Thread: Eamon Naughton re-elected as National League chairman

Post Eamon Naughton re-elected as National League chairman

Eamon Naughton has been re-elected as Chairman of the FAI's National League Executive Committee for a further two years.

He was elected after defeating John Croughan in a secret ballot of club representatives at the Annual Convention of Airtricity League clubs which was held at FAI Headquarters in Abbotstown.Speaking afterwards, Mr Naughton thanked the clubs for re-electing him and said that while a lot had been achieved since the merger between the FAI and the League six years ago there was still much more to do."As we are all too aware, Ireland is in the midst of the worst recession since the foundation of the State and Irish football, like every other business and industry, has not been immune from the effects of the downturn in the economy.

So, while our clubs compete against each other each week on the field of play, we must continue to work together off the field to ensure we get through these difficult times and our League emerges as a strong brand with equally strong clubs. That means sharing ideas and experiences in areas such as marketing, revenue generation and cost control. "There is no doubt that the financial criteria laid down in the club licensing process and the review of budgets by the Association has assisted clubs to be more prudent and we now have a much more sustainable financial model than before with the overall debt among our clubs sharply reduced from €7million in 2007 to just a few hundred thousand euro in 2011 when we saw the majority of clubs either break even or return a small surplus. "I thank the clubs for their support and I look forward to continuing to work on their behalf over the next two years as well as seeking to strengthen the relationship between the League and other members of the football family."

Taken from www.airtricityleague.ie
    Last edited by A face; 09/11/2012 at 10:44 AM.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Eamon Naughton has been re-elected as Chairman of the FAI's National League Executive Committee for a further two years.

He was elected after defeating John Croughan in a secret ballot of club representatives at the Annual Convention of Airtricity League clubs which was held at FAI Headquarters in Abbotstown.Speaking afterwards, Mr Naughton thanked the clubs for re-electing him and said that while a lot had been achieved since the merger between the FAI and the League six years ago there was still much more to do."As we are all too aware, Ireland is in the midst of the worst recession since the foundation of the State and Irish football, like every other business and industry, has not been immune from the effects of the downturn in the economy.

So, while our clubs compete against each other each week on the field of play, we must continue to work together off the field to ensure we get through these difficult times and our League emerges as a strong brand with equally strong clubs. That means sharing ideas and experiences in areas such as marketing, revenue generation and cost control. "There is no doubt that the financial criteria laid down in the club licensing process and the review of budgets by the Association has assisted clubs to be more prudent and we now have a much more sustainable financial model than before with the overall debt among our clubs sharply reduced from €7million in 2007 to just a few hundred thousand euro in 2011 when we saw the majority of clubs either break even or return a small surplus. "I thank the clubs for their support and I look forward to continuing to work on their behalf over the next two years as well as seeking to strengthen the relationship between the League and other members of the football family."

Taken from www.airtricityleague.ie
    Meanwhile back in Galway the club he owes his position for is ****ed over once again http://www.galwaynews.ie/28721-leagu...uo-remain-2013
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

288 Posts
    What a fine legacy he is leaving. Fairplay to him. Elected again so he can go back to sleep again for another couple of years.

861 Posts
    The fact no ones ever heard of him says it all

I'm guessing that he is open to invitation to any of the league clubs games and/or events, being the chairman'n'all !!!

65 Posts
    It's mad that no one has heard of him. What the hell does he do? And, what is he meant to do?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    It's mad that no one has heard of him. What the hell does he do? And, what is he meant to do?
    he does virtually nothing and that is exactly what he is supposed to do

Who's the chairman of the English Premiership??

La Liga??

The Bundesliga??

Serie A??

The GAA??

The AIL rugby league??

Come on now lads I know we all like a good whinge but "I hasn't heard of him, omgz he must be useless" is fairly weak sauce.

Also, LOL at the gust lads giving out about him.

There was atime in the not so distant past when he sat at the right hand of Leeson at the gates to LOI heaven.

65 Posts
    Who's the chairman of the English Premiership??

La Liga??

The Bundesliga??

Serie A??

The GAA??

The AIL rugby league??

Come on now lads I know we all like a good whinge but "I hasn't heard of him, omgz he must be useless" is fairly weak sauce.
    Sir Dave Richards is chairman of the premier league. I know that because he was also in the news recently for the wrong things. He had something to do with Hillsborough. No idea of the rest.

50 Posts
    Never heard of him either.
    Maybe he might be the one that faces up to the fact that league is in crisis
    instead of doing a Gravin Gavin talking about 'attendances are on the increase' waffle
    "Now jump up there and stuff that son of a bitch in the basket, chief"

448 Posts
    Sir Dave Richards is chairman of the premier league. I know that because he was also in the news recently for the wrong things. He had something to do with Hillsborough. No idea of the rest.
    he was chairman of Sheffield Wednesday, but not until after Hillsborough. He refused to allow for a memorial at the ground until very recently. Hes a detestable man to be honest, who makes a very large amount of money out of football while doing little of anything to help football in anyway.

There was atime in the not so distant past when he sat at the right hand of Leeson at the gates to LOI heaven.
    I think the chairman of the league himself would have a good laugh at this !

He needs a laugh, he has a difficult job

Ah, no, Eamonn was gone before Nicks arrival. He was forced out by the fans back in the day when Gerry Grey was chairman.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Meanwhile back in Galway the club he owes his position for is ****ed over once again http://www.galwaynews.ie/28721-leagu...uo-remain-2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Ah, no, Eamonn was gone before Nicks arrival. He was forced out by the fans back in the day when Gerry Grey was chairman.
    Am I the only one that sees the link there.

No harm in asking these questions at all. What is he actually meant to be doing?

Do the clubs vote him in? Is that how it works? Anyone know?

Did anyone else step forward? Had he stepped down and no one came forward so he was automatically reelected ..... i have no idea, just trying to figure it out really.

288 Posts
    Voted by LOI clubs. Won re-election by one vote. Keeping Mervue and Salthill happy was absolutely necessary for him to keep his position.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Voted by LOI clubs. Won re-election by one vote. Keeping Mervue and Salthill happy was absolutely necessary for him to keep his position.

How do you know how many votes he won by? Making that one up maybe?

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    How do you know how many votes he won by? Making that one up maybe?
    How do you think he knows you genius? Somebody obviously told him.

It took you longer than usual to get involved in a discussion involving Galway, you're the resident Limerick expert. Gravitating like a fly to shíte.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!