Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Chants for Paris

Quote Originally Posted by Bring Back Mick
    so any song sang about Damien Duff @ Chelsea and sang @ ireland games will be a "rangers" song
    You may understand what you've just written but I doubt many others do!

The only song for Duff is from his days at Rovers.

"All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
    All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
    All you need is Duff, Duff,
    Duff is all you need.
    Duff is all you need."

Bring it on!

Quote Originally Posted by parkhead
    Hello all just found this site.

how about this on as sung by celtic fans but slightly modified. Nice and simple and with 20,000 singing it could get the crowd and team going!

We shall not, we shall not be moved.
    We shall not, we shall not be moved,
    Not by the French, the Swiss or the Faroes
    We shall not be moved.
    we used to sing that tune in school at gaa matches changed the third line to we're with a team on the road to victory...this could be changed to we're with a team on the road to germany

also a good old irish song

Ar Aghaidh Ar aghaidh Ireland Ireland
    Ar Aghaidh Ar aghaidh Ireland

answer to to the french Allez les bleus
    Bring back the plank

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by Bring Back Mick
    Would never happen............. but for those that don't know Chelsea chant started in the early 80s was very impressive away from home would stay seated til reached 10 men then the last verse sang with all Chelsea support throughout the stadium on their feet, Maine Rd May 84, and derbies at QPR With the away support scattered throughout the ground stand out !!! ......................
    20,000 Irish fans in one end singing one man went to mo, with all the other support scattered round the stadium joining in and when it got to 10 men, French wouldn't know what was going on......................

i remember it well, even though i was supporting the other team (man city)
    very impressed too, if we could get that organised , it would be brilliant!!!

Talking Aidz surely you can do something with ....!

Quote Originally Posted by aidz1
    how about somehow adapting the sultans of ping song for one of our players:
    give him a ball and a yard of grass
    he'll put you through for the perfect pass
    ratt tatt tatt tatt tatt tatt
    hes an nice ould man....
    Dancing in the disco bumper to bumper
    Wait a minute - wheres me jumper x5 (?)

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    You may understand what you've just written but I doubt many others do!

The only song for Duff is from his days at Rovers.

"All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
    All you need is Duff, da, da da, da da.
    All you need is Duff, Duff,
    Duff is all you need.
    Duff is all you need."

Bring it on!
    and the start of that song (All you need is love by The Beatles) begins with the French national anthem

Quote Originally Posted by wallis
    and the start of that song (All you need is love by The Beatles) begins with the French national anthem
    I'll leave you sing/hum that bit.
    I'll do the Duffer bit

Chants (right click < save target as...):
    http://members.boards.ie/eirebhoy/Irish%20Chants.doc

Get everyone to learn them!!!

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Chants (right click < save target as...):
    http://members.boards.ie/eirebhoy/Irish%20Chants.doc

Get everyone to learn them!!!

I cant believe you left out me Lemon tree song WTF
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    I cant believe you left out me Lemon tree song WTF
    He left out my song too
    Think I'll just go back to writing songs for Hear'say

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    He left out my song too
    Think I'll just go back to writing songs for Hear'say

Some people just have no eye for talent.

Nooooooooooooo No regretttttttttts
    Noooooooooo No I will have no regretssss

Lock your wifes and daughters up
    Lock your wifes and
    Lock your wifes and daughters up .....

would be a good one but just kiddin

Foot.ie! The One Road

I still get shivers when I think of the crowd singing
    "On the one road" at the WC Quarter Final against Italy in 1990.

I watched in on TV and had never seem anything like it. It seems like the whle stadium was singing.

Chorus:
    We're on the one road, sharing the one load
    We're on the road to God knows where
    We're on the one Road, it may be the wrong road
    But we're together now who cares
    Northman, Southmen, comrades all,
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
    We're on the one road, swinging along
    Singing an Irish song.

Though we've had our troubles now and then
    Now is the time to make them up again
    Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
    Now is the time to step together now.

(Chorus)

Tinker, tailor, every watchers son
    Butcher, bakers shoulder by his son
    Rich man, poor man, every man in line
    All together just like Auld Lang Syne.

(Chorus)

Night is darkness just before the down
    From this entrance Ireland is reborn
    Soon we'll all unite as Irishmen
    Pronounce this land our Nation once again.

(Chorus)

We're on the one road, mabey the wrong road
    but we're together now who cares.
    Northmen, Southmen comrades all,
    Belfast, Dublin, Cork and Donegal
    we're on the one road, marching along
    singing a soldier's song.

Yeah its a classic although most guys go quiet on the second verse

[QUOTE=mjpcc]I still get shivers when I think of the crowd singing
    "On the one road" at the WC Quarter Final against Italy in 1990.

I watched in on TV and had never seem anything like it. It seems like the whle stadium was singing.

Chorus:
    We're on the one road, sharing the one load
    We're on the road to God knows where
    We're on the one Road, it may be the wrong road
    But we're together now who cares
    Northman, Southmen, comrades all,
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
    We're on the one road, swinging along
    Singing an Irish song.

Though we've had our troubles now and then
    Now is the time to make them up again
    Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
    Now is the time to step together now.

(Chorus)

Tinker, tailor, every watchers son
    Butcher, bakers shoulder by his son
    Rich man, poor man, every man in line
    All together just like Auld Lang Syne.

Quote Originally Posted by aidz1
    how about somehow adapting the sultans of ping song for one of our players:
    I always believed that it was already linked with Keane?

"Give him a ball and a yard of grass"

&

"If God had meant for us to play us there he would have put goalpoasts in the sky'

are 2 lines from the song but are Brain Clough quotes, the manager who took Keane to Notts Forest. I remember seeing them lay live and say the song was for Keane and Clough.

199 Posts
    Good list of songs, but I've one suggestion
    When singing the fields of Athenry, include the first verse

For anyone who doesn't know

By a lonely prison wall, I heard a young girl calling
    Michael they have taken you away
    For you stole trevelyan's corn
    So the young might see them morn
    Now the prison ship lies waiting in the bay

Can everyone please make sure they follow these simple steps so that their voice is properly warmed up before they start singing

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    where do ye get this stuff ye mad yoke?????

The voices tell me...
    ...I tell you

below is my salts worth at adapting the chorus of the pogues sally maclennane

the real sally:
    We walked him to the station in the rain
    We kissed him as we put him on the train
    And we sang him a song of times long gone
    Though we knew that we'd be seeing him again
    (Far away) sad to say I must be on my way
    So buy me beer and whiskey 'cause I'm going far away (far away)
    I'd like to think of me returning when I can
    To the greatest little boozer and to Sally MacLennane

the irish paris version:
    We love to see the duffer on the wing
    We idolise the duffer pull the strings
    And we sang him a song of times long gone
    oh we’ll crown him our own irish king
    bonjour bonjour, green army are on tour
    So buy me wine and whiskey and some strong liquor (morning cure)
    Ten thousand paddys on the banks of the seine
    To the greatest irish party paris'll never see again

Frogs Chorus

Bom bom bom aye aye
    Sink or swim, sink or swim
    one thing is certain we'll never give in
    hand in hand, side by side
    we'll all stand together
    IRELAND IRELAND IRELAND........

The Frogs Chorus....how appropriate is that. (Second time this year Paul McCartney will hear himself in stade de france)

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    Bom bom bom aye aye
    Sink or swim, sink or swim
    one thing is certain we'll never give in
    hand in hand, side by side
    we'll all stand together
    IRELAND IRELAND IRELAND........

The Frogs Chorus....how appropriate is that. (Second time this year Paul McCartney will hear himself in stade de france)
    Weird. I was going to post this yesterday having heard it on Ryan Tubridy
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast