Page 13 of 19 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: Pre-season friendlies

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    You will be saying that a lot this season.
    Oh no he won't!

Look out! He's behind you!

And so on.

27 Posts
    How did Shels manage to get 2 sent off in a friendly against Mervue ?
    Founder, President and Sole Member of the Tipperary Galway United Supporters Club

2,657 Posts
    That fixture has bad blood going way back....

179 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Thoroughly enjoyable game in Sligo tonight. Must say though, it's been a few years since I've been in the showgrounds, and I mistakenly thought they'd replaced the old s**t blue seats, only realising tonight that they're still the same ones that are falling apart. Forgotten how utterly crap the viewing is from the away part.

Otherwise, as I said, enjoyable game, good run out for both teams, Harps were missing two of our starting back four and a handful of other players, and remain unbeaten in pre-season.

Don't want to be getting too optimistic, but Harps are looking pretty good.
    Really! You must have become to used to the fare in the FD is all I can think. Pretty poor game of ball.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by CrowdedHouse View Post
    How did Shels manage to get 2 sent off in a friendly against Mervue ?
    Flynn and Bayly should answer that

238 Posts
    Letterkenny Rovers 1-2 Finn Harps

Funny, I kind of expected that from you.
    I'm glad we're not in FD these days if that's what you class as an enjoyable game.

96 Posts
    I'm glad we're not in FD these days if that's what you class as an enjoyable game.
    You sure it wasn't the result that spoiled your entertainment, rather than the quality of the football?

390 Posts
    No. It was a poor match.

Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post
    You sure it wasn't the result that spoiled your entertainment, rather than the quality of the football?
    Why would it? Pre-season results don't bother me, win, lose or draw.

238 Posts
    From what I can gather is, most Harps folk that were down were delighted at our work-rate, fitness and team shape against a good Sligo side.
    We have a very good 1st division side, had we went there and played Sligo off the pitch, Id be extremely surprised and to be honest, Sligo would seriously need to look at themselves if that happened.
    By the updates, there were plenty of chances in the second half, surely that adds to the excitement of a game?

on a side note, most Harps folk weren't happy at Peers taking out Ciaran Coll at the knee though (I didn't see it so just going by hear-say).

226 Posts
    Forgotten how utterly crap the viewing is from the away part.
    In fairness, they've made it a lot worse in recent years.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    In fairness, they've made it a lot worse in recent years.
    Stand at the wall and it's grand. You'd need to stand on the dog track at the Brandywell to get a good view.

821 Posts
    A draw against Sligo and a win 24 hours later against Leterkenny (with 11 changes) just shows how strong Harps squad is, my money is looking good.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

2,360 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    No. It was a poor match.
    Point exactly to where I said there was good football.

It was a pre-season match. I'd be sticking my house on Finn Harps to win the league, cup and league cup if we went out and blitzed Sligo playing wonderful football.

It was enjoyable. There were plenty of chances. The craic was good. It was good to watch live football again.

Enjoyable.

105 Posts
    It was far from enjoyable. There was no craic and in my humble opinion the Jinks is perfect the way it is, I wouldn't change it. Up there with Drogheda's away end.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    It was far from enjoyable. There was no craic and in my humble opinion the Jinks is perfect the way it is, I wouldn't change it. Up there with Drogheda's away end.
    Have ya not made it down to Dundalk's away patch yet BUD? Bloody amateurs the lot off yee! "Come down once and don't come back MATE! " is the motto and we have no plans to change the situation anytime soon YIS...FreeeeekkkkSS **

*lol *JOKE

179 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    From what I can gather is, most Harps folk that were down were delighted at our work-rate, fitness and team shape against a good Sligo side.
    We have a very good 1st division side, had we went there and played Sligo off the pitch, Id be extremely surprised and to be honest, Sligo would seriously need to look at themselves if that happened.
    By the updates, there were plenty of chances in the second half, surely that adds to the excitement of a game?

on a side note, most Harps folk weren't happy at Peers taking out Ciaran Coll at the knee though (I didn't see it so just going by hear-say).
    It was a fair challenge right in front of your fans. I dont think the referee even gave a free kick for it. Granted is was full blooded and that can be the problem with friendlies in some ways, different teams (and players) show different levels of committment when there isint much to play for. Probably the reason why your fans enjoyed the game as your players seemed up for it and put in a decent performance. Our performance never really got going.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    IMO I don't think it was as bad as some people are making it out to be. Overly ambitious and maybe miss-timed would probably be the best way to describe it. I thought it was pretty bad at the time but on reflection if Wizzy or Cowan had made a similar tackle at Finn Park in a league game most wouldn't of passed much regard to it. That being said it was a friendly game and there wasn't much danger for Sligo a the time as the ball seemed to be going out of play
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Probably the reason why your fans enjoyed the game as your players seemed up for it and put in a decent performance. Our performance never really got going.
    I think your lot never got going as Harps did an excellent job of closing the Sligo players down and not giving them much chance to do anything
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Page 13 of 19 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast