Thread: Irl Vs Swiss -Ambition undermined by crushing fear of defeat

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davros
    THE BRAT WAS PISH! Shape up or Ship out!
    Arrogant & A Waste of space....Play or F*ck Up
    In that case ye seem to have quite a lot in common.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    I suspect probably all three. On Wednesday he looked uninterested, showed none of his leadership skills when we were under the cosh and looked like he was not fit

You clearly weren't at the game on Wednesday!
    He was a colossus!
    Made great tackles and great defensive headers when we were under pressure from set peices. You're a moron if you think we're not a better side with Roy Keane. What ever your personal opinion of him, as a footballer he is still the best player we have in that position.

Cool Missing the point (or not) !

What is with the panic of fans and the press at the moment ?

We go to switzerland and take a very good point. We are joint top of a very difficult group , unbeaten , played one of our tough matches already and go to Paris more confident than we could possibly have been in the last 6 months since the draw was made.

Suddenly there are murmerings that the French are there for the taking. Viera is out , Makelele retires , ZZ - gone . They cant beat the Israelis at home , the Faroes are giving them grief, Henry is tired and wants a rest !! Bring them on !!

But we have the press looking for 'hidden Keane agendas ' and fans looking for the worst in out performance. The point we got in Basle is seen as a disappointment and we werent attacking enough. The manager needs to be more positive etc etc - what garbage !

heres a reality check list for everyone , take it twice a day for the next four weeks until October 9th !

1. Keane was rubbish first half , but what do you expect ? he hasnt played for weeks and is against one of the better attacking midfielders in europe in Yakin. Who was partnering Keane in centre midfield - Kevin Kilbane !! Now come on , Im not going to open the KK debate again but a centre midfielder he is not- no wonder we looked all over the place for the first 45 minutes !

2. RK Agenda !! who cares ? The big test for us (and especially Keane) is in 4 weeks time. Whatever your opinion of RK and what he has done , we all know that what happens that night will go a long way to repairing the damage. This is his stage ! He has a chance to put in a vintage performance in the midfield. If he really wants his place in the Ireland side and is truely committed to taking us to Germany then we will know on October 9th.

3. Switzerland are a good side. !! Yes they are ! They won their qualifying group to the euros. They drew 0-0 with Croatia (only had 10 men) , outplayed england (until rooney came to life and once again Switzerland had 10 men after an hour) and were holding France at 1-1 until the 76th minutes (swiss caught out when they piled forward looking for the win). They beat the Faroes 6-0 , france scrape a 2-0 (and dont tell me 'home advantage' means anything to the faroes ) THEY ARE NO MUGS !

4. This is a tough group ! Its going to be close , every point counts. If we dont lose in Paris the group is in our hands - win every game and we top the group - its that simple and its not impossible !!!

5. We have players still to return like Matt Holland, Steven Reid etc. Our team can (and will get stronger). Lets not forget that our entire attacking force (duff , Keane ,Morrison) can barely count on one hand the number of games they have played this season. Duff , 8 months out and suddenly two games in 4 days ! How well did everyone honestly expect these three to play ?. But look out !!! Suddenly we may have something we have been looking for for ages - a partner for Keane up front ! Someone to take some of the scoring burden of Robbie - Clinton Morrison. How improved does he look this year ?? Never stopped running , two great headers and he worked his socks off.

6. Kerr - conservatism ?? what is that all about ? . If it was an Italian team going to one of the tough teams in their group and taking a point everyone would be harping on about ' another professional performance'. Dont forget how he got this job - because we were out of the Euro qualifiers after 3 matches last time !and our manager quit before he was pushed ! We went gung-ho in Russia and got walloped. We then went chasing the 3 points at home to the Swiss and they picked us off as well !! This guy knows what he is doing !!

Hold that head high fellow supporters - 'tis a good time to be an Ireland fan !!

Lads, you are talking utter rubbish if you think Roy is going to skip the games against the minnows. He has turned up to all 3 friendlies against Poland (sent home by FAI medical staff), Romania and Bulgaria. He played almost every game in the WC2002 campaign, what makes you think he's going to skip them? He will play in every game unless he is sincerely injured.

Quote Originally Posted by wallis
    What is with the panic of fans and the press at the moment ?

Hold that head high fellow supporters - 'tis a good time to be an Ireland fan !!
    That post is a breath of fresh - optimistic - air hereabouts. Well said on all counts. More of the same please.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Agree. Despite Brian Kerr's assurance that Keane was coming back on Kerr's terms, Roy will pick the games he will play in.

So you would have him injured in the Faros game and miss the French?

Great tactics Einstein.

I was there.....he won One tackle,yeah great
    You might want to get a video of the game and watch it a bit more closely.
    With your anti Keane bias you'd probably still fail to see anything positive.
    When the chants "Keano, Keano" rang out it wasn't for Robbie, that's for sure!

cortizone?

in one or two of the close-ups of keane last wednesday i thought he looked doped out of his mind. spaced and unfocused. is this what pain-killing injections do??

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    So you would have him injured in the Faros game and miss the French?

Great tactics Einstein.
    That would be a good trick! We play France before we play the Faroes!

Thick or what?

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Lads, you are talking utter rubbish if you think Roy is going to skip the games against the minnows. He has turned up to all 3 friendlies against Poland (sent home by FAI medical staff), Romania and Bulgaria. He played almost every game in the WC2002 campaign, what makes you think he's going to skip them? He will play in every game unless he is sincerely injured.

He didnt turn up for Holland, a real game!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    You clearly weren't at the game on Wednesday!
    He was a colossus!
    Made great tackles and great defensive headers when we were under pressure from set peices. You're a moron if you think we're not a better side with Roy Keane. What ever your personal opinion of him, as a footballer he is still the best player we have in that position.
    You are either mad or blind!

I was at the game behind the goal in which we conceeded and for the first half he was ordinary at best. I have a poor opinion of him after Saipan, but now he is back I want to see him and the team play well. Unfortunately in Basle neither happened.

The only Corkman I have seen recently making great tackles and clearances when under pressure was Sean Og O'Halpin and he probably would have done a better job in Basle than the bold Roy !

I thought that it was a poor performance but that a point away from a home against a tough (if you let them) European team is still an alright result. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's a point gained over two lost but I don't think it's one we should dwell over for too long, considering the lack of matchfit players we had in key positions. What I would be concerned about is the manner in which we surrendered initiative. While the Swiss are certainly not minnows, I don't think they're a good team in the slightest but this is the third occasion on which we've allowed them to look good. This was demonstrated by the ease with which we cut through them on the odd occasion that more than two Irish players went forward at the same time. However, we'll do them at home, no doubt. F*ck it, take the point and move on while learning from it.

He didnt turn up for Holland, a real game!
    Eh, he played the 90 minutes in the two Holland games.

I was referring to the Holland game in June this year, a friendly which he 'skipped'. Don't remember hearing he was injured for that.

Keane didn't have to play against the Swiss this time around as he had not played in the premership for Utd as he had damaged ribs, the fact that he made himself available for this away game should end this argument not feed it
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

52 Posts

Here we go again.

Why does every thread here always gets hijacked and becomes a pissing match between the pro-keano and anti-keano factions?
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

You are either mad or blind!
    I'm neither, thankfully.
    Perfect eyesight is one sense I'm blessed with.

Roy Keane was one of the best players on the pitch.
    His positional sense is still brilliant, be it on our own six yard box or theirs.
    Look at where he was when he got booked!
    Too many people knock him for the sake of it.
    As a team we didn't have a great game but I can assure you it would have been a lot worse had it not been for our Prodigal Son.
    How about some of you start supporting Ireland for once?
    We're not a bad team to follow.

He was playing the holding role on Wedensday so wouldn't be getting forward much, if not at all. At Utd he is always partnered with a holding midfielder so gets forward a lot more.
    That's right. He was born as an attacking midfielder, when he played in Cobh or Nottingham F, for ex. So I think that Kerr can't force him in a total defensive play, cause it'll be a sure not good performance from him, and during the match he'll need more mins to go into the pace of it.
    But I remain convinced that we have to consider him as an important treasure of our national team, and as one of the most talented players at the moment.
    This is my opinion but I could go wrong, cause I'm from italy, and sadly I can't see the irish matches.
    I'm 21, I'm italian, but I love Ireland, and I always support the irish national team!

now you might as well have Grumphy also out there
    I'm starting to think you're his love child!
    You're bitter because he wont acknowledge you so you trying to get at him by attacking Roy Keane. Were you always a big grumpy moan or did you perfect it in London?

182 Posts
    That's right. He was born as an attacking midfielder, when he played in Cobh or Nottingham F
    But for the last 11 years or so he has been a defensive midfielder at Man Utd. Did you know that Edwin van der Sar was a striker when he was 17?

I'd be interested to know who Superhoops would have played in the number 6 position on Wednesday night, seeing as we were "accomodating" Keane against Switzerland.