Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: Pre-season friendlies

It's better to learn lessons and shake off the cob webs now than on march 8th.

Look at us two years ago, we beat everyone in friendlies scoring something like 25 goals and only conceding 3 or 4 and ended up finishing 4th in the first division.

1,554 Posts
    Was it last year that Waterford got battered in a bunch of their pre season games? Means feck all really, although obviously it's best avoided!

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    It's better to learn lessons and shake off the cob webs now than on march 8th.

Look at us two years ago, we beat everyone in friendlies scoring something like 25 goals and only conceding 3 or 4 and ended up finishing 4th in the first division.
    To be fair finishing 4th in that 1st division was probably a better achievement than finishing 2nd or 3rd in last seasons considering how bad the standard was last year.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Was it last year that Waterford got battered in a bunch of their pre season games? Means feck all really, although obviously it's best avoided!
    Ye I think it was Rovers that beat them 5 or 6-0
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

126 Posts
    Waterford did start the season very poorly last year though, probably cost them the league.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Ye I think it was Rovers that beat them 5 or 6-0
    I believe Rovers hit Waterford for 8 in that game and Wexford put 6 past them first or second game of the season.

205 Posts
    I don't think we won one pre-season game last year.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Have Athlone under Roddy Collins played any friendlies he seems to have got in alot of new faces might be worth looking at for the 1st division title.

2,771 Posts
    Howya Roddy...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

3,492 Posts
    They lost to UCD and got thumped by Pat's

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    Waterford did start the season very poorly last year though, probably cost them the league.
    It did cost us the league. Three losses, two draws and only two wins in the first series. We ended up losing the league by four points.

164 Posts
    Yeah we lost 3-0 to Cork, 5-0 at Bray and 8-1 at Rovers, then were hammered 6-0 in Wexford on opening night so it looked fairly bleak. It took until the second series of games to get the shape right in the team with Peter White going into midfield alongside Dempsey and most notably (and amazingly) for Seanie Maguire to get into the first eleven. We were already miles behind by then.

On the flipside, in 2010, we had a superb pre-season and then won our first six league games (still finished 3 points off Derry in the end unfortunately). Largely based on this, I figure that pre-season results only make a difference if they are either extreme. A really good or bad run will have an effect on confidence, but anywhere in the middle and they don't matter.

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    Yeah we lost 3-0 to Cork, 5-0 at Bray and 8-1 at Rovers, then were hammered 6-0 in Wexford on opening night so it looked fairly bleak. It took until the second series of games to get the shape right in the team with Peter White going into midfield alongside Dempsey and most notably (and amazingly) for Seanie Maguire to get into the first eleven. We were already miles behind by then.

On the flipside, in 2010, we had a superb pre-season and then won our first six league games (still finished 3 points off Derry in the end unfortunately). Largely based on this, I figure that pre-season results only make a difference if they are either extreme. A really good or bad run will have an effect on confidence, but anywhere in the middle and they don't matter.
    Seanie Maguire only made the bench for your 2nd game of the season v Limerick. Unfortunately he didn't stay there.

164 Posts
    Yeah, he only came on for the last ten minutes at 1-1. Rounded Barry Ryan with his first touch, scored with his second, almost scored again. By second series of games, I meant games 8 to 14. Think he only started two of the first seven with the plan being to ease him in more gently than we did in the end.

65 Posts
    Dundalk friendly with Dungannon Swifts is off tonight: http://orielupdates.wordpress.com/20...ement-fixture/

Dundalk will now play the Irish Defence Forces in Oriel at 6pm today: http://orielupdates.wordpress.com/20...efence-forces/

Ballinamallard 4 v 2 Derry City from last night

Cobh 0-1 Limerick

Axel Bossekota

Nearly half time i'd say.

433 Posts
    Dundalk 6-2 Irish Defence Forces
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

1,104 Posts
    Thank heavens for "neutrality".

How much are Cobh charging into Friendlys?

Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast