[QUOTE=Cabs88;1660135]Id imagine a local concert with local rock/pop/indie cover bands (perhaps with a younger listener-ship) might be worth looking at..
I remember we did that ourselves for two years in 06/07-the exact same format. I think it was cancelled due to lack of interest from the public but maybe it is worth looking into it again?
[QUOTE=Martinho II;1660216]Going back a bit but I remember the beat on the street used to be a great crowd puller in town. Perhaps something could be looked at in terms of collaboration with the festival organisers in town? Flancare park would be a great venue and im sure the many younger people that go to the Attic discos and older folk who enjoy live music would attend.. A possible time could be around the mid season break, longer days, pitch wouldn be hampered and im sure school/college going students would only look for something to attend..
Agree with Cabs that we need to get people into schools locally again, just look at the amount of kids at tonights under 19 game (I even heard one of them asking their manager would they ever get to play matches there so he was obviously impressed with the ground). The LDSL had their kids at the match tonight and we really should be looking to link up with them somehow (although I have heard some people say this migh nt be easy for one reason or another)
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Jaysus I'd love to get involved in making this stuff happen!
Is it true that there is a spare room under the stand where you can put flags and stuff?
Is Keith Gillespie still up there?
I used to keep those flags spelling out section O there years ago, in fact they are still there!Im sure if you asked one of the stewards if it was ok to leave them there in between games theyd have no problem as long as they weren't taking up too much space.....
Think thats a great idea Cabs about having players down in Abbeycartron every few weeks...a direct connection between young lads playing there every week and the club is crucial to gain support..
On the topic of some kind of concert,I remember one being planned years ago that didnt really take off....hard to know what kind of interest there is for one. It wouldnt be a bad idea getting in contact with someone from the Attic about it. I know they organised a huge one last summer that was held in the Rugby club, think it was something to do with iRadio...
If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.
I'm sure I'm not the only one of my vintage who has fond memories of going to Zac's Training in Abbeycartron (and I was only over on holiday!).
Following on from the thread on the underage international, and what's been done with the club house - is there definitely no way of getting a licence for the club house? I've been lead to believe that the positioning of the toilets is the issue, but it is a real pity that the club can't use it on a match day even (never mind potential income from hiring it out). Cans and bottles only and there needn't be too much costs on infrastructure etc.
The toilets issue was flagged up by the fire safety officer a few years back definitely. There's barrister's fees for the application and the guards weren't too enthusiastic about the idea either if memory serves. Between everything that had to be done I think it would've cost upwards of €10k which the club didn't have at the time. That's just my recollection and circumstances could have changed since, I don't know.
I was slightly involved with the Attic one! It was a great success, and if it is being held again this year I can only see it going from strength to strength.
However, I think Flancare would be too small for it. It was spread out over three pitches, Pearse Park used as the carpark and The Sin Bin used to feed people. It has more or less the perfect location as it is.
Time to start a lobby group.. Cans Under Neath The Stand.. You can come up with a witty acronym for that yourselves..
Seriously, I always felt if we could ever have some sort of a licence out there it would be a great addition.. Head out to flancare at half 5 for a saturday evening EPL game have a few and then the town match.. Think it could be a great source of income if it was ever looked into properly..
A couple of thousand a year for Sky is optimistic. More like ten grand I'd say. They base it on the size of the premises I believe.
Stream it...
Sporting F*ck All!
I personally wouldn't see sky TV as a deal breaker - (stupid) summer season we have anyway. But anyway, TV's showing the previous match would be enough, particularly if it was an away game.
No it wouldn't be legal as far as I know. Breach of copyright.