUUUUUUUSA.FCUKING ****S

Wavin' the flag

Great shot on Sky's coverage today of Harrington and Monty walking to the first tee and stopping to banter with 2 gobs**tes wearing Dub GAA jerseys and holding the tricolour the wrong way round.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ruairi
    that's remarkably similar to what oliver holt wrote in yesterday's mirror.....
    Thats where I got it. Thought it was a great article. Should have said I suppose.

COME ON EUROPE!!!

just three more points needed now....

*btw, anyone feel more european cause of the ryder cup???? *

Ya nearly there now.Did ye see the fella in the Cork Gaa jersey run over to Harrington after the two irish boys trashed Woods and Love.

THE AUL OLE OLE was sung load and proud aswell,I'd say the yanks didn't know what was going on.

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat
    THE AUL OLE OLE was sung load and proud aswell,I'd say the yanks didn't know what was going on.
    Ye, that was class. Yur Man from Sky trying to interview Harrington and McGinley and the Irish lads in the background singing olé, olé. Also heard the Fields of Athenry being blasted out!

Did ye see the fella in the Cork Gaa jersey run over to Harrington after the two irish boys trashed Woods and Love.
    He was looking to get hold of Harrington's cap but Harrington ignored him (as Dubs usually do with Cork h**rs) and gave his cap to what looked like a proper golf fan.