Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Irish team v France

38 Posts

Irish team v France

I know it's still a few weeks away, but what do you think the Irish team will be in Paris. Knowing Kerr, I think he'll take the cautious approach, so here's what I'm going for (provided everyone stays fits).

Given
    Carr - Cunningham - O'Brien - O'Shea
    Finnan - Kilbane - Kavanagh - Roy Keane - Duff
    Robbie Keane

What do the rest of you think??

If he does decide to go 4-4-2, I would expect Kilbane to be the one to make way for Morrison.

wouldn`t surprise me if kerr went for 4-5-1 as he is a defensive manager
    i`d go for a 4-4-2 myself and try and have a bit of a go at the french.

we don`t seem to be positive at all when we play away from home which is probably the main reason we haven`t beaten a decent team away from home since scotland in 87.

given
    carr-cunningham-o`brien-finnan
    reid-keane-kavanagh-duff
    morrison-keane

i`d leave o`shea and kilbane out. i`d love to see kavanagh clatter into henry in the first few minutes like he did with gilberto in the brazil match.

Beanie
    After last nite i would definitely not have O'shea anywhere near the team, John's not really arsed anymore. Finnan to edge Reid out of the right-side of midfield slot i know Carr looked shakey last time, but he has good defensive cover with Finnan instead of Reid, Midfield probably Kavanagh, I have been disappointed with Miller, average for Utd looked like lightweight boxing in a heavyweight division and then he gets injured and disappears in the reserves

it is early to judge as injuries can (but hopefully wont) happen

4-4-2

given

reid-keane-kilbane-duff

morrison-keane
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    it is early to judge as injuries can (but hopefully wont) happen

4-4-2

given

reid-keane-kilbane-duff

morrison-keane
    Regardless of what anybody's personal opinion is , Lionel Ritchie's team will probably be the one to step onto the field in the stade de france.
    However if he is a bit concerned and wants to flood the midfield I think Robbie could be the one to give way with KAv lining out in midfield. If you look at the recent press cuttings for the last few games , BK has been very generous with his praise for CLint , probably a lot more so than us on the North Terrace!!!
    This is how I expect the team to line out:

Given
    Carr Andy Kenny Finnan
    Kav Keane Kil
    Reid Duff
    Clint

The team I would like to see line out is similar. I'm still not sure whether Andy Reid fits into the team at the mo. We were bad on the right hand side against the Swiss and although he had a fine game against Cyprus personally I feel we don't have enough width with Reidy on the right. If that donkey Silvestre starts at left back for France what chances would Duff be on the right wing and Andy on the left????
    Kav deserves his chance. He will provide a bit of a bite in the centre. Carr was and has been poor for a while now and if John O'Shea showed any sign of interest in competing in a match he'd be in and Carr would be replaced by Finnan. Hopefully the change of boss at the Toon will get STevie Carr back motoring. But O'Shea is not a left full and shouldn't be considered to be one either. As much as Kilbane gets abused I have a liking for him , more so because of the work that he gets through and the covering he does(when on the wing) which I think will be needed in Paris. Ithink the game may be a step too far too soon for Reidy. Disect this team as you will.
    Kingdom Abu

Given
    Carr Andy Kenny Finnan
    Duff Keane Kav Kilbane
    Robbie Clint
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe
    i`d love to see kavanagh clatter into henry in the first few minutes like he did with gilberto in the brazil match.
    So you reckon Kavanagh can catch Henry, I don't think so, unless he does him
    in the tunnel before the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    I think Lionel Ritchie has hit the nail on the head with that team selection. let's just hope someone else can hit Henry and Pires on the head in the next few weeks.
    Well if I have it'll be the first time I've hit anything football related with any degree of accuracy

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom
    However if he is a bit concerned and wants to flood the midfield I think Robbie could be the one to give way with KAv lining out in midfield.
    Surely not bothering to leave dublin Airport but instead hurtling oneself through the turbines of the planes revved up engines would be a less painful form of absolute fcukin' suicide?
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

20 Posts
    Sadly, I think Richie is correct on the team formation. The French will be well aware of this team as well and won't be particularly concerned about it. What about this for a little wrinkle:

Given

Carr (RB - Can perform when needed)

O'Brien

Cunningham

Kilbane (LB - Can cover ground and will kick Henry at some point in the game)

Duff (LM)

Keane

Kavanagh

Finnan (RM - Playing well at the moment and will link up well with Carr)

Keane (He will thrive in this game)

Morrisson (Evidently is in love with Brian Kerr...supposedly very close with him so will give 100% on the night come hell or high water).

Could we wear them down and bussle a French side low in confidence aside with a team like:

Given

Carr Cunningham O'Brien O'Shea

Finnan Quinn Keane Kavanagh Kilbane

Morrison

Or will we try score perfect goals with a another low tempo performance like against the Swiss and go with:

Given

Finnan Cunningham O'Brien O'Shea

Duff Keane Kavangh Kilbane

Keane Morrison

I would love to see the first team above go out and just harry the French off the pitch Come on Brian kick it up a notch, we ned to work harder than the opposition.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

38 Posts
    [QUOTE=1MickCollins]Could we wear them down and bussle a French side low in confidence aside with a team like:

Given

Morrison

Are ye mad, leave Duff and Robbie Keane out.

[QUOTE=harps1954]
    Quote Originally Posted by 1MickCollins
    Could we wear them down and bussle a French side low in confidence aside with a team like:

Given

Morrison

Are ye mad, leave Duff and Robbie Keane out.
    Aye Indeed. Mick pass that bottle of turps over this way when you're done gulping out of it.

Seriously we don't have the luxury of leaving argueably our two best players to carry water and orange slices so as to facilitate a system.
    To a great extent our player pool dictates the formation and tactics.
    Yeah the french'll know it. big swingin' mickey ...I'm sure they'll have countainanced the possible alternatives at Brians disposal too.
    No benefit IMO to be had from playing a system we're at best unsure of and at worst unsuited to just to keep the French guessing.

Quote Originally Posted by 1MickCollins

Given

Morrison

Or will we try score perfect goals with a another low tempo performance like against the Swiss and go with:

Given

Finnan Cunningham O'Brien O'Shea

Duff Keane Kavangh Kilbane

Keane Morrison

I would love to see the first team above go out and just harry the French off the pitch Come on Brian kick it up a notch, we ned to work harder than the opposition.
    Quit the space invaders mick....and lay off the drugs.....their obviously wrecking your head
    If Kerr puts out your first team.....I'll divin off the Eiffel Tower, head first
    Last edited by Littlest Hobo; 17/09/2004 at 10:34 AM.
    Never eat yellow snow!!

I see where you're coming from Mick, a Jack Charlton-style hassle and pressurise job and bombard them. Only problem is that we're just not up to that anymore. Houghton, Townsend and McGrath could do that all day long, as could Aldridge and Stapleton upfront. Compare the midfield of that time - full of tough nuts, if not overly skillful - to ours today. It's completely different, unfortunately, and the players just don't play like that anymore.

Well it was obviously tongue in cheek, the second selection is the one I would go with for what little it matters.

I think we have good players but I think the key man is Brian Kerr not Damien Duff or Robbie Keane. Tactics are more important than players so I don't really understand all your fuss about team selections, you know little about how to win games. Talk tactics not players please.

Brian Kerr will either get us to the WC in Germany or he won't, I focus on the manager that is where it is at. The media may claim that Roy Keane dragged Ireland to WC2002 but I think Mick McCarthy has a better claim to that ( and I am not a big fan of Mick ) and a LOT of luck. Just watch that Ire v Hol game in Lansdowne road again, it seems as soon as the whistle blows we put on the rose tinted glasses and claim a great performance.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

199 Posts
    Given
    carr Kenny O'brien O'shea
    finnan kavanagh keane duff
    Keane morrison

Whats the story with Miller and Holland will they be fit?

Miller probably, but won't be challenging for a first team place at club or country level at this point. Matty H isn't due to be back in first team football until the international break, says Alan Curbishley, so may or may not be included in the squad. Think this is the first time in the history of the known universe the Matty H has got an injury, so I hope to Krishna this'll mean he's a fast healer.

For the France game, me says:
    Paddy Kenny

Carr
    Cunningham
    O' Brien
    Johnno

Allah Reid
    Keano
    Kev
    Oh Aye, my Duffer

Clint
    Robbie

Though there is definitely a case to be made for dropping Clint (despite current Irish form) and slotting Kavanagh into a five man midfield with Duff roaming forward in support. Hope not though. Just joking about Packie Kenny, by the way...

Quote Originally Posted by TerryPhelan

For the France game, me says:

:
    How do you justify including O'Shea ahead of Finnan? 'Jonno' has done f**k all recently and cant get a regular place in an average MU team.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    How do you justify including O'Shea ahead of Finnan? 'Jonno' has done f**k all recently and cant get a regular place in an average MU team.
    Both of them have done **** all this season, but at least O' Shea has done it while playing in a position he is more naturally suited to than Finnan. Admittedly neither are born and bred left backs, but O' Shea has experience playing there at domestic, European and now international levels - he can also use his left foot with less delay than Finnan, who throughout the entire Switzerland game was painfully forced to cut in onto his right everytime he wanted to make the pass. O' Shea is the lesser of two evils in this scenario.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    What? O'Shea has been an ever present for Man U when fit. I'd love to see Finnan left back but against France I'd go for O'Shea as he's more used to the position, I'd play Finnan there in a friendlys though.

If he does play 5 across midfield, then he has to play with two wide men, which will be Duff and Reid\Kilbane. If Reid doesn't cop on to himself at Forest, he won't be playing in Paris due to lack of match practice - he's fat enough as it is. John O'Shea and Kenny Cunningham are big liabilities at the back against the French as well. O'Shea is rubbish, while Cunningham is past it and has about as much pace as Matt Le Tissier. Carr is also not performing for Ireland, while Roy Keane needs to improve dramatically in the coming weeks. Then we have the problem of Duff and Morrison not playing enough games for their clubs. Seriously lads, France might be under-strength, but we're in big trouble as it stands.

My team would be the following, even though ideally I would drop O'Shea, Carr and Kilbane. I'd also drop Cunningham, but there's no cover. I reckon Henry\Cisse could destroy him on the night.

Given
    Finnan Kavanagh Keane Kilbane
    Duff
    Clinton Morrison

Morrison ahead of Robbie Keane cos he holds up the ball better and is a better option away from home. Robbie does too much messing on the ball, plus his decision making is the worst i've ever seen in a top flight striker.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast