Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Gaa 2013

I would have thought it was north-west, yeah. Then again, it's all bogland to me

Wild celebrations at GAA HQ as every GAA official in the land toasts news of a money-spinning All-Ireland final replay.

1,928 Posts
    Revenue is manna, Charlie. Just feel the love.

I played in croke pk a couple of times in schools finals, way back in the day, one of them ended in a draw, the ref had no qualms about going into extra time.
    And if it was still a draw, he probably would have had a penalty shoot out, there was no place on the calendar for a replay. They just wanted to get rid of us and shout 'next'.

I had a wry smile at the fate of the Cork manager, caught on camera on the sidelines, as he smirked the smile of an AI winning manager, in the zone, game over, All Ireland won, a point ahead, a sideline puck, 2 mins gone already played of 2mins extra time.
    Actually i had thought the game was over myself and had turned to leave the room.

1,825 Posts
    Ah the bellyaching over the phantom 30 secs.

O’Donovan had no right to get that point at the end. But what a way to draw the game.

I for one am delighted or it to have gone to a replay. As JBM said, a “draw was a fair result”. Cracking game.

Here’s hoping the football will live up to that.

Speaking of football, I re-watched Dublin-Kerry on Friday evening before the soccer and I’m even more gung-ho about Dublin thoroughly deserving of the result.

Kerry’s last score came in the 62nd from Darran O’Sullivan. That’s a whole 10 minutes before the end of the game.

7 points was the deserved margin and to be honest it could have been more given that Brogan should have scored a goal around the same time and spooned it to Kealy.

Anyway it’s all over. We get the Chokers in Croker! COME ON YOU BOYS IN BLUE!
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    I couldn't believe Cork weren't told to retake that first half free. If a Clare player had rushed a free-taker like that further out the field it'd be a yellow card.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

1,928 Posts
    What are the rules for a penalty puck?
    It should be taken from the 20m line, but taken does not mean hit.
    I saw that player take a few for Cork, he's taking it on the 20m line, by the the time the ball comes down to be hit, he's on the 13m line, then he whacks it towards the net.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    What are the rules for a penalty puck?
    It should be taken from the 20m line, but taken does not mean hit.
    The rule states that it must be struck from the 20m line - but that rule is never adhered to ( one of many in the GAA ) so I can't blame the Clare goalie for rushing out even though the ref told him to reign back on it later.

Incidentally Cork got a goal from the next 20m free and missed a penalty - Cork must have the worst inter-co record when it comes to hurling penalties - I think they have only scored 1 out of the last 10 or something. If they had tapped over the 2 20m frees and goaled the penalty it might have been a different story, but you couldn't complain about the result - in reality no-one from Cork was giving out about the extra 30 seconds - I think it was more the deflation thinking 1 minute you are going to win and then...well....fair played to them - they certainly deserved it.

Two days later and I still have no idea to they managed to score 3-16 while being completely outplayed. It was an epic finish and an unbelievable atmosphere. Roll on Sept 28th.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    The rule states that it must be struck from the 20m line - but that rule is never adhered to ( one of many in the GAA ) so I can't blame the Clare goalie for rushing out even though the ref told him to reign back on it later.
    The rules states it should be taken (not struck) from the 20m line, but is the definition of 'taken', to mean that he can throw it up in the air and gain 5m before he whacks it?
    'Taken' in hurling must mean that you just start with the process of hitting the ball at the 20m line?

The Cork manager complained afterwards about the Clare goalie encroaching for that penalty.
    The Cork player gained 5m before he hit the ball, the Clare goalie was about 3m off his line

I think Cork should be slight favourites for the replay, they will surely be confident that they can improve on that display which nearly pulled it off for them.

777 Posts
    The rules states it should be taken (not struck) from the 20m line, but is the definition of 'taken', to mean that he can throw it up in the air and gain 5m before he whacks it?
    'Taken' in hurling must mean that you just start with the process of hitting the ball at the 20m line?

The Cork manager complained afterwards about the Clare goalie encroaching for that penalty.
    The Cork player gained 5m before he hit the ball, the Clare goalie was about 3m off his line

I think Cork should be slight favourites for the replay, they will surely be confident that they can improve on that display which nearly pulled it off for them.
    I'm assuming the process of moving 5 yards forward is illegal - in theory you must strike the sliothar in the same place as you lift it, before players would lift it and take a step forward as they strike it, illegal, but not much of an advantage - its evolving now into a big lift into the air and forward 5 yards before you hit it. I'd say it will be looked at over the winter.

586 Posts
    I can't ever remember a time when players didn't take a few yards from a penalty or a goal-bound free.

1,928 Posts
    Next Sunday for the football final. The 2 best teams are there which is good, I think that's beyond dispute.
    Right now i don't really care who wins, for me it's a, on the day, who deserves it most, type of a final.
    Of course I have a soft spot for the cinderella team, Dublin,
    however I expect them to buckle under the pressure again, to the Mayo Men.

1,825 Posts
    Next Sunday for the football final. The 2 best teams are there which is good, I think that's beyond dispute.
    Right now i don't really care who wins, for me it's a, on the day, who deserves it most, type of a final.
    Of course I have a soft spot for the cinderella team, Dublin,
    however I expect them to buckle under the pressure again, to the Mayo Men.
    That sounds fiercely like Mayo doesn't it?

Mayo don't do finals and we don't do Mayo in the Championship.

Will be a whopper game. Delightfully I have Monday off.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    That sounds fiercely like Mayo doesn't it?

Mayo don't do finals and we don't do Mayo in the Championship.

Will be a whopper game. Delightfully I have Monday off.
    Or it could be a delightful game and you have the whopper on monday.

199 Posts
    I was in a pub behind enemy lines at the weekend.
    Came out with the statement that I'd rather see England win the WC than a Mayo victory on Sunday, it didn't go down to well as you can imagine...

446 Posts
    Why?
    Thought all you Westies'stuck together'​ ?

199 Posts
    Sligo, Roscommon & Leitrim no problem. I just really dislike Mayo, they're a different breed!

1,825 Posts
    Roscommnon is hell. HELL! Except for Termonbarry.

Uh oh... Enda has made a boo-boo...

Quote Originally Posted by Enda Kenny in the Irish Examiner

Taoiseach invites 1951 heroes to final
    An Taoiseach Enda Kenny will have three special guests with him when he turns out to support his native Mayo in Sunday's All-Ireland SFC final against Dublin at Croke Park.

The three surviving members of the last Mayo team to win the All-Ireland back in 1951 - Paddy Prendergast, Fr Peter Quinn and Pádraig Carney - have been invited to join the Taoiseach for the county's latest tilt at lifting the Sam Maguire Cup.

On September 23, 1951, Mayo emerged as 2-8 to 0-9 victors over Meath with Prendergast playing at full-back, Quinn at left half-back and Carney listed at centre-forward. Carney scored 0-5 (0-4f) that day.

Last year's defeat to Donegal marked Mayo's sixth time to be All-Ireland runners-up in 22 years - they have had to cope with falling at the final hurdle in 1989, 1996, 1997, 2004, 2006 and 2012 - but Enda Kenny believes the current Connacht champions have what it takes to end that losing streak.

"James Horan and his team have done a magnificent job here. I think last year's defeat was a lesson learned by Mayo. I think they're in a place where they can certainly win this," Kenny told the Mayo News.

"This is going to be a lifetime ambition and achievement for all these young men, for the entire panel. I think this is going to be great.

"I'm travelling all the counties of Ireland and there’s not a single county that will begrudge Mayo a win but you've got to win it on the pitch, on the scoreboard. You've got to get the ball over the bar, get the goals when they come.

"They have to win it. Nobody is going to show you any sympathy on the pitch. There's no place to hide anymore. Our panel, our team, are more than capable of doing this."

Kenny has his own All-Ireland links of course, with his father Henry an All-Ireland winner with Mayo back in 1936 and just a fortnight ago his teenage son Naoise won the All-Ireland Minor 'C' Hurling Championship with his Mayo side.

The Taoiseach also dismissed as 'nonsense' the supposed curse that was placed on the Mayo footballers in 1951 after the then All-Ireland winners passed by a funeral in Foxford and failed to pay due respects to the funeral procession.

The local priest at the time was incensed by this and legend has it that he placed a curse on Mayo that they would not win another All-Ireland until all of the 1951 team had died.

Current Foxford priest, Fr Padraig Costello, said there is 'no basis in this curse story' - even checking the parish records for any mention of it.

But thankfully for any superstitious supporters, Fr Costello has given the current Mayo team an official blessing at the bridge over the Moy where his predecessor allegedly imposed the curse 62 years ago.
    http://www.examiner.ie/breakingnews/...al-607451.html

586 Posts
    GAA has this curse thing. Clare hurling has this ridiculous story about Biddy Early cursing the team after their last All-Ireland win, which neglected the fact that Early died decades beforehand.

Baseball is the same. Not sure why it doesn't crop up more in other sports.

1,825 Posts
    Because it's horse sh!t and an easy way to blame failure on it.

214 Posts
    My dad has been banging on about the curse the last 20 years.

I'm gutted I'm not flying back for this one, even without a ticket it's such a brilliant day. If the Mayo forwards turn up then Sam will be heading west. It's going to be a shoot out and that's why Mayo need to be so accurate in front of the posts. Just hope the Mayo lads start well.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast