Thread: Longford Town 3-0 Derry City

Longford Town 3-0 Derry City

3 nil. Hattrick from Dessie. Great performance from everyone. Derry showed absolutely nothing. Kenny has a lot of work to do. Dessie's 2nd goal was something special. Ball played down the right. Dessie totally outran the Derry defender (no.5) got to the byline and hammered into the roof of the net from a very tight angle. Great goal. His first was a free kick on the left wing that Kirbs rolled across to Dessie who was about 25 yards out, took a shot, bounced before it got to the goal, and finished up in the corner of the net. For his third, Prunty went down the left, pulled a ball back for Dessie who drilled into the bottom corner.

RATINGS:

Digger 7 Didnt have to do anything for the 89 minutes. Demsey replaced him for last minute. Digger hurt his leg.
    Murph 8 Good going forward and defended well whenever he had to.
    Baz 9 Marked Beckett out of the game.
    Paiso 5 Very shakey. Garto will probably be in next week.
    Dillo 8 Very solid and good going forward
    Kirbs 8 Great going forward and covered Murph well
    Deano 8 worked his socks off and got forward when he could.
    Vinny 7 Solid.
    Prunty 7 Ditto.
    Eric 8 worked his socks off and is working great with Dessie
    Dessie 10 Great performance. Took all the goals well. Didnt know he could work so hard!

BTW, I would like to say well done to the Derry fans. They're were brilliant and created a great atmosphere. They were still singing when I was walking out the gates.

Bring on the Scumlone!

1,103 Posts
    Cant disagree with much there, although I though Paiso did okay, especially as he'd been out a while. For 25 minutes or so Derry had all the play without a real cutting edge, then the Dessie show took over! I think Derry fans calling him a w*nker backfired a wee bit Fair play to the Derry supporters though, there was some racket from them all game and afterwards. They were very sporting towards our players after the game too chanting "Longford" as they were out for their warm down. Again fair play to ye lads, what ye lacked in numbers ye more than made up for in noise..

Great result last night and raises a couple of questions in my mind.

1 Was Bakers second goal contender for goal of the season?
    2 Is Towns attack more controlled and positive without Barrett?
    3 Should Keegan get a start against Athlone?
    4 Was this the best team performance in the league for yonks?

As for the Derry fans..............Take a bow lads,superb.Last question.

Should Section O move to the stand in order to organise 'noise levels' that can compete with the opposition?

Would love to see Derry go all the way to the Cup Final along with ourselves of course.Imagine the atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by johno
    Great result last night and raises a couple of questions in my mind.

1 Was Bakers second goal contender for goal of the season?
    2 Is Towns attack more controlled and positive without Barrett?
    3 Should Keegan get a start against Athlone?
    4 Was this the best team performance in the league for yonks?

Last question.

Should Section O move to the stand in order to organise 'noise levels' that can compete with the opposition?

Would love to see Derry go all the way to the Cup Final along with ourselves of course.Imagine the atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    1 Personally, I think so.
    2 Yes, When Barrett plays on the wing he never makes a run that he is fully commited to.
    3 No, Same as last night except Garto for Paiso
    4 I think it was a very good performance but Derry didnt really show much.

Section O tried this when they were forced to move when upgrading the ground a few weeks ago and it didnt work.

Derry-Longford final would be great alright. would Nearly fill Lansdowne!!!!!!!

Absolutely fantastic result, well done to dessie, 3 quality and well deserved goals! Dont think there was one of players who didnt give it their all last night and it paid off in the end!
    also well done to the derry supporters, created a great atmosphere!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

112 Posts
    Well done Town, going on a great run here, lets keep it up!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Longfordian, just wondering what you thought of comments made by certain people in the programme on sat night........
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

1,103 Posts
    Yeah, I spotted that alright, might be something you'd want to address to the Supporters Club, given that one of their number wrote the article! What is it they say, "the views expressed in this publication do not necessarily reflect the views of Longford Town F.C."..Write a response for the next one if you want! Although it might be better suited to Onefinlongford..

for those who do not know what i am on about, in the programme on sat...the offical supporters club had a go at some of us for calling shane robinson a w*nker at the game in richmond, another article by the traveller made the same point.....what was falied to be mentioned was the abusive gestures made by robinson to our fans at a previous game in richmond, the fact that they told us to shut up and leave the ref alone and that these so called fans taking the morale high ground

1. never once opened their mouths to get behind the team

2. didn't even stay for extra time

it was also mentioned by in an artilce by the traveller....not the supporters club, i know that some people awon't be renewing their membership in the supporters club next season.....

maybe the traveller should talk about those who abuse our own players at home and away, the silence of those in the stand, the people who didn't even bother staying for extra time in the rovers game....the list could go on.

i will be asking for the right of reply when i return from my holidays and i hope to be given the same forum to air my views as others are to air theirs.

on a seperate point, before the game in vaduz a "supporter roared out on the pitch at eric lavine....."do fcukin something tonight or your out the door"...when i had a go at him for doing this i was told by others to shut up, double standards, you can say what ya like to our players but leave others alone......sad very very very sad.....oh i was told he was a sponsor of the club and not to annoy him, eh what are we
    Last edited by max power; 06/09/2004 at 12:00 PM.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

1,103 Posts
    Eh Max what im trying to point out is that De Traveller IS one of the Supporters Club, dont think there was any other reference..dont think it would be fair to say who wrote it on this forum..

no i was told there were to mentions, the first in the supporters club notes and the second in a piece by the traveller, i am going by what i was told as i was working and the piece was read out to me over the phone at half time,

i was ask for right of reply and will talk to the editor as he must stand over all comments made in the programme........but there are a lot bigger issues that could be raised other than that small event. once again double standards.

1,103 Posts
    Well AFAIK the same person wrote both anyway..but take it up with he who wears the cowboy hat..

i shall mention it quietly to him at the bohs game in dalymount. any idea if its worth staying up to see the goals tonight on tv 3 ???

1,103 Posts
    Dont know to be honest, we had a camera there alright as usual but whether they'll show the footage I dont know, they did show the League Cup Final on the Tuesday night so maybe..

yeah but that was their own camera on last monday wasn't it.....if not i'll have to ask someone very nicely for a copy of it...oh did you see if they used the radio mic on sat

1,103 Posts
    I was over the far side. Didnt really notice if they did or not, I'm sure it'll come in handy though.

hope so, its all part of my secret masterplan

techs
    Lets be honest on this one max yous let the club down with the abuse directed at Shane Robinson no matter what he did. Maybe the point isn't worth arguing though because as in all arguments you are convinced you are right. Maybe there should be role reversal on the song if you catch my drift.

techs there is a thing called free speech, of which i am a big believer, who are they to tell me to shut up and then someone writes about it but only tells one side of the story, they are the points i am making........

i didn't let the club down as i wasn't wearing the club colours at the time.....why don't they write about the attitiude of brian mcgovern in the programme and the way he has let the club down ??? double standards

on another point, still want alan out ????

What ever about the shouting at Robinson at Richmond Park, I know a lot of people were annoyed that a few Longford supporters were giving the ref stick at the very start of the game (the referee's a Wa--er chant). A lot of supporters believe that this is the only ref who always gives Longford a fair deal and did'nt consider the abuse warranted. Why allienate someone needlessly?