Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: A few things.....

205 Posts
    A course it isn't legal. There are legal ways of doing it.
    Sporting F*ck All!

I can't figure out whether ye are taking the p1ss or not regarding the streaming...I presume ye are...
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

205 Posts
    There are legal ways of doing it. But I fear we're getting off topic.
    Sporting F*ck All!

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Id imagine a local concert with local rock/pop/indie cover bands (perhaps with a younger listener-ship) might be worth looking at..

As regards the club in the community, I have always felt this is where we have been seriously lacking in the last number of years.. Stephen Kenny was brilliant in this regard, and was regularly seen in town and in schools. The only way the club will build up an affinity with the local community is if they get involved! I often wondered why ads for town games weren't put in Polish and possibly czech. Theres a great opportunity for the Club to do a press release in the coming weeks in the Longford leader, pics of players, interviews etc.. The leader has a very big reach in terms of readership, and the special they do for county final every year is something that should be looked at replicating.
    People will find it hard to build an affinity with the players if they don't recognise them. Pics and interviews in the paper will help this. The gap between local leagues and the Town is something that could be addressed..
    Another possible venture might be if the club had a presence in Abbeycartron once a month or 6 weeks on a Saturday morning talking to players and telling them about games it might be a good idea. You see clubs in England, United for example employ ambassadors for the club. I feel Alan Kirby could be excellent in this regard, well known and respected, and just maybe might encourage one or two new people to attend to the games.. Only a thought

On the charity side, and a community venture it might be an idea to have a charity soccer game between a town XI and a local GAA XI.. It was done in the past and might be something that could be looked at in the future. Longford is a small town/county and many of our supporters support both codes, perhaps we could remind lapsed GAA supporters that there is a soccer club in the town, that play games on a Saturday night, traditionally not a typical GAA slot

My two cents anyway..

The thing with playing a local 11 of gaa or area league players is it can backfire and has done in the past,a team made up of local area league players(most of whom had played at high levels in their younger days) very nearly bet the town 2 or 3 years ago...all the lads playing that day came away laughing thinkin if that's who were ment to pay to see what's the point...I know it was only a friendly but you can catch the jist of what I'm saying..

112 Posts
    I'm sure the old Flancare Park sign would be a great collectors item. Maybe it could go up for auction?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

1,101 Posts
    I'd say it could find a place in the clubhouse somewhere. Part of the club's history now.

Wonder when the new signage will go up?as of yesterday flancare park was still visible!

622 Posts
    Personally I'd rather have it in the clubhouse, than have it pawned off for probably only a grand or two at the very most.

112 Posts
    As you'll have noticed, the LTFC Twitter page now have regular match day updates. Many thanks from myself to everyone chipping in on the social media and website side of things, cracking work all round. Watch out too for match day posters for home games in a new Fanzone section before the start of the season!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

81 Posts
    Might start bringing a camera for a few pics! Don't think I would be able for anything much more technical!

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Might start bringing a camera for a few pics! Don't think I would be able for anything much more technical!
    Any daycent pics you have, send them onto webmaster@ltfc.ie and they could be used!

622 Posts
    Doing my degree show exhibition on football in june, so the flan... city watchamacallit stadium, Jackman park and Thomand will probably feature heavily, might have the odd photos here and there ye can use when I get home at the start of the season I'll probably be taking a few pics.

44 Posts
    i asked about the sign tonight and was told the new sign would be put up during the week and that the were not keeping the old sign and that i was the 1st to ask about it .. also i was told sky is being installed on the tv in the clubhouse by one of the players
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fitzpatrick10 View Post
    i asked about the sign tonight and was told the new sign would be put up during the week and that the were not keeping the old sign and that i was the 1st to ask about it .. also i was told sky is being installed on the tv in the clubhouse by one of the players
    Cutting costs by letting players live in the clubhouse are we?

860 Posts
    So their throwing away the sign, aw''here!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

That sign should be put up in the clubhouse!

1,101 Posts
    Surely the Supporters Club should take ownership of it?

205 Posts
    Why??
    Sporting F*ck All!

1,101 Posts
    Well if it's being (apparently) thrown away and people such as , for example, Martinho want to keep it or have it in the clubhouse then why not? Clubhouse is run by the Supporters Club. Better than throwing it away.

28. Thanks From:

44 Posts
    they should put it in the clubhouse, someone should say something before it gets taken down this week
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast